Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
When in Rome  By  cover art

When in Rome

By: Sarah Adams
Narrated by: Karissa Vacker, Andrew Eiden
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $18.00

Buy for $18.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

Opposites certainly attract for the stranded pop star and small-town baker in this charming slice of romance from the author of the TikTok sensation The Cheat Sheet.

“This modern take on the Hepburn classic Roman Holiday is a quick, fun, slow-burn rom-com.”—Abby Jimenez, bestselling author of The Friend Zone

ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR: NPR

Amelia Rose, known as Rae Rose to her adoring fans, is burned-out from years of maintaining her “princess of pop” image. Inspired by her favorite Audrey Hepburn film, Roman Holiday, she drives off in the middle of the night for a break in Rome . . . Rome, Kentucky, that is.

When Noah Walker finds Amelia on his front lawn in her broken-down car, he makes it clear he doesn’t have the time or patience for celebrity problems. He’s too busy running the pie shop his grandmother left him and reminding his nosy but lovable neighbors to mind their own damn business. Despite his better judgment, he lets her stay in his guest room—but only until her car is fixed—then she’s on her own.

Then Noah starts to see a different side of Rae Rose—she’s Amelia: kindhearted and goofy, yet lonely from years in the public eye. He can’t help but get close to her. Soon she’ll have to return to her glamorous life on tour, but until then, Noah will show Amelia all the charming small-town experiences she’s been missing, and she’ll help him open his heart to more.

Amelia can’t resist falling for the cozy town and her grumpy tour guide, but even Audrey had to leave Rome eventually.

©2022 Sarah Adams (P)2022 Random House Audio

Critic reviews

“Sarah Adams’s books are woven with pure sunshine and rainbows. Perfect for fans of Abby Jimenez and R. S. Grey, When in Rome is a slice of delight that will leave you smiling until your face hurts. It’s everything you could want in a small-town romance, along with a heaping dollop of her signature wit and sparkling charm.”—Amy Lea, author of Set on You

“My Audrey Hepburn-loving heart is so happy! When in Rome is a delectable romance, sweet and satisfying as a slice of warm apple pie.”—Chloe Liese, author of the Bergman Brothers series

“You can always count on a Sarah Adams rom-com to be equal parts funny, sweet, and swoony. When in Rome is all that and more with characters who will make you wish they were your friends, a quirky town you’ll want to visit, and a romance you’ll want to read again and again.”—Sophie Sullivan, author of Ten Rules for Faking It

Featured Article: The Audible Essentials—The Top 100 Romance Listens of All Time


With thousands of romance titles releasing every year across a huge swath of subgenres, it’s a tall order to choose the best among the bunch. So our romance editors listened, debated, and listened some more to bring you this list of the 100 must-hear romances on Audible. From Regency to contemporary, love at first sight to second-chance romance and every trope in between, there’s a story here for every romance fan.