We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Thief Audiobook

The Thief

Regular Price:$25.09
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Discover the world of the Queen's Thief

New York Times best-selling author Megan Whalen Turner's entrancing and award-winning Queen's Thief novels bring to life the world of the epics and feature one of the most charismatic and incorrigible characters of fiction, Eugenides the thief. Megan Whalen Turner's Queen's Thief novels are rich with political machinations and intrigue, battles lost and won, dangerous journeys, divine intervention, power, passion, revenge, and deception. Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Marie Lu, Patrick Rothfuss, and George R. R. Martin.

Eugenides, the queen's thief, can steal anything - or so he says. When his boasting lands him in prison and the king's magus invites him on a quest to steal a legendary object, he's in no position to refuse. The magus thinks he has the right tool for the job, but Gen has plans of his own. The Queen's Thief novels have been praised by writers, critics, reviewers, and fans, and have been honored with glowing reviews, "best of" citations, and numerous awards, including the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, a Newbery Honor, the Andre Norton Award shortlist, and the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award. Discover and rediscover the stand-alone companions, The Queen of Attolia, The King of Attolia, and A Conspiracy of Kings, all epic novels set in the world of the Queen's Thief.

©1996 Megan Whalen Turner (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

What the Critics Say

"In addition to its charismatic hero, this story possesses one of the most valuable treasures of all - a twinkling jewel of a surprise ending." (Publishers Weekly)

"A literary journey that enriches both its characters and readers before it is over." (Kirkus Reviews)

"A tantalizing, suspenseful, exceptionally clever novel." (The Horn Book)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (173 )
5 star
 (112)
4 star
 (43)
3 star
 (14)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.5 (168 )
5 star
 (110)
4 star
 (37)
3 star
 (16)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.6 (167 )
5 star
 (114)
4 star
 (39)
3 star
 (13)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Gee 05-21-17
    Gee 05-21-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    47
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A favorite"

    Wonderful story, wonderful narration. While there is a bit of a slow start, by the end I couldn't wait for the next book. I hope people give it a try, because it is very much worth a credit.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ronnie R 05-16-17
    Ronnie R 05-16-17 Member Since 2007
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    44
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The first of many great stories"

    This writer is one of the funnest riders to read. This story The Thief is one of the best. This is a good safe clean story for young folks and adults alike. I have waited many years for audible to finally pick up this writer and I am so glad they have. Probably because of the popularity of the book that was just released it has caused publishers to notice how many people are looking forward to stories from Megan Whalen Turner. It is a good fiction story with a fun plot about mythology. I hope you enjoy it as much as our family has. RPR

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    andrew 06-03-17
    andrew 06-03-17 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    32
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great book, wrong narrator"

    I first listened to The Thief as a book on tape (yes cassette tape, I am that old) preformed by Jeff Woodman when i was in middle school. Mr Woodman gave a much better performance than Mr West has. Mr West has a slow, monotone, deadpan voice during most of the narration that gives the story the feel of an uninterested and uninteresting person recounting a series of events in a business setting, only injecting feeling and emotion into the performance during character dialog. This style of narration glosses over much of the humor, sarcasm, and wit that really brings this book to life and makes Eugenides such an interesting and enjoyable character.

    Its not that Mr West is a bad narrator, i am sure that someone who had never encountered Mr Woodman's performance would find this to be an acceptable audio book. i just remember this audio book being so much more than just acceptable.

    5 of 6 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Emily O 06-14-17
    Emily O 06-14-17 Member Since 2015

    Avid fantasy adventure book listener.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved the Story & Narrator"

    It's rare for me to stumble upon a book that I really love, but this is one of them! Action, adventure, mystery all rolled into one story. The characters and plot movement took priority over stereotypical pitfalls that most books fall into. At first I really disliked Magnus' style of voice, but it got his first-impression character across quickly. Then I grew to like him as Gen did as well. Plus, a couple plot twists at the end! Very well done and can stand on it's own feet! I was confused as to the narrator's very aristocratic style for the first-person POV, but I think it all comes together in the end. :) Worth a credit or a purchase!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Zaseka 05-17-17
    Zaseka 05-17-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Outstanding book"

    This is a simply amazing story, narrated expertly. It is nice to see one of my favorite books from my childhood done so much justice.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Eileen ALEXANDRIA, VA, United States 09-16-17
    Eileen ALEXANDRIA, VA, United States 09-16-17 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    93
    20
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "great performance, dull story"

    Plot summary: 5 men go on a boring hiking/camping trip. They bicker and tell stories. The only real theft happens "off camera" and isn't revealed until the final 40 minutes. Will not continue with this series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Katie Chicago 09-09-17
    Katie Chicago 09-09-17 Member Since 2016

    360 Baby Solutions

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Narrator is wrong choice"

    I've read the book many times so it seemed natural to add this to my audible collection. The book itself is fantastic. Unfortunately the narrarator choice isn't great. Him reading other books would be fine but his deep scratchy voice was totally the wrong pick for a whiney adolescent that probably hasn't hit puberty or is just going through it. It didn't fit the character at all and this book is written in first person!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    CH.KIM 08-27-17
    CH.KIM 08-27-17 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    7
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "This book is awesome!!!"

    Gen's adventure to find the sacred stone called The Hamiathes's gift is truly amazing!!! I liked it very much.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    gina 08-07-17
    gina 08-07-17 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    90
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Finally on Audible!"

    So wonderful to listen to these books which have been favorites for years! The narrator was wonderful.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 07-16-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loves it!"

    Ha! She got me good. I love this author and this book. It may be considered short, but it is definitely filled with a lot of story.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.