adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $18.89

Buy for $18.89

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

"A marvelous treat. Charming and delightful." (Nina Stibbe, author of Love, Nina)

An irresistible debut set in London during World War II about an adventurous young woman who becomes a secret advice columnist - a warm, funny, and enormously moving story for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Lilac Girls.

London, 1940. Emmeline Lake is Doing Her Bit for the war effort, volunteering as a telephone operator with the Auxiliary Fire Services. When Emmy sees an advertisement for a job at the London Evening Chronicle, her dreams of becoming a Lady War Correspondent suddenly seem achievable. But the job turns out to be working as a typist for the fierce and renowned advice columnist Henrietta Bird. Emmy is disappointed but gamely bucks up and buckles down.

Mrs. Bird is very clear: Letters containing any Unpleasantness must go straight in the bin. But when Emmy reads poignant notes from women who may have Gone Too Far with the wrong men, or who can't bear to let their children be evacuated, she is unable to resist responding. As the German planes make their nightly raids and London picks up the smoldering pieces each morning, Emmy secretly begins to write back to the readers who have poured out their troubles.

Prepare to fall head over heels for Emmy and her best friend, Bunty, who are gutsy and spirited, even in the face of a terrible blow. The irrepressible Emmy keeps writing letters in this hilarious and enormously moving tale of friendship, the kindness of strangers, and ordinary people in extraordinary times.

©2018 AJ Pearce (P)2018 Simon & Schuster

What listeners say about Dear Mrs. Bird

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    410
  • 4 Stars
    245
  • 3 Stars
    64
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    6
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    501
  • 4 Stars
    134
  • 3 Stars
    25
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    344
  • 4 Stars
    243
  • 3 Stars
    64
  • 2 Stars
    15
  • 1 Stars
    7

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Keep going...it's worth it

I bought this book for its title (I have a friend named Mrs. Bird). The beginning felt a little slow and repetitive, and more lighthearted than I'd expected the book to be. Take heart—it picks up. And once the ball gets rolling, it's captivating. I really loved the book by the end. It's worth the read.

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

An easy read

A bit trite, couldn’t get too attached to the characters, predictable. The writing is just OK. But if you want an easy no brainer to take a break from heavier stuff, this might be a good choice. Definitely chick-lit. The narration is good.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Delightfully Serious Historical Fiction

This book is designed to charm you while causing you to gain a deeper understanding of this critical time in England’s History. A time when the phrase “stiff upper lip” really meant something. A little slow at the beginning until at the end you want to run out and buy a copy of “Woman’s Life”.

Candace Loftus

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

A Happy Romp Through The Blitz

I absolutely hated every aspect of this inane representation of life in London during WWII. The narration was so false and forced I was sure it was an American doing a phony over the top British accent. After some research I found that Popplewell was indeed an English actress and had played the role of Susan in The Chronicles of Narnia. Go figure. Not sure what happened here but the narration, in my opinion, was overblown.

18 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

It's a little boring

I gave this book over 1.5 hrs of listening time. I found it boring and didn't keep my interest. Good luck!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Dear Mrs. Bird

a well written easy listen for a world war 2 book. Anna Popplewell has a lovely voice and was easy to understand. her performance was lovely. the story is a lighter listen and very enjoyable.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Gradually got into it

I didn’t like the narrator at first but got used to her and gradually got into the story. It was not a masterpiece but a cute book for short nighty listens.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Delightful!

This is such a charming and insightful read. Much different than most books written about this time period, "Dear Mrs. Bird" takes a personal look into the many men and women who had to stay home and stay cheery for their soldiers. I found myself laughing out loud on serval occasions, as the author writes Emmie's character with such life and wit you can't help but smile. Ms. Popplewell performs her to perfection (I also adore her accent). I became quite attached to the lovable characters of Mr. Collins and Morine. Its heartwarming narrative moved me to tears as it came to a close. My only complaint would be the end, and how much it leaves unresolved (concerning some relationships and subplots), but beyond that, it is most definitely one of my new favorites!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A lovely read for a tough time

A period about which I’ve read much, but never from the perspective of a young British woman during the Blitz. A refreshing, gentle, and innocent voice in the main character - a good reminder during these challenging COVID times that we can choose to show grace, patience, and resilience or not. I also appreciate the g rated story during a time when even a TV show can contain so much dark, adult, or inappropriate content. I got this for a book club and am glad I had the chance to start off the new year with this read. Sometimes you just need something sweet and gentle - not without hardship or heartache, but gentle just the same.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Totally clean read with depth and character

I loved it! I took away a lingering meditation on the spirit of resilience in the face of daily death threats, courage of strangers to risk their lives for other strangers, and of exploring the possibility of moving ahead with a seriously damaged 20 year friendship. Not to mention the resolution to the Mrs. Bird crisis- though that part may be predictable little else in Pearce's story is!