Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $18.54

Buy for $18.54

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

He was never truly gone, only biding his time....

Late on midsummer's night there is a splash in the river Thames. A body is found on an island, asphyxiated and laced with strange markings. For DCI Craig Gillard it's a baffling case. The victim's identity is elusive, clues are scarce and every witness has something to hide.

Meanwhile one of Britain's deadliest serial killers is finally up for parole after a deal to reveal the location of two missing bodies. The felon has his own plans to get even with witnesses, accusers and the officer who caught him 30 years before. And who was that? A young trainee by the name of Gillard.

An explosive crime thriller from master storyteller Nick Louth, perfect for fans of Mark Billingham, Cara Hunter and Robert Bryndza.

©2020 Nick Louth (P)2020 W. F. Howes Ltd

What listeners say about The Body on the Island

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    38
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    43
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great series!

A complex and intriguing mystery. Plenty of hateful villains to cheer against and a bizarre answer to a couple of mysterious deaths. The new female detective added to the squad is a great addition to the series. Keep ‘em coming please, Mr. Louth!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

The Body on the Island

Was a great book with great characters and great action with a great story and a great ending looking forward to the next book thanks 💪🤠🍷

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Continues to be a great series!

A very enjoyable book with some plot twists that were very creative, so much so that they were completely unanticipated. Kudos to Nick Louth for keeping these characters fresh.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Took me by surprise

I've listened to all the DCI Gillard books so far, and generally they've been pretty good but I've usually been able to figure out the killer and often felt the clues came in the last chapter of the book fast and by accident. This all changed with The Body on the Island. I was truly left in complete suspense until the last chapters when the killer was revealed, and believe me, it was a shock. Unlike other books where the killer is revealed in a shocking manner, this was completely believable and it's clear Louth did homework for this story. The details were a bit nauseating but I was truly impressed to be so blind-sided and actually applauded when the criminal was revealed. Great read.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs
  • Mrs
  • 11-23-20

absurd

normally I really enjoy these books but the story line on this one was frankly bonkers. it really didn't move the ongoing story line on with the regular characters and the new characters were like caricatures of real people. hopefully the next one will be back to normal.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for CM
  • CM
  • 11-04-20

Love this series

I have enjoyed all the books in this series, including this one . Fab narration . Great characters .

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for elizabeth b.
  • elizabeth b.
  • 10-30-20

Triffic

I so enjoy nick louths writing. He does have a wild imagination. This was great. Except for the narrators who was rather limited in the characters he did. He needs to extend his performances.