Inspector Pekkala

10 books in series
4 out of 5 stars 702 ratings

Eye of the Red Tsar Publisher's Summary

This riveting suspense debut introduces both a stellar new voice and a remarkable detective, an outsider who must use his extraordinary talents to solve the one case that may redeem him.

Shortly after midnight on July 17, 1918, the imprisoned family of Tsar Nicholas Romanov was awakened and led down to the basement of the Ipatiev house. There they were summarily executed. Their bodies were hidden away, the location a secret of the Soviet state.

A decade later, one man lives in purgatory, banished to a forest on the outskirts of humanity. Pekkala was once the most trusted secret agent of the Romanovs, the right-hand man of the Tsar himself. Now he is Prisoner 4745-P, living a harsh existence in which even the strongest vanish into the merciless Soviet winter.

But the state needs Pekkala one last time. The man who knew the Romanovs best is given a final mission: catch their killers, locate the royal child rumored to be alive, and give Stalin the international coup he craves. Find the bodies, Pekkala is told, and you will find your freedom. Find the survivor of that bloody night and you will change history.

In a land of uneasy alliances and deadly treachery, pursuing clues that have eluded everyone, Pekkala is thrust into the past where he once reigned. There he will meet the man who betrayed him and the woman he loved and lost in the fires of rebellion—and uncover a secret so shocking that it will shake to its core the land he loves.

With stunning period detail and crackling suspense, Eye of the Red Tsar introduces a complex and compelling investigator in a fiercely intelligent thriller perfect for readers of Gorky Park, Child 44, and City of Thieves.

©2010 Sam Eastland (P)2010 Random House
Show More Show Less
  • Book 1

    • Eye of the Red Tsar

    • A Novel of Suspense
    • By: Sam Eastland
    • Narrated by: Paul Michael
    • Length: 9 hrs and 4 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 356
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 189
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 188

    Shortly after midnight on July 17, 1918, the imprisoned family of Tsar Nicholas Romanov was awakened and led down to the basement of the Ipatiev house. There they were summarily executed. A decade later, one man lives in purgatory, banished to a forest on the outskirts of humanity. Pekkala was once the most trusted secret agent of the Romanovs, the right-hand man of the Tsar himself. Now he is Prisoner 4745-P. But the state needs Pekkala one last time.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Wow What a Book

    • By Sara on 07-31-14

    Regular price: $31.93

    • Eye of the Red Tsar

    • By: Sam Eastland
    • Narrated by: Steven Pacey
    • Length: 9 hrs and 47 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 16
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 13
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 13

    The first in a gripping new series of detective novels set at the birth of Stalin’s Russia. It is the time of the Great Terror. Inspector Pekkala – known as the Emerald Eye – was the most famous detective in all Russia. He was the favourite of the Tsar. Now he is the prisoner of the men he once hunted. Like millions of others, he has been sent to the gulags in Siberia and, as far as the rest of the world is concerned, he is as good as dead....

    Regular price: $19.10

  • Book 2

    • Shadow Pass

    • A Novel of Suspense
    • By: Sam Eastland
    • Narrated by: Paul Michael
    • Length: 9 hrs and 48 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 93
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 73
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 73

    He operates in the shadows of one of history’s most notorious regimes. He seeks the truth in a nation where finding it can mean death—or worse. His name his Inspector Pekkala, and this time he’s taking on a case with implications far deadlier than anything he can imagine: a shattering revelation that was never meant to be unearthed.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • One of my Rare 5-Star Rating

    • By Daniel McAfee on 11-05-13

    Regular price: $28.00

    • The Red Coffin

    • By: Sam Eastland
    • Narrated by: Steven Pacey
    • Length: 10 hrs and 20 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 14
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 13
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 13

    The sequel to Eye of the Red Tsar. It is 1939. Facing the secret threat of Nazi Germany, Stalin has placed his hopes on the F-34 tank, a 30-ton steel monster known as the 'Red Coffin' to those men who will soon be using it. But the design is not yet complete. And when the weapon's secretive and eccentric architect is found murdered, Stalin sends for Pekkala, his most trusted investigator. However, Pekkala is not the only one whose loyalty is divided....

