Regular price: $22.80

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A heartbreaking tale of love, loss, and one nearly perfect summer - perfect for fans of The Fault in Our Stars and Everything, Everything.

Seventeen-year-old Katie Price has a rare disease that makes exposure to even the smallest amount of sunlight deadly. Confined to her house during the day, her company is limited to her widowed father and her best (okay, only) friend. It isn't until after nightfall that Katie's world opens up, when she takes her guitar to the local train station and plays for the people coming and going.

Charlie Reed is a former all-star athlete at a crossroads in his life - and the boy Katie has secretly admired from afar for years. When he happens upon her playing guitar one night, fate intervenes and the two embark on a star-crossed romance.

As they challenge each other to chase their dreams and fall for each other under the summer night sky, Katie and Charlie form a bond strong enough to change them - and everyone around them - forever.

PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your Library section along with the audio.

©2018 Trish Cook (P)2018 Hachette Audio

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    42
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    36
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    37
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book!

Would you listen to Midnight Sun again? Why?

Probably so! This was so very interesting and kept me listening

Who was your favorite character and why?

I loved the main character. Her story felt very real

Which scene was your favorite?

The concert scene

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Narrator

I love the Taylor meskimens voice when she is reading the parts being said by Katie Price (books main character) but found the voices she uses to depict the father and boyfriend a little silly and kind of distracting. Enjoyable book and would definitely recommend reading before seeing the movie.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • J.
  • 03-28-18

what a book

I cried during the end! Oh my goodness it's so good! I would read this over and over again!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Just ok.

I downloaded the book, because I saw a trailer for the movie that intrigued me. The narrator was very good; but I did struggle to finish it. Perhaps I am not much a fan of the simple teenage love story? I liked Twilight, for example, because it had the whole fantasy aspect to keep me entertained. Midnight Sun, was just blah.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awesome story

The narrator was really good. What an awesome story. I enjoyed it from start to finish.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This is the best story I have ever listened to!!!!

What made the experience of listening to Midnight Sun the most enjoyable?

Midnight Sun is relatable in so many ways and is realistic. It was heartwarming but, also heartbreaking at sometimes. It had ups and downs like real life. It was just great.

What other book might you compare Midnight Sun to and why?

There are no books like this in my opinion so that's what stood out to me about this book. Good Job Trish Cook!!!!!!

What about Taylor Meskimen’s performance did you like?

When Taylor Meskimen was reading, she showed all of the emotions that the people would actually have if this were to actually happen. I was like she was there and that actually happened to her.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

At the train station when Charlie and Katie first met in person was adorable and it is really touching.

Any additional comments?

BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

wonderful love story

a wonderful life story even though it ends sadly but it was a lovely story to be told

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing

This book has caused some emotional turmoil- not gonna lie. The last 6 chapters have caused me to cry like a baby more than I would like to admit. That’s how you know it’s a good book. And this one will stick with me for years to come. It’s so hard to find a book that affects me in this way, but I treasure them.