Regular price: $31.97

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The moles of Duncton Wood live in the shadow of Mandrake, a cruel tyrant corrupted by absolute power.

A solitary young mole, Bracken, is thrown into leading the fight to free Duncton Wood. Only by putting his trust in the ancient Stone, forgotten symbol of a great spiritual past, can he find the strength to challenge Mandrake's darkness.

When Bracken falls in love with Rebecca, Mandrake's daughter, the moles must make life and death choices as their extraordinary search for freedom and truth begins....

Together Bracken and Rebecca will embark on moving journey that will challenge them in ways they could never have imagined. But can they save Duncton before it's too late?

Duncton Wood is the first instalment in The Duncton Chronicles, an unforgettable six-book series now widely regarded as a fantasy classic. For fans of J. R. R. Tolkien, Brian Jacques and Richard Adams' Watership Down, this is a quest into the heart of nature, the redemptive power of love and the triumph of spirit.

©1980 William Horwood (P)2018 Audible, Ltd

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 09-21-18

Magical read

I first read this book as a young adult and it has stayed with me throughout my life. It was the first book that made me cry and laugh outwardly. I was a little afraid to re-read it ( or listen to it ) as I thought it might not live up to its magic but thankfully it did.
I laughed, cried, gasped, fought, hoped and loved with every word.
I loved this book and I still do.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Wildlines
  • 09-12-18

Silance of the Stone

I read these books when they first came out and was captivated. As a naturalist and folklorist, the mix of mythology and sound natural history of moles held my attention through six VERY long books. Revisiting the series as audiobooks I was worried they would not live up to my memory or an inappropriate narrator would be chosen. Audible has done the books proud, the narrator is perfect with convincing accents - Mayweed, in book 2, is exactly as I imagined him. I hope Audible provide the second trilogy, along with other William Horwood books - especially Stonor Eagles.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • J. E. Moore
  • 04-10-18

Amazing

I was so happy to see this on audible, have been waiting a long time.

Please please release the other 5 books

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 06-18-18

Great epic of Love, pain, hope and moles!

This is a book for adults not children. There is death, murder and worse! But ultimately it is a super epic that will leave you wanting to read the next book in the series.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • JAYNE W
  • 04-09-18

Brilliantly Done

Well done Gareth Armsrong such a Brilliant Narration of Book one of the Duncton chronicles. I listened avidly to every chapter and even though I have read some of the Duncton chronicles Gareth brought the love of the Book to life I cannot wait for Duncton Quest, and Duncton Found then hopefully the Duncton Tales,Duncton Rising and Duncton Stone I will buy every one if or as they appear I applaud you William Horwood for your love of mole and their lifetime and struggles of the silence of the stone thankyou. And thankyou for the fantastic and loving Narration Gareth Armstrong.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mrs. H. L. Rider
  • 09-30-18

The spirit of Tolkien set within the world of mole

Masterful penmanship weaves a story as epic in scope, scale and spirit as Tolkien superb

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mrs Jennifer Welch
  • 08-27-18

Fabulous.

FAB book. well read. given me hours of delight and relaxation. Thank you to all concerned.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Indigo Jax
  • 07-25-18

Romantic Moles and Sweet Spirituality

Made me cry spontaneously on more than one occasion, not because I was sad but because this novel has so many moments of transcendental beauty! Gorgeous and heartfelt descriptions of the countryside, of the deep felt mystery of ancient spaces and of the real power found in compassion and faith. It is no small feat to be able to convey complex and spiritual tone in language, but Horwood does it with such ease, I felt he was the true master of the silence of the stone. Read this!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • kirsty mackay
  • 06-07-18

Ages I awaited The Duncton Trilogy's I am HAPPY

Since reading this Wonderfilled book I know W.Horwood's writing feeds Heart,Soul,Head with Love,Joy and Warmth and I hope many others laugh, cry and revel in this wordsmith's world of wisdom,compassion and community and draw the rightful conclusion that he is an Author that few will equal.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Ka Livingstone
  • 04-11-18

Dunction wood

I have waited for years for this series to be available on audible. the story makes you laugh cry love hate..and feel genuine love for the characters. Duncton is now alive..just brilliantly read love it .....please hurry and bring the rest of the story to voice. I'm awaiting with bated breath.