Regular price: $42.00

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

From the author of the mega-selling Ranger's Apprentice!

Hal and his fellow Herons have returned home to Skandia after defeating the pirate captain Zavac and reclaiming Skandia's most prized artifact, the Andomal. With their honor restored, the Herons turn to a new mission: tracking down an old rival turned bitter enemy. Tursgud - leader of the Shark Brotherband and Hal's constant opponent - has turned from a bullying youth into a pirate and slave trader. After Tursgud captures 12 Araluen villagers to sell as slaves, the Heron crew sails into action...with the help of one of Araluen's finest Rangers!

In this fourth book in the Brotherband Chronicles, a new battle unfolds as old rivalries are renewed, peace treaties are put to the test, and the action builds to a pulse-pounding finale. Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien's Lord of the Rings, T.H. White's The Sword in the Stone, Christopher Paolini's Eragon series, and George R. R. Martin's Game of Thrones/ A Song of Ice and Fire series.

©2014 John A. Flanagan (P)2014 Penguin Audiobooks

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.8 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    496
  • 4 Stars
    94
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.8 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    466
  • 4 Stars
    70
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.8 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    449
  • 4 Stars
    88
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Exciting thrill

Great way to continue the story. I especially like the connections that I‎t brings with other stories!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

<3

I love all of these Ranger's Apprentice and Brotherband books! John Flanagan is always engaging and entertaining.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Entertaining for a drive.

I'm in the midst of driving lots and wanted an easy series to occupy myself. These books are fun enough, though I think that they lack the depth of character and plot of the Apprentice Series.

More disconcertingly, the more I read Flanagan's works, the more that I suspect he holds an old fashioned opinion about women and foreigners (non-Euro).

Jury's out

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great story!

John Flanagan and John Keating did another superb job. Hal and his brother band do their duty!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

flanagins fantasy world never ceases to amaze me

I liked all of it. if you enjoy fantasy tales of medieval knights and stuff, john flanagins world of the rangers apprentice always seems to delight with something new. this is the first time i reaf his books in the audible version and i felt the english accented voice of the narrator made it even more believable and brings you into the story quite well.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great Refreshing Adventure.

What made the experience of listening to Slaves of Socorro the most enjoyable?

The way these books are written they almost make the reader part of the adventure. One of the things that I liked about this book was that it didn't have all that unnecessary sex junk that a lot of adult books have, it was just a great book that anyone can read.

What was one of the most memorable moments of Slaves of Socorro?

There is a place in the second part where they are escaping from a town of slavers and they are cornered in a street. What happens next is very surprising.

Any additional comments?

Can't wait to read the next book.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great book, great series.

I really enjoy all of Mr. Flanigan's books. You can't go wrong with them. Ranger's Apprentice or Brotherband.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Awesome

The slaves of Socorro was an awesome book and story. It was very interesting to see the infusing of the Rangers apprentice and Brother band Chronicles.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Fantastic

I enjoyed very much. Remind me when I was younger and full of dreams.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

An exceellent read.

In Slaves of Socorro Hal and his crew are working with an Arualuen Ranger, on a quest to free slaves from the slave markets in Socorro. They also pursue Tursgurd who has turned pirate and slaves. It is another excellent read in John Flanagan' s Brotherband Chronicles. A great listen as well.