adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $14.18

Buy for $14.18

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

‘Fear the north wind. Because no one will hear you scream....’

A family is gunned down in the snow, but one of the children survives. Three years on, that child takes revenge, and the Snow Killer is born. But then, nothing - no further crimes are committed, and the case goes cold.

50 years later, has the urge to kill been reawakened? As murder follows murder, the detective team tasked with solving the crimes struggle with the lack of leads. It’s a race against time and the weather - each time it snows, another person dies. 

As an exhausted and grizzled DI Barton and his team scrabble to put the pieces of the puzzle together, the killer is hiding in plain sight. Meanwhile, the murders continue....

The first in a new series, Ross Greenwood has written a cracking, crackling crime story with a twist in its tale which will surprise even the most hardened thriller listeners. Perfect for fans of Mark Billingham and Stuart MacBride.

©2019 Ross Greenwood (P)2019 Boldwood Books

Critic Reviews

"Move over Rebus and Morse; a new entry has joined the list of great crime investigators in the form of Detective Inspector John Barton. A rich cast of characters and an explosive plot kept me turning the pages until the final dramatic twist." (Richard Burke, author)

"With The Snow Killer, master of the psychological thriller genre Ross Greenwood once again proves his talent for creating engrossing and gritty novels that draw you right in and won’t let go until you’ve reached the shocking ending." (Caroline Vincent)

"Ross Greenwood doesn’t write clichés. What he has written here is a fast-paced, action-filled puzzle of a story with believable characters and spiced with a lot of humour." (Kath Middleton, author)

More from the same

What listeners say about The Snow Killer

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Refreshingly different, well done

Looking forward to the next book in this series. This is a well crafted story. Knowing from the beginning who the murderer is, I wondered if I would like it, but the journey to discovery by DI Barton makes for a very interesting mystery. The entire cast of characters were well fleshed out, this is not Mr. Rogers neighborhood, but still a book that can be heard in polite company.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

4

Fascinating story and a really fine
narrator are a perfect listen on this windy cold day. Plots and subplots, surprises wirh a wild wrap up at the end. I hope Audible keeps this author's books coming in! Refreshingly different.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fluffin fantastic

Another new author for me and now a favourite. Good story and the twist , WOW ! The narrator did a fantastic job and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Will leave you shivering!

Expect the unexpected! Strong narration. The story really makes you question the boundaries of good and evil.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Waste of time and money

Terrible storyline, terrible narrator, I couldn't finish it I Will return this and book 2

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Andromeda's Twin
  • Andromeda's Twin
  • 11-28-19

Outstanding

This is a quite remarkable story, starting out in the first person with the killer narrating their story which starts in the sixties. I was transfixed from the first five minutes. Once the story switches to the present time it continues in the third person and revolves around DI Barton, his family and his team. Switching back and forth between the two povs effortlessly, I never once lost track of what was happening or when.

The story is a total cracker, David Thorpe outdoes himself with his narration on this one, I loved every minute of this fascinating and bloodthirsty, tale of revenge.

The finale was a total triumph. True, it was a little sad too but overwhelmingly satisfying nonetheless.

I recommend this book 100 %.

21 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for neil
  • neil
  • 12-07-19

chilling fun!

loved this story. midsummer in the middle of winter I would highly recommend this book

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Iris
  • Iris
  • 12-31-19

A Very good listen

I enjoyed listening for an odd half hour at first but soon became hooked. The plot was unravelling and I thought I knew who The Snow Killer was. How wrong can you be? With a surprise twist that made me catch my breath. Brilliantly narrated.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Natalie
  • Natalie
  • 09-08-20

I don't get all the rave reviews

I don't understand why this book got rave reviews and people giving it 5 🌟 I've read and listened to a lot of crime books and I just couldn't take to this one. I didn't like the way the writer wrote about the killings or maybe it was how the narrator read it but it was as if the killer was enjoying it and not fictionly enjoying it. I didn't like anything about this book and would not recommend it and I did not enjoy the narrator. It was a total let down.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Teresa evans
  • Teresa evans
  • 12-20-19

The snow killer

Not a bad book it kept me listening. Narration was good not bad at all.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Alice Holden
  • Alice Holden
  • 11-11-20

Struggling with this one

I'm enjoying the story, but the narrator is spoiling it for me - get on with it! Found it very laboured, with excessively long pauses that added nothing to the telling of the story - he might have all day, but I don't. Will carry on for now, as the story is holding my interest, and hopefully I'll develop a tolerance for the narrator.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for SandraL
  • SandraL
  • 03-09-20

Not for me!

This book started really well and I was sure I was in for an exciting read. Unfortunately the storyline was very slow and I found myself drifting off and having to go back and re-listen. It just didn't hold my attention. I hate to abandon a book before the end but I really struggled to finish this. I usually listen to around 3 audiobooks a week but this one took me a week because I jst wasn't interested.

I also found the narrator quite irritating. All in all not a good experience. Sorry.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Melanie Preston Lewis
  • Melanie Preston Lewis
  • 03-03-20

The Snow Killer bowled me over!

What a story! Talk about revenge is a dish best served cold - this was served up in snow and ice. The surviving child in this story just broke my heart, especially the relationship with the sister, Special. It was so tender and loving, it brought a tear to my eye. Even the killing spree seems, well, reasonable. I'm not generally an advocate for vigilante justice but the way Mr Greenwood portrays it in this book, I would have sharpened the knives to help! Moving on to DI Barton; I thought the glimpses into his family life were gorgeous. No tired old cliches here folks. Mr Greenwood presents us with a husband and wife who love and support each other, and who's children are acting appropriately for their age. Hurrah! DI Barton leads his team with compassion and consideration. He sets an example of how to behave towards colleagues and that is what is so excellent here. When you have nasty or crooked police officers, the crimes they investigate don't stand out so much. The juxtaposition of the evil of killing against the innate goodness of Barton, his family and colleagues made for startling effect. Bravo Mr Greenwood. As you near the end of the book, the author creeps up behind you, saws the top of your head off and messes with your brain - don't say I didn't warn you! David Thorpe narrates the whole book with precision and panache. All in all a captivating and compelling listen that I'm awarding a fulsome 5 stars. Don't miss out on The Snow Killer

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Delia
  • Delia
  • 01-30-20

Brilliant!!

Absolutely gripped by this original take of a serial killer. Looking forward to the next one!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for joy
  • joy
  • 01-20-20

A wonderful twist ending.

A good read with a most surprising ending.
'Didn't see that coming!'
Will be looking for more from this author.

3 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for elizabeth b.
  • elizabeth b.
  • 12-21-19

Snow is the best bit of this story

I tried to continue but as the novel went on it got more and more boring. The only character I liked was the killer. Waste of time this was.