John Gwynne
AUTHOR

John Gwynne

I was born in Singapore while my dad was stationed there in the RAF. Up until he retired that meant a lot of traveling around, generally a move every three years or so.

I live with my wife and four wonderful (and demanding) children in East Sussex. Also three dogs, two of which will chew anything that stands still. I have had many strange and wonderful jobs, including packing soap in a soap factory, waitering in a french restaurant in Canada, playing double bass in a rock n roll band, and lecturing at Brighton University.

I stepped out of university work due to my daughter's disability, so now I split my time caring for her and working from home - I work with my wife rejuvenating vintage furniture, which means fixing, lifting, carrying, painting and generally doing what my wife tells me to do...

And somehow during this time I started writing. I've always told my children stories at bed-time, and they pestered long and hard for me to write some of it down. At the same time I felt that my brain was switching off a little - vintage furniture is my wife's passion, whereas my passions are geekier!

That's how The Banished Lands and Malice began, though along the way it became more than just a hobby. I'm still in shock that it is actually a real book, rather than just pages on my desk.

So far two books of a planned four have been published in the Faithful and the Fallen series - Malice and Valor. Malice, to my immense surprise and joy, won the David Gemmell Morningstar Award for Best Debut Fantasy of 2012.

You can find me online at http://www.john-gwynne.com/

Read more Read less

JOIN AUDIBLE FREE FOR 30 DAYS AND STAY FOR $14.95/mo.

Best Sellers

    • Malice

    • The Faithful and the Fallen, Book 1
    • By: John Gwynne
    • Narrated by: John Keating
    • Length: 25 hrs and 51 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 519
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 483
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 484

    In this epic fantasy debut (perfect for fans of George R. R. Martin), John Gwynne takes listeners to The Banished Lands - a broken world with a violent past....

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • Very good book BUT DON'T BOTHER (read below)

    • By Reviews By Mike on 11-10-17

    Regular price: $45.49

    • A Time of Dread

    • By: John Gwynne
    • Narrated by: Damian Lynch
    • Length: 15 hrs and 31 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 47
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 44
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 45

    The Ben-Elim, a race of warrior angels, once vanquished a mighty demon horde. Now they rule the Banished lands. But their dominion is brutally enforced....

    • 2 out of 5 stars
    • Story jumped around too much too often

    • By David Gibson on 10-09-18

    Regular price: $30.79

    • Wrath. Nuove alleanze

    • La fede e l'inganno 4
    • By: John Gwynne
    • Narrated by: Alberto Lori
    • Length: 29 hrs and 3 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Performance
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Story
      0 out of 5 stars 0

    Nelle Terre dell'Esilio, le conseguenze della guerra hanno raggiunto il punto di non ritorno. Re Nathair controlla ormai la fortezza di Drassil, nascosta nel...

    Regular price: $32.75

    • Malice

    • The Faithul and Fallen, Book 1
    • By: John Gwynne
    • Narrated by: Damian Lynch
    • Length: 23 hrs and 56 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 7
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 6
    • Story
      3.5 out of 5 stars 6

    Young Corban watches enviously as boys become warriors, learning the art of war. He yearns to wield his sword and spear to protect his king’s realm.....

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • It’s a slow starter but full of potential

    • By Daniel on 06-20-18

    Regular price: $27.71

    • Wrath

    • The Faithful and Fallen, Book 4
    • By: John Gwynne
    • Narrated by: Damian Lynch
    • Length: 23 hrs and 22 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 4
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 4
    • Story
      5 out of 5 stars 4

    Events are coming to a climax in the Banished Lands as the war reaches new heights. King Nathair has taken control of the fortress at Drassil, and three of the Seven Treasures are in his possession....

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Great story!

    • By Penny Evans on 03-21-18

    Regular price: $27.71

    • Ruin

    • The Fallen and the Faithful, Book 3
    • By: John Gwynne
    • Narrated by: Damian Lynch
    • Length: 28 hrs and 14 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 5
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 5
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 5

    The Banished Lands are engulfed in war and chaos. The cunning Queen Rhin has conquered the west, and High King Nathair has the cauldron, most powerful of the seven treasures....

    Regular price: $27.71

    • Valour

    • The Fallen and the Faithful, Book 2
    • By: John Gwynne
    • Narrated by: Damian Lynch
    • Length: 23 hrs and 44 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 6
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 6
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 6

    The Banished Lands are torn by war as the army of High King Nathair sweeps the realm, challenging all who oppose his holy crusade....

    Regular price: $27.71

    • Malice. La guerra degli dei

    • La fede e l'inganno 1
    • By: John Gwynne
    • Narrated by: Alberto Lori
    • Length: 27 hrs and 4 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Performance
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Story
      0 out of 5 stars 0

    Soltanto perdendo coloro che ama, Corban imparerà il vero prezzo del coraggio. Le Terre dell'Esilio hanno un passato violento, in cui eserciti di uomini e di...

    Regular price: $31.70

    • Valour. L'astro splendente

    • La fede e l'inganno 2
    • By: John Gwynne
    • Narrated by: Alberto Lori
    • Length: 28 hrs and 13 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Performance
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Story
      0 out of 5 stars 0

    Dopo il successo di "Malice: La guerra degli dei", vincitore nel 2012 del premio David Gemmell Morningstar, il secondo volume della saga...

    Regular price: $32.75

    • Ruin. La lancia di Skald

    • La fede e l'inganno 3
    • By: John Gwynne
    • Narrated by: Alberto Lori
    • Length: 34 hrs and 15 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Performance
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Story
      0 out of 5 stars 0

    Le Terre dell'Esilio sono sconvolte dalla guerra e dal caos. L'astuta regina Rhin ha conquistato i regni occidentali e l'alto re Nathair possiede il calderone...

    Regular price: $32.75

Are you an author?

Help us improve our Author Pages by updating your bibliography and submitting a new or current image and biography.