    Regular price: $20.34

  • Book 3

    • Archive 17

    • A Novel of Suspense
    • By: Sam Eastland
    • Narrated by: Paul Michael
    • Length: 8 hrs and 55 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 73
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 62
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 62

    It is 1939. Russia teeters on the verge of war with Germany. It is also on the brink of bankruptcy. To preserve his regime, Stalin orders a search for the legendary missing gold of Tsar Nicholas II. For this task, he chooses Pekkala, the former investigator for the Tsar. To accomplish his mission, Pekkala will go undercover, returning to Siberia and the nightmare of his own past, where he was once a prisoner in the notorious Gulag known as Borodok. Pekkala must infiltrate a gang of convicts still loyal to the Tsar who, it is rumored, know the whereabouts of the precious gold.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • One of My Favorite Series

    • By Daniel McAfee on 12-10-13

    Regular price: $28.00

    • Siberian Red

    • By: Sam Eastland
    • Narrated by: Steven Pacey
    • Length: 8 hrs and 56 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 10
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 9
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 9

    September 1939: The Second World War has begun. Even as the fighting rages in Poland, Stalin's long-time obsession with the missing treasure of Tsar Nicholas II is rekindled. An informant claims to know the whereabouts of the man entrusted by the Tsar with hiding his gold. As the news of the informant reaches Stalin, however, the man is knifed to death. Stalin summons Pekkala to the Kremlin and orders him to solve the murder. To accomplish his mission, he must return to Borodok, the notorious Gulag where he himself spent many years as a prisoner.

    Regular price: $17.76

  • Book 4

    • The Red Moth

    • By: Sam Eastland
    • Narrated by: Steven Pacey
    • Length: 10 hrs and 24 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 12
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 11
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 11

    As Hitler's forces smash into Soviet territory, a lone German scout plane is forced down. Contained in a briefcase within is a seemingly inconsequential painting of a red moth. Military Intelligence dismisses the picture as insignificant, but Stalin suspects a German plot. He summons his old adversary, Inspector Pekkala - the Finn who was Tsar Nicholas II's personal detective - to discover the real significance of this strange cargo. As the storm gathers, Pekkala and his assistant from the Bureau of Special Operations find themselves on the track of the most formidable art thieves in history.

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • Love the Stalin angle in this series.

    • By Howie on 03-08-13

    Regular price: $20.34

  • Book 5

    • The Beast in the Red Forest

    • Inspector Pekkala, Book 5
    • By: Sam Eastland
    • Narrated by: Steven Pacey
    • Length: 9 hrs and 38 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 41
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 37
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 36

    A soldier returns from the front line of battle to report that Pekkala's charred body has been found at the site of an ambush. But Stalin refuses to believe that the indomitable Pekkala is dead. On Stalin's orders, Pekkala's assistant, Kirov, travels deep into the forests of Western Russia, following a trail of clues to a wilderness where partisans wage a brutal campaign against the Nazi invaders. Unknown to Kirov, he is being led into a trap.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Another Good one from Easton

    • By Daniel McAfee on 04-04-16

    Regular price: $15.48

  • Book 6

    • Red Icon

    • Inspector Pekkala, Book 6
    • By: Sam Eastland
    • Narrated by: Steven Pacey
    • Length: 10 hrs and 26 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 43
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 41
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 40

    In the midst of the fighting, two Russian soldiers seek refuge in the crypt of a German church. There, clutched in the hands of a skeleton priest, they find The Shepherd - a priceless icon thought to have been destroyed long ago. When news of its discovery reaches Moscow, Stalin calls upon his most trusted investigator, Inspector Pekkala, once a favorite of the tsar and known to all of Russia as The Emerald Eye.

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • Loose the new narrator

    • By Joseph on 01-04-16

    Regular price: $19.62

  • Book 7

    • Berlin Red

    • Inspector Pekkala, Book 7
    • By: Sam Eastland
    • Narrated by: Steven Pacey
    • Length: 10 hrs and 33 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 44
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 40
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 40

    April 1945. East of Berlin the Red Army stands poised to unleash its final assault upon the ruined capital of Hitler's Thousand-Year Reich. To the north, at a lonely outpost near the Baltic Sea, German scientists perfect a guidance system for the mighty V2 rocket, which has already caused massive damage to the cities of London and Antwerp. This device, known only by the codename Diamondstream, will allow the rocket to arrive at its target with pinpoint accuracy.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Best of the series, thus far

    • By R. A. Jackson on 12-17-16

    Regular price: $15.98