Regular price: $22.67

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
  • Get access to the Member Daily Deal
OR
In Cart
How steamy is it? Sizzling

Publisher's Summary

Twenty-four-year-old truck stop waitress and single mother Catherine Wright has simple goals: to give her five-year-old daughter a happy life and to never again be the talk of the town in Balsam, Pennsylvania (population 3,000 outside of tourist season).

And then one foggy night, on a lonely road back from another failed date, Catherine saves a man's life. It isn't until after the police have arrived that Catherine realizes exactly who it is she has rescued: Brett Madden, hockey icon and media darling.

Catherine has already had her 15 minutes of fame, and the last thing she wants is to have her past dragged back into the spotlight, only this time on a national stage. So she hides her identity. It works. For a time.

But when she finds the man she saved standing on her doorstep, desperate to thank her, all that changes. There's an immediate connection, and it's more electric than the bond of two people who endured a traumatic event. It's something neither of them expected. Something that Catherine isn't sure she can handle, something she is afraid to trust.

Because how long can an extraordinary man like Brett be interested in an ordinary woman like Catherine...before the spark fades?

©2017 Kathleen Tucker. All rights reserved. (P)2017 Simon & Schuster, Inc. All rights reserved.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    350
  • 4 Stars
    179
  • 3 Stars
    53
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    10

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    370
  • 4 Stars
    133
  • 3 Stars
    45
  • 2 Stars
    15
  • 1 Stars
    9

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    330
  • 4 Stars
    158
  • 3 Stars
    59
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    8
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • kathy
  • jasper, GA, United States
  • 06-30-17

To Save a Stranger

I have read most of the author's books and she has always chosen her narrators well. I was disappointed with this narrator. I believe the audio version of this book would have had a different feel with the perfect narrator. I should have read this book. This is a feel-good story about a young woman who is strong willed and passionate about what she believes.She saves a man from a burning car wreck and her life as she has known it, changes in ways that fight with her personal beliefs. The author does a good job letting the reader feel this young woman's pain about her past as she is put in the spotlight. For fans of K A Tucker, I would recommend reading this one.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Sad? Depressed? Need a happy ending?

This is your book. Let's just say that you have had a rough day, you have pms, and you just watched (or read) a story about puppies with diseases, starving children, or the sad state of our environment and you just can't stop crying. This book is a positive breath of fresh air. Blatantly and non apologetically a Cinderella story. It was the pick me up that I needed and it will be for you too!! The main characters are well developed and easy to connect with.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

there slow burn and then theres long and drawn out

this book focused on the back story and the real story was hardly even a part of the book. im not sure if the point of this book was whoa is me finally get a guy or what would have been a cute couple that needs way more story and details has a huge back round that i dont care about. they really were sweet together, u just didnt get it intil like 70% in.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Liked the story

What three words best describe Shayna Thibodeaux’s performance?

I don't have 3 words. I thought that her voice sounded too old for the main character and that she did a much better job of voicing the secondary characters.

Any additional comments?

I enjoyed the story but found the (main character) narration distracting. It took me a while to get into it but once I did, I was able to overlook my issue with the narration.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Addicting

I love this author. This book was different from her other books but no less awesome. I love when there are kids in books and I fell in love with this one so easily. If you are looking for low angst and a great story then this is the book for you.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Can I please get back 14 hours of my time????

Absolutely disliked everything about this book! Totally drawn out. The main character was super annoying... the entire book was. The choice of words were redundant. Its like another version of "Pretty Woman" where you can make poor choices and still have your happily ever after.... i cant even believe i wasted all that time. ugh.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Lisa
  • Laguna Beach, Ca, United States
  • 08-05-17

Great story, enjoyed very much.

Enjoyed the story and all the characters. I don't think there has been a KA I didn't like. The only thing that really bothered me in this book and I think odd is as close as Single mom Kath is to her daughter I thought it odd she never once said I Love You to her daughter! Not at at bedtime or ever! As an adult I get she has a hard time saying I love you to her love but not saying it to her precious little one, it really stood out to me! Overall good story!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Disappointed

It started slow, but then got more interesting, but the ending left much to be desired.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I love a good story teller

The first book by K.A. Tucker was "He Will be my Ruin"....and I couldn't put it down. I'm addicted!!!! Love her writing and am really happy with "Until It Fades". It's a must read for those that root for the underdog.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loyalisa30

This is my very first book by KA Tucker and I really enjoyed it! Without revealing too much, this was a taboo romance about professor and student. The story teaches that no matter what has happened to a person you can’t let your fears stop you from trying. It also demonstrates that love is something you fight for and once earned you work to keep. Shayna Thibodeaux did a great job of narrating! This was definitely worth the read!

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 05-18-18

Beautiful story

What a beautiful and heartwarming story. I couldn’t stop listening to this audiobook. Day and night. Every spare second I’ve had, I’ve been glued to listening.
It’s not the normal type of story I’d go for but there was something that just made me give it a go. Whatever it was, I’m so very glad.
Definitely worth a read or listen to.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • narda
  • 08-18-17

Well written story

Totally enjoyed this story, it was so well written, there was no real slow burnt, But, the words were well written made you feel the hardship of Katherine's teenage years, with mistakes she had made. The narration was done well, A very nice all around feel good love story.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful