Ransom Trilogy

3 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 21,625 ratings

Out of the Silent Planet Publisher's Summary

Out of the Silent Planet is the first novel of the Cosmic Trilogy, considered to be C.S. Lewis' chief contribution to the science fiction genre. The trilogy concerns Dr. Ransom, a linguist, who, like Christ, was offered a ransom for mankind. The first two novels are planetary romances with elements of medieval mythology. Each planet is seen as having a tutelary spirit; those of the other planets are both good and accessible, while that of Earth is fallen, twisted, and not known directly by most humans. The story is powerfully imagined, and the effects of lesser gravity on Martian planet and animal life is vividly rendered.

©1938, 1944, 1945 by C.S. Lewis Pte Ltd. (P)2000 Blackstone Audiobooks
Show more Show less