Regular price: $42.00

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

From the author of the mega-selling Ranger's Apprentice!

Hal and his fellow Herons have returned home to Skandia after defeating the pirate captain Zavac and reclaiming Skandia's most prized artifact, the Andomal. With their honor restored, the Herons turn to a new mission: tracking down an old rival turned bitter enemy. Tursgud - leader of the Shark Brotherband and Hal's constant opponent - has turned from a bullying youth into a pirate and slave trader. After Tursgud captures 12 Araluen villagers to sell as slaves, the Heron crew sails into action...with the help of one of Araluen's finest Rangers!

In this fourth book in the Brotherband Chronicles, a new battle unfolds as old rivalries are renewed, peace treaties are put to the test, and the action builds to a pulse-pounding finale. Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien's Lord of the Rings, T.H. White's The Sword in the Stone, Christopher Paolini's Eragon series, and George R. R. Martin's Game of Thrones/ A Song of Ice and Fire series.

©2014 John A. Flanagan (P)2014 Penguin Audiobooks

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    557
  • 4 Stars
    100
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    525
  • 4 Stars
    73
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    504
  • 4 Stars
    96
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another great one!

I loved this one! loved Gil showing up again to work with our beloved Skandians. Can't wait for more.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Exciting thrill

Great way to continue the story. I especially like the connections that I‎t brings with other stories!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

<3

I love all of these Ranger's Apprentice and Brotherband books! John Flanagan is always engaging and entertaining.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Entertaining for a drive.

I'm in the midst of driving lots and wanted an easy series to occupy myself. These books are fun enough, though I think that they lack the depth of character and plot of the Apprentice Series.

More disconcertingly, the more I read Flanagan's works, the more that I suspect he holds an old fashioned opinion about women and foreigners (non-Euro).

Jury's out

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great story!

John Flanagan and John Keating did another superb job. Hal and his brother band do their duty!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

flanagins fantasy world never ceases to amaze me

I liked all of it. if you enjoy fantasy tales of medieval knights and stuff, john flanagins world of the rangers apprentice always seems to delight with something new. this is the first time i reaf his books in the audible version and i felt the english accented voice of the narrator made it even more believable and brings you into the story quite well.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Refreshing Adventure.

What made the experience of listening to Slaves of Socorro the most enjoyable?

The way these books are written they almost make the reader part of the adventure. One of the things that I liked about this book was that it didn't have all that unnecessary sex junk that a lot of adult books have, it was just a great book that anyone can read.

What was one of the most memorable moments of Slaves of Socorro?

There is a place in the second part where they are escaping from a town of slavers and they are cornered in a street. What happens next is very surprising.

Any additional comments?

Can't wait to read the next book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book, great series.

I really enjoy all of Mr. Flanigan's books. You can't go wrong with them. Ranger's Apprentice or Brotherband.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awesome

The slaves of Socorro was an awesome book and story. It was very interesting to see the infusing of the Rangers apprentice and Brother band Chronicles.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

I enjoyed very much. Remind me when I was younger and full of dreams.