We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Girl in Pieces Audiobook

Girl in Pieces

Regular Price:$38.50
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Girl, Interrupted, Thirteen Reasons Why, and All the Bright Places comes a novel Nicola Yoon, author of Everything, Everything, calls "a haunting, beautiful, and necessary book that will stay with you long after you've read the last page".

Charlotte Davis is in pieces. At 17 she's already lost more than most people do in a lifetime. But she's learned how to forget. The broken glass washes away the sorrow until there is nothing but calm. You don't have to think about your father and the river. Your best friend, who is gone forever. Or your mother, who has nothing left to give you.

Every new scar hardens Charlie's heart just a little more, yet it still hurts so much. It hurts enough to not care anymore, which is sometimes what has to happen before you can find your way back from the edge.

A deeply moving portrait of a girl in a world that owes her nothing and has taken so much and the journey she undergoes to put herself back together. Kathleen Glasgow's debut is heartbreakingly real and unflinchingly honest. It's a story you won't be able to look away from.

Includes an author's note read by the author.

©2016 Kathleen Glasgow (P)2016 Listening Library

What the Critics Say

"Equal parts keen-eyed empathy, stark candor, and terrible beauty. This book is why we read stories: to experience what it's like to survive the unsurvivable; to find light in the darkest night." (Jeff Zentner, author of The Serpent King)

"Raw, visceral, and starkly beautiful, with writing that is at times transcendent in its brilliance.... An unforgettable story of trauma and resilience." (Kerry Kletter, author of The First Time She Drowned)

"A breathtakingly written book about pain and hard-won healing.... I want every girl to read Girl in Pieces." (Kara Thomas, author of The Darkest Corners)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (171 )
5 star
 (106)
4 star
 (47)
3 star
 (11)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (4)
Overall
4.4 (154 )
5 star
 (91)
4 star
 (45)
3 star
 (14)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (2)
Story
4.6 (155 )
5 star
 (111)
4 star
 (31)
3 star
 (9)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Wendi Overland Park, KS, United States 05-31-17
    Wendi Overland Park, KS, United States 05-31-17 Member Since 2012

    Canadian girl in Kansas, love audible, books on kindle or kindle fire, and old fashioned books! I enjoy fiction most, mostly books with strong female leads. Favourite authors: Diana Gabaldon, Stephen King, Jodi Picoult, Wally Lamb, Pat Conroy, Andre Dubus III, Lisa Genova, many more!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1072
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    171
    104
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    87
    13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Touching, Sobering, Fascinating"

    Girl in Pieces is a work of art. Our Heroine Charlie is a cutter and she's trying to find her own way, working in a dumpy coffee shop. Her struggle with sobriety is difficult because the new characters in her life are junkies. She is focused on trying not to drink but more importantly, trying not to cut. Her scars make her a prisoner of her body and they make people want to stay out- but she's really very lonely and wants to be loved.

    This book is honest, raw, endearing, frightening, all encompassing and tragic- yet beautiful. I recommend it to anyone. This book is a work of art.

    -Wendi

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Celina woodstock, ON, Canada 05-28-17
    Celina woodstock, ON, Canada 05-28-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    42
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    89
    27
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    6
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "This Book Will Shake You..."
    Would you consider the audio edition of Girl in Pieces to be better than the print version?

    I feel the performance of this book really took it to a whole new level.


    What other book might you compare Girl in Pieces to and why?

    I would compare this book to white oleander.


    What about Julia Whelan and Kathleen Glasgow ’s performance did you like?

    You felt as if you were not listening to the book. it was as if it was someone telling you their story. Julia real meshed and and fit the right age bracket.


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    From dark to light


    Any additional comments?

    This book struck so deeply with my own story. It was amazing and i am so happy its a part of my library.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 05-16-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Emotional, for sure"

    I had a hard time getting through this book because I really couldn't empathize with the main character. It was one of those, "I'd feel sorry for you, if you didn't continue to put yourself in a downward depression". But then, ya know, that's what depressed and mentally ill people tend to do. Overall, I wanted to know how the story ended, because I had invested so much time into it. The ending is the reason to stick around.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mio Sunnyvale, Ca 02-28-17
    Mio Sunnyvale, Ca 02-28-17 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    24
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Heartbreaking story"
    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    I started this book before bed and ended up not sleeping due to wanting to just keep going. This story is something so many people can appreciate and should listen to if they are looking for a in depth view of what goes on in the mind of a self-harmer. Highly recommended. The narrator was good as well.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Hayley Murphy 01-04-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Older teen/young adult/early 20's"
    What made the experience of listening to Girl in Pieces the most enjoyable?

    I was hooked! I couldn't save this book just for my commute and found myself listening to it up until I went to bed. Very catching storyline and the way it is read makes it feel like a movie. If you like Girl Interrupted or The Bell Jar, you will love this!


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amber Rae San Francisco, CA 11-19-16
    Amber Rae San Francisco, CA 11-19-16 Member Since 2014

    I'm a clinical psychology doctorate student. I love to read a good romance or ya novel to escape from the everyday stresses of life.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    81
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    82
    27
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Stayed Up All Night Finishing It!"

    I wasn't so sure how I felt when I first started reading the book, but once I was hooked, I couldn't wait to go back to listening. This is a story of transformation, a love story, and a whole lot of struggle. I wouldn't categorize it as a "feel good" book, but I liked the ending more than I imagined.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    NW 11-15-16
    NW 11-15-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    209
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Powerful"

    Possibly the most eye-opening & powerful book I have ever read! This is a must read!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    ematnau 10-02-16
    ematnau 10-02-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    39
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    141
    91
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Heartbreaking, thought-provoking, and..."

    This book was very powerful, heartbreaking, thought-provoking, and f***ing 'angelic'!
    I was soo sad for Charlie -and the rest of the 'broken ' girls. I loved the characters (and their snarky-at times ) personalities .
    The narrator, Julia whelan, is/was a perfect choice! she's amazing!
    Thank you for sharing and writing this book... to bring more awareness tht this is happening to our youth.
    This book will stay with me to awhile ... :'(

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    ALYSSA 06-28-17
    ALYSSA 06-28-17 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    65
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Obsessed with this story"

    I am absolutely overwhelmed with joy to listen to this story. Definitely a major trigger warning for some... but it's a brilliant performance and a well written piece. I find myself trying to prolong the time left of the book and I'm already sad that it will eventually end. The characters are real, raw and relatable. I genuinely am obsessed with this story and so very glad I stumbled across the audiobook.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    monique turner 06-28-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Harsh"

    Harsher language that I expected. I only made it partway through and couldn't bear to hear more. Don't enjoy visions of girls being abused. Enough violence in the world to listen to it for pleasure.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.