The Girl I Thought I Knew

A Gripping and Emotional Page-Turner with a Twist
Narrated by: Daniela Acitelli
Length: 9 hrs and 12 mins
4 out of 5 stars (4 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Daisy grew up around secrets she knew by heart but were never spoken. She had no idea just how much damage secrets could do, but she would soon learn. 

It's a warm, cloudless morning on the day the envelope arrives for Daisy. Soft sunlight streams into the apartment she shares with her partner, Anderson, who is sleeping peacefully. Daisy's fought hard for this happiness, worked her way up from being a vulnerable teenage runaway to a woman with a stable job and a loving boyfriend. 

But when Daisy discovers the handwritten wedding invitation from her childhood best friend, Stella, her bright morning turns suddenly dark. The wedding is back amongst the misty woods and rolling hills of Daisy's North Carolina hometown. The same town where her heartbroken mother never spoke about her miscarriages, and her distant father drank away what little money they had. The same town where she is still known as "the crazy one" for telling people about the dead girl she saw that summer's day in the woods. A girl who looked just like her, and whose body was never found. 

Daisy hasn't been back home since her parents sent her away and now, the thought of returning fills her with dread. She doesn't know if she can forgive Stella, the girl she once called "blood sister", for turning her back on her when everyone else did. And why is Stella reaching out now, after 15 years?  

There’s only one thing Daisy is sure of - if she wants to build a happy future, she's going to have to finally confront the mysteries of her dark past. 

The Girl I Thought I Knew is a spellbinding and moving novel for fans of Liane Moriarty, Kristin Hannah, and Kerry Fisher. 

Read what everyone is saying about Kelly Heard:

"Heart-breaking, poignant, and emotional...a compelling page-turner about second chances, learning to trust, and finding your way home.... Beautifully told. I was drawn in from page one until done." (Kerry Lonsdale, Wall Street Journal & Washington Post best-selling author)

"Oh, this book was just so beautiful! One of my favourite books of the year! So pleased to have discovered this amazing author.... One read does not do it justice.... I will be reading everything by this author and recommending this book to everyone. Brilliant! A masterpiece." (Renita D'Silva)

"Compelling...a must-read!... Kept me hooked throughout.... Thoroughly enjoyed this exciting story… A hidden gem." (Brianne's Book Reviews)

©2020 Kelly Heard (P)2020 Bookouture

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.