The Body in the Mist

DCI Craig Gillard, Book 3
Narrated by: Marston York
Series: DCI Craig Gillard, Book 3
Length: 10 hrs and 10 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (386 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

From master storyteller Nick Louth comes the third installment in the DCI Craig Gillard series. Perfect for fans of Robert Bryndza, Angela Marsons and Faith Martin. 

A body is found on a quiet lane in Exmoor, victim of a hit and run. 

He has no ID, no wallet, no phone, and - after being dragged along the road - no recognisable face.

Meanwhile, fresh from his last case, DCI Craig Gillard is unexpectedly called away to Devon on family business. Gillard is soon embroiled when the car in question is traced to his aunt. 

As he delves deeper, a dark mystery reveals itself, haunted by family secrets, with repercussions Gillard could never have imagined. The past has never been deadlier.

©2019 Nick Louth (P)2019 W. F. Howes Ltd

Critic Reviews

"An unputdownable, heart-thudder of a read.” (Carol Wyer) 

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    192
  • 4 Stars
    130
  • 3 Stars
    46
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    6

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    239
  • 4 Stars
    83
  • 3 Stars
    27
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    174
  • 4 Stars
    114
  • 3 Stars
    42
  • 2 Stars
    17
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Very good book; horrible recording

This was another really good book by Nick Louth. Unfortunately the recording was awful. There was an intermittent snap, crackle and pop noise in the background. It’s a testament to how good the book was that I didn’t return it.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

You sure can't pick your family!

Fast paced, interesting story that makes you realize how messed up families can be. This is a good series and this is the best of the books so far.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

book 3

I'm hooked! such a good book, love the narration, and the easy they end, always leaves room for another story!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best of the series - when I could hear it

Not crazy about the narrator - he makes Sam sounds like a dimwit - but mostly not crazy about the low volume of the recording itself. If I was in traffic (windows closed) or walked away from the player at home, I had to rewind to hear what I missed. The book itself is terrific. Big improvement over the second one.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

The Sins of the Fathers Visited on the Children

This story is about families in which each generation carries scars from the generations that lived before them; and these scars cause great damage.
Ultimately the twisted perceptions of the wounded leads to murder and cover ups.
Nick Louth cleverly leads his reader to very viable suspects each of which is gradually shown to be innocent.
The final solution is not complete, leaving more possibilities running through the readers' mind.....

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Depressing, horrible ending

The speed and narration on my download were fine, so I did not encounter the problems of other reviewers. The story, however, was interesting for two thirds of the book. The ending was so horrible I do not plan on continuing with this series if there is another book.. To say more would have to include spoilers. If you liked the first two books, you may want to read this edition and make up your own mind.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

A deeply unpleasant story

filled with deeply unpleasant characters. Ugh!
Book 2 in this series was much less objectionable, but there is a problem with the narration with that one too. The narration itself is fine, but there is a technical glitch. I am not even a little deaf,, but in order to hear either recording, I had to keep the player within arms reach.
No recommendation from me.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Poetic Family Weirdness Straight Out of Devon

I really liked Nick Louth's first two DCI Gillard novels - tight plots, interesting and well drawn characters, lots of perplexing puzzles, exciting windups. This, the third in the series has all that, plus a grim (to put it mildly) family drama set against Devon's tragically beautiful and difficult landscape. The spirit of Thomas Hardy's Far From The Madding Crowd and Conan Doyle's Hound of the Baskervilles hover not too far overhead.. Isolated farming families riddled with unnatural relationships, mysterious beasts that appear with the full moon to savage poor little ewes...and stalwart, very modern police trying to solve a staged hit and run while making sense of it all. And it is all very personal to Gillard and his wife. This book has some very dark moments indeed. Still, I found it a good, diverting, bumpy journey with moments of extremely bitter humor. I forced myself to withhold moral judgment of the characters. After all, it's just a detective story, right? Well...who IS guilty? And of what? I think the author himself - and certainly his hero Gillard - are not quite certain themselves.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story, narration!

Best of the three books in the series. Actually was pulling for one of the bad guys at the end. Interesting and definitely a literary get away!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Sound quality is bottom of the barrel

I love this series and this author, and the narrator is skillful. but the sound engineering is unforgivably awful. Very furry, weak,, and uneven, and even at full volume I couldn't hear the story. So sad.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs CJ
  • Mrs CJ
  • 12-14-19

Intricate storyline

I’ve listened to all in this series so far, and each story is made up of lots of different strands involving the main characters that are all drawn together at the end. This story was mostly about members of Gillard’s immediate family. It was quite believable up until the last 5 minutes, when it wasn’t. I shall listen to the next one with great interest to find out where the author is going with these characters, although I’m not sure I like any of them.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Street
  • Street
  • 01-11-20

Good not great.

A vast improvement on the second but still falls short of the first, a great performance by Marston York make the listening easier.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for R. A. Cornwell
  • R. A. Cornwell
  • 01-07-20

Chilling

Another gripping book in the series. Albeit somewhat farfetched it was spinetinglingly chilling from start to the very last few sentences. Can't wait till the next enstallment appears

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for knittyboot
  • knittyboot
  • 10-31-19

His best

I like his other stories but this one is head and shoulders better. The characters and level of humour in this one are great. I really enjoyed this book through out!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Graleon
  • Graleon
  • 10-10-19

Terrible Narrator

Coming from south of the Thames I thought this book would be enjoyable, knowing the areas portrayed and relating to the plot more. I went back over parts of the 2nd chapter 3 times and couldn't really work out quite where this was all going. By chapter 9 I know longer cared who or what was going on and gave up. The narrator over did the South East London accent at times and completely lost the plot with others, much like the rest of the book. Big thumbs down from me I'm afraid and certainly wouldn't rush to buy another Nick Louth book/Marston/York combination.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tig66
  • Tig66
  • 09-16-19

An easy listen.............

Not the most riveting story but an easy listen. It's a bit far fetched in places (full dig on circumstantial evidence is not going to happen with police budgets!) but if you let those bits go it's an ok book. Not sure I'll rush to get another one.
Narrator took a while to get use to but not the worst I've heard.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs P. W. Frere
  • Mrs P. W. Frere
  • 08-08-19

A gripping yarn

Compelling listening expertly read. Marston York really brought this excellent book to life. I’m looking forward to Nick Louth’s next story.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bules
  • Bules
  • 07-15-19

Excellent Gripping Sad

Gripping to the end. Full of twists and turns. I can’t wait for the next book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bear
  • Bear
  • 03-20-20

“Family ties”!!

Oh my... what a story... Gillard has certainly been through the mill in this one... it’s true what they say.. “you can’t choose your family “.. so annoyed “she” ( I won’t say the name) got away it it!!??!!. So many convoluted twists in this book.. cleverly written.. can’t wait to listen to book 4... I hope it’s resolved in Book 4 just for Gillards sake really...
excellent story telling...
and Marston York’s voice is a treat to listen too.. quite happily listen to
Him all day.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nicks
  • Nicks
  • 03-10-20

No No No

This was awful and I gave up during chapter 19 and sent back. Too dull and nothing like the first 2 books.