Tom Locke

2 books in series
4 out of 5 stars 52 ratings

Shadow War Publisher's Summary

An army veteran with deep expertise in military and international affairs makes his fiction debut with this electrifying international thriller - the first volume in a blistering-hot series in the tradition of Brad Thor, Tom Clancy, and Daniel Silva.

In Shadow War, an elite American mercenary on a secret mission to save a businessman's family in Eastern Europe must navigate perilous setbacks and deadly enemies that threaten to tip the balance of power between Russia and the United States.

Tom Locke is an elite warrior working for Apollo Outcomes, one of the world's most successful private contracting firms. Pulled out of a mission in Libya, he is tapped for an unusual and risky assignment: a top secret black op in Ukraine. He is given one week to rescue an oligarch's family and pull off a spectacular assault that could have long-lasting repercussions for this imperiled Eastern European nation and the world.

What Locke doesn't know is that the operation comes with a dangerous complication: Brad Winters. Locke's ambitious and enigmatic boss is engaged in a secretive, high-stakes geopolitical chess game with several influential powerbrokers in capitals around the world. One misstep could cost him - and Locke - everything.

While Locke has methodically planned the mission and handpicked a team of trusted operatives to pull it off - and save his ass if things go south - he doesn't count on running into a former love, war correspondent Alie MacFarlane, who impulsively makes a move that risks both their lives. Locke is an intelligent, iconoclastic soldier who specializes in pulling off the impossible. But all his brilliant preparation can't prevent the kind of backstabbing and deception that could lead to catastrophe...and tip the balance of power toward Putin's Russia.

©2016 Sean McFate and Bret Witter (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers
Show More Show Less
  • Book 1

    • Shadow War

    • A Tom Locke Novel
    • By: Sean McFate
    • Narrated by: Jeffrey Kafer, Peter Berkrot
    • Length: 10 hrs and 1 min
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 37
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 35
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 35

    In Shadow War, an elite American mercenary on a secret mission to save a businessman's family in Eastern Europe must navigate perilous setbacks and deadly enemies that threaten to tip the balance of power between Russia and the United States.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Quit Reading Reviews and BUY IT NOW!!!

    • By Benny D on 10-13-17

    Regular price: $28.51

  • Book 2

    • Deep Black

    • A Tom Locke Novel
    • By: Sean McFate, Bret Witter
    • Narrated by: Peter Berkrot, Jeffrey Kafer
    • Length: 9 hrs and 14 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 15
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 15
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 15

    Disillusioned after a mission in Ukraine goes tragically wrong, military contractor Tom Locke is on the run from Apollo Outcomes, a private military corporation run by the treacherous Brad Winters. While working undercover with his surviving team members on the frontlines of ISIS-infected Iraq, they are approached by a Saudi middleman who offers good money to find the missing son of a high-ranking government official.

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • Solid thriller

    • By Sean on 08-14-17

    Regular price: $28.51