Maggie Hope

7 books in series
4 out of 5 stars 4,659 ratings

Mr. Churchill's Secretary Publisher's Summary

For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Laurie R. King, and Anne Perry, Mr. Churchill’s Secretary captures the drama of an era of unprecedented challenge - and the greatness that rose to meet it.

London, 1940: Winston Churchill has just been sworn in, war rages across the Channel, and the threat of a Blitz looms larger by the day. But none of this deters Maggie Hope. She graduated at the top of her college class and possesses all the skills of the finest minds in British intelligence, but her gender qualifies her only to be the newest typist at No. 10 Downing Street. Her indefatigable spirit and remarkable gifts for codebreaking, though, rival those of even the highest men in government, and Maggie finds that working for the prime minister affords her a level of clearance she could never have imagined - and opportunities she will not let pass.

In troubled, deadly times, with air-raid sirens sending multitudes underground, access to the War Rooms also exposes Maggie to the machinations of a menacing faction determined to do whatever it takes to change the course of history.

Ensnared in a web of spies, murder, and intrigue, Maggie must work quickly to balance her duty to King and Country with her chances for survival. And when she unravels a mystery that points toward her own family’s hidden secrets, she’ll discover that her quick wits are all that stand between an assassin’s murderous plan and Churchill himself.

In this daring debut, Susan Elia MacNeal blends meticulous research on the era, psychological insight into Winston Churchill, and the creation of a riveting main character, Maggie Hope, into a spectacularly crafted novel.

©2012 Susan Elia Macneal (P)2012 Random House Audio
Show More Show Less
  • Book 1

    • Mr. Churchill's Secretary

    • A Maggie Hope Novel, Book 1
    • By: Susan Elia MacNeal
    • Narrated by: Wanda McCaddon
    • Length: 9 hrs and 48 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 1,847
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 1,637
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 1,643

    London, 1940: Winston Churchill has just been sworn in, war rages across the Channel, and the threat of a Blitz looms larger by the day. But none of this deters Maggie Hope. She graduated at the top of her college class and possesses all the skills of the finest minds in British intelligence, but her gender qualifies her only to be the newest typist at No. 10 Downing Street. Her indefatigable spirit and gifts for codebreaking, though, rival those of even the highest men in government, and Maggie finds that working for the prime minister affords her a level of clearance she could never have imagined....

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • Lovely

    • By Katherine on 10-22-12

    Regular price: $28.00

  • Book 2

    • Princess Elizabeth's Spy

    • A Maggie Hope Mystery, Book 2
    • By: Susan Elia MacNeal
    • Narrated by: Susan Duerden
    • Length: 11 hrs and 2 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 852
    • Performance
      3.5 out of 5 stars 774
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 764

    Susan Elia MacNeal introduced the remarkable Maggie Hope in her acclaimed debut, Mr. Churchill's Secretary. Now Maggie returns to protect Britain's beloved royals against an international plot - one that could change the course of history. As World War II sweeps the continent and England steels itself against German attack, Maggie Hope, former secretary to Prime Minister Winston Churchill, completes her training to become a spy for MI-5.

    • 1 out of 5 stars
    • Terrible Narration

    • By Jennifer on 11-22-12

    Regular price: $28.00

  • Book 3

    • His Majesty's Hope

    • A Maggie Hope Mystery, Book 3
    • By: Susan Elia MacNeal
    • Narrated by: Susan Duerden
    • Length: 10 hrs and 28 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 544
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 493
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 495

    World War II has finally come home to Britain, but it takes more than nightly air raids to rattle intrepid spy and expert code breaker Maggie Hope. After serving as a secret agent to protect Princess Elizabeth at Windsor Castle, Maggie is now an elite member of the Special Operations Executive–a black ops organization designed to aid the British effort abroad–and her first assignment sends her straight into Nazi-controlled Berlin, the very heart of the German war machine. Relying on her quick wit and keen instincts, Maggie infiltrates the highest level of Berlin society, gathering information to pass on to London headquarters. But the secrets she unveils will expose a darker, more dangerous side of the war–and of her own past.

    • 2 out of 5 stars
    • A YA Mystery that Isn't... Quite

    • By Carol on 06-17-13

    Regular price: $28.00

  • Book 4

    • The Prime Minister's Secret Agent

    • A Maggie Hope Mystery, Book 4
    • By: Susan Elia MacNeal
    • Narrated by: Susan Duerden
    • Length: 9 hrs and 46 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 418
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 374
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 375

    World War II rages on across Europe, but Maggie Hope has finally found a moment of rest on the pastoral coast of western Scotland. Home from an undercover mission in Berlin, she settles down to teach at her old spy training camp, and to heal from scars on both her body and heart. Yet instead of enjoying the quieter pace of life, Maggie is quickly drawn into another web of danger and intrigue.

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • The narration spoils the book

    • By Margaret Vance on 07-06-14

    Regular price: $28.00

  • Book 5

    • Mrs. Roosevelt's Confidante

    • A Maggie Hope Mystery
    • By: Susan Elia MacNeal
    • Narrated by: Susan Duerden
    • Length: 10 hrs and 16 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 413
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 375
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 378

    December 1941. Soon after the attack on Pearl Harbor, Winston Churchill arrives in Washington, DC, along with special agent Maggie Hope. Posing as his typist, she is accompanying the prime minister as he meets with President Roosevelt to negotiate the United States' entry into World War II. When one of the first lady's aides is mysteriously murdered, Maggie is quickly drawn into Mrs. Roosevelt's inner circle - as ER herself is implicated in the crime.

    • 1 out of 5 stars
    • RACIST AND INSULTING TO BLACK AMERICANS

    • By Linda Lou on 11-19-15

    Regular price: $28.00

  • Book 6

    • The Queen's Accomplice

    • A Maggie Hope Mystery, Book 6
    • By: Susan Elia MacNeal
    • Narrated by: Susan Duerden
    • Length: 10 hrs and 36 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 321
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 294
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 288

    England, 1942. The Nazis' relentless Blitz may have paused, but London's nightly blackouts continue. Now, under the cover of darkness, a madman is brutally killing and mutilating young women in eerie and exact re-creations of Jack the Ripper's crimes. What's more, he's targeting women who are reporting for duty to be Winston Churchill's spies and saboteurs abroad. The officers at MI5 quickly realize they need the help of Special Agent Maggie Hope to find the killer dubbed "the Blackout Beast". A trap is set.

    • 2 out of 5 stars
    • I love these books, but had to stop listening....

    • By Jodi Muller on 10-06-16

    Regular price: $28.00

  • Book 7

    • The Paris Spy

    • A Maggie Hope Mystery
    • By: Susan Elia MacNeal
    • Narrated by: Susan Duerden
    • Length: 9 hrs and 56 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 264
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 247
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 245

    Maggie Hope has come a long way since serving as a typist for Winston Churchill. Now she's working undercover for the Special Operations Executive in the elegant but eerily silent city of Paris, where SS officers prowl the streets in their Mercedes and the Ritz is draped with swastika banners. Walking among the enemy is tense and terrifying, and even though she's disguised in chic Chanel, Maggie can't help longing for home.

    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • Sing-Song Narration

    • By Dorothy on 08-13-17

    Regular price: $28.00