The Duncton Chronicles

6 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 8 ratings

Duncton Wood Publisher's Summary

The moles of Duncton Wood live in the shadow of Mandrake, a cruel tyrant corrupted by absolute power.

A solitary young mole, Bracken, is thrown into leading the fight to free Duncton Wood. Only by putting his trust in the ancient Stone, forgotten symbol of a great spiritual past, can he find the strength to challenge Mandrake's darkness.

When Bracken falls in love with Rebecca, Mandrake's daughter, the moles must make life and death choices as their extraordinary search for freedom and truth begins....

Together Bracken and Rebecca will embark on moving journey that will challenge them in ways they could never have imagined. But can they save Duncton before it's too late?

Duncton Wood is the first instalment in The Duncton Chronicles, an unforgettable six-book series now widely regarded as a fantasy classic. For fans of J. R. R. Tolkien, Brian Jacques and Richard Adams' Watership Down, this is a quest into the heart of nature, the redemptive power of love and the triumph of spirit.

©1980 William Horwood (P)2018 Audible, Ltd
Show More Show Less
  • Book 1

    • Duncton Wood

    • By: William Horwood
    • Narrated by: Gareth Armstrong
    • Length: 23 hrs and 42 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 6
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 6
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 6

    The moles of Duncton Wood live in the shadow of Mandrake, a cruel tyrant corrupted by absolute power. A solitary young mole, Bracken, is thrown into leading the fight to free Duncton Wood. Only by putting his trust in the ancient Stone, forgotten symbol of a great spiritual past, can he find the strength to challenge Mandrake's darkness.

    Regular price: $31.97

  • Book 2

    • Duncton Quest

    • The Duncton Chronicles, Book 2
    • By: William Horwood
    • Narrated by: Gareth Armstrong
    • Length: 29 hrs and 50 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 1
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 1
    • Story
      5 out of 5 stars 1

    The magnificent sequel to the worldwide best seller Duncton Wood. When Tryfan, son of Bracken and Rebecca, returns to the sacred Burrows of Uffington, he finds dreadful signs of death and destruction. For out of the chilly North have swarmed the grikes, a fanatical tribe of warrior moles bent on destroying all believers in the powers of the Stone. Tryfan’s duty is clear - to muster and protect the few remaining Stone followers from the evil that seems certain to engulf them. With only a frail and timid mole named Spindle for company, he sets off on an epic journey....

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Finally.

    • By Atalpu on 07-18-18

    Regular price: $32.71

  • Book 3

    • Duncton Found

    • The Duncton Chronicles, Book 3
    • By: William Horwood
    • Narrated by: Gareth Armstrong
    • Length: 31 hrs and 14 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 1
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 1
    • Story
      5 out of 5 stars 1

    The triumphant third volume of the unique and magical Duncton Chronicles. The ruthless war against the Stone has almost been won by disciples of the Word - only wild Siabod and mysterious Beechenhill still hold out, and everywhere the followers of the Stone go in peril of their lives. Yet in the shadows of Duncton Wood a new light is shining. For the Stone Mole has come to revive the moles’ faith in themselves and in the ancient power of the Stone to defeat and deny the evil Word. But it is a task that will demand a greater sacrifice than any mole has yet to face....

    Regular price: $32.71

  • Book 4

    Duncton Tales audiobook cover art
    Not Available on Audible.com

    There are many reasons why a book might be unavailable.

    Sometimes a book goes temporarily out of print - and sometimes no audio version has ever been recorded. Audible wants to give you the most complete selection we can and we'll keep adding series and filling in gaps as quickly as possible.

  • Book 5

    Duncton Rising audiobook cover art
    Not Available on Audible.com

    There are many reasons why a book might be unavailable.

    Sometimes a book goes temporarily out of print - and sometimes no audio version has ever been recorded. Audible wants to give you the most complete selection we can and we'll keep adding series and filling in gaps as quickly as possible.

  • Book 6

    Duncton Stone audiobook cover art
    Not Available on Audible.com

    There are many reasons why a book might be unavailable.

    Sometimes a book goes temporarily out of print - and sometimes no audio version has ever been recorded. Audible wants to give you the most complete selection we can and we'll keep adding series and filling in gaps as quickly as possible.