• The Body on the Island

  • DCI Craig Gillard, Book 6
  • By: Nick Louth
  • Narrated by: Marston York
  • Length: 9 hrs and 39 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (323 ratings)

Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks, and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Audible Plus auto-renews for $7.95/mo after 30 days. Upgrade or cancel anytime.
The Body on the Island  By  cover art

The Body on the Island

By: Nick Louth
Narrated by: Marston York
Try for $0.00

$7.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $20.02

Buy for $20.02

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

He was never truly gone, only biding his time....

Late on midsummer's night there is a splash in the river Thames. A body is found on an island, asphyxiated and laced with strange markings. For DCI Craig Gillard it's a baffling case. The victim's identity is elusive, clues are scarce and every witness has something to hide.

Meanwhile one of Britain's deadliest serial killers is finally up for parole after a deal to reveal the location of two missing bodies. The felon has his own plans to get even with witnesses, accusers and the officer who caught him 30 years before. And who was that? A young trainee by the name of Gillard.

An explosive crime thriller from master storyteller Nick Louth, perfect for fans of Mark Billingham, Cara Hunter and Robert Bryndza.

©2020 Nick Louth (P)2020 W. F. Howes Ltd

What listeners say about The Body on the Island

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    179
  • 4 Stars
    102
  • 3 Stars
    32
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    5
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    211
  • 4 Stars
    60
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    144
  • 4 Stars
    85
  • 3 Stars
    40
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    8

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Continues to be a great series!

A very enjoyable book with some plot twists that were very creative, so much so that they were completely unanticipated. Kudos to Nick Louth for keeping these characters fresh.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Ridiculous solution

I have enjoyed all of Louth's books so far. He is a good story teller and creates interesting mysteries populated with mostly likeable regular characters. That was the case with the first four books. The fifth book became a bit silly in the totally unrealistic actions of the villain. This one breaks his success streak more completely. It starts with an intriguing murder but gets muddled with two separate story lines and less memorable characters. Two suspects are portrayed so similarly that I am still not sure if they were two separate characters.

Then there is the solution to the mystery. I normally avoid talking about any element of a solution in a review so as not to spoil the books, so I will only speak about one element of it. It is not a good sign that it moved me to exclaim out loud..."You have got to be kidding." It is the most ridiculous end to a murder mystery that I have ever read. It is also a concern that this book repeats some problematic elements of the last book. A pile up of overly coincidental connections among the characters and a seeming revenge plot out of Gillard' past. Marston York does his usual excellent work in reading the story. Hopefully the next book improves after two let downs

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Really Good But Ending Weird

Ethical concerns here. Even after thirty years, how can Neville Rollason be released on parole, he who murdered all those boys? Vigilantes vow he will not last long. Meanwhile Rollason has his own secret agenda - carefully plotted all this time is devastating revenge on all who helped put him away....

Caught up in the middle are DCI Craig Gillard and his team. Actually at the moment this is not their prime concern, mystery surrounding a corpse dumped at night in the Thames. How came the body to be so crushed?

The powerful start grabs attention. Police procedural is convincingly portrayed - the slow but sure sifting of information received, all the while homing in on the possible truth.

Overall reaction depends on how much the listener can believe in motivations eventually attributed and events described in the closing chapters. After so much ringing true, there seemed a lurch into the surreal, sequences that did not really seem to belong. I found the ending of the book unbelievable but it is fiction and I was entertained .

Thought provoking, though, is the central issue. Are some crimes so heinous that perpetrators should never be released?

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great series!

A complex and intriguing mystery. Plenty of hateful villains to cheer against and a bizarre answer to a couple of mysterious deaths. The new female detective added to the squad is a great addition to the series. Keep ‘em coming please, Mr. Louth!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Took me by surprise

I've listened to all the DCI Gillard books so far, and generally they've been pretty good but I've usually been able to figure out the killer and often felt the clues came in the last chapter of the book fast and by accident. This all changed with The Body on the Island. I was truly left in complete suspense until the last chapters when the killer was revealed, and believe me, it was a shock.

Unlike other books where the killer is revealed in a shocking manner, this was completely believable and it's clear Louth did homework for this story. The details were a bit nauseating but I was truly impressed to be so blind-sided and actually applauded when the criminal was revealed. Great read.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Too many directions…

I’ve enjoyed these books but this one not so much. So many different directions fo this story, and I felt it didn’t close up all of them. I enjoy hearing about home life so I was disappointed.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

All build-up, no pay-off

This is my least favorite of the series so far. Started out with the potential to be the best of the bunch, but didn’t live up to it. If DCI Gillard is the reason you listen to this series then just a heads up, he’s in this book far less than any of the others. Almost a secondary character. I’ll move on to the next book because I still enjoy the series. But hoping this is the only bump in the road.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • UC
  • 06-19-21

Great Story

Really enjoy the DCI Gillard series. Fantastic narration. Please keep up the great work, with new plot twists and new characters.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

The ending was ridiculous.

The ending was not good at all. Just ridiculous. The books before had interesting storylines, but this was short and almost insulting.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

The Body on the Island

Was a great book with great characters and great action with a great story and a great ending looking forward to the next book thanks 💪🤠🍷

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful