Regular price: $38.50

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Girl, Interrupted, Thirteen Reasons Why, and All the Bright Places comes a novel Nicola Yoon, author of Everything, Everything, calls "a haunting, beautiful, and necessary book that will stay with you long after you've read the last page".

Charlotte Davis is in pieces. At 17 she's already lost more than most people do in a lifetime. But she's learned how to forget. The broken glass washes away the sorrow until there is nothing but calm. You don't have to think about your father and the river. Your best friend, who is gone forever. Or your mother, who has nothing left to give you.

Every new scar hardens Charlie's heart just a little more, yet it still hurts so much. It hurts enough to not care anymore, which is sometimes what has to happen before you can find your way back from the edge.

A deeply moving portrait of a girl in a world that owes her nothing and has taken so much and the journey she undergoes to put herself back together. Kathleen Glasgow's debut is heartbreakingly real and unflinchingly honest. It's a story you won't be able to look away from.

Includes an author's note read by the author.

©2016 Kathleen Glasgow (P)2016 Listening Library

Critic Reviews

"Equal parts keen-eyed empathy, stark candor, and terrible beauty. This book is why we read stories: to experience what it's like to survive the unsurvivable; to find light in the darkest night." (Jeff Zentner, author of The Serpent King)
"Raw, visceral, and starkly beautiful, with writing that is at times transcendent in its brilliance.... An unforgettable story of trauma and resilience." (Kerry Kletter, author of The First Time She Drowned)
"A breathtakingly written book about pain and hard-won healing.... I want every girl to read Girl in Pieces." (Kara Thomas, author of The Darkest Corners)

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    165
  • 4 Stars
    63
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    6

Performance

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    168
  • 4 Stars
    45
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    146
  • 4 Stars
    58
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    4
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Wendi
  • Houston, TX
  • 05-31-17

Touching, Sobering, Fascinating

Girl in Pieces is a work of art. Our Heroine Charlie is a cutter and she's trying to find her own way, working in a dumpy coffee shop. Her struggle with sobriety is difficult because the new characters in her life are junkies. She is focused on trying not to drink but more importantly, trying not to cut. Her scars make her a prisoner of her body and they make people want to stay out- but she's really very lonely and wants to be loved.

This book is honest, raw, endearing, frightening, all encompassing and tragic- yet beautiful. I recommend it to anyone. This book is a work of art.

-Wendi

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Older teen/young adult/early 20's

What made the experience of listening to Girl in Pieces the most enjoyable?

I was hooked! I couldn't save this book just for my commute and found myself listening to it up until I went to bed. Very catching storyline and the way it is read makes it feel like a movie. If you like Girl Interrupted or The Bell Jar, you will love this!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Celina
  • woodstock, ON, Canada
  • 05-28-17

This Book Will Shake You...

Would you consider the audio edition of Girl in Pieces to be better than the print version?

I feel the performance of this book really took it to a whole new level.

What other book might you compare Girl in Pieces to and why?

I would compare this book to white oleander.

What about Julia Whelan and Kathleen Glasgow ’s performance did you like?

You felt as if you were not listening to the book. it was as if it was someone telling you their story. Julia real meshed and and fit the right age bracket.

If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

From dark to light

Any additional comments?

This book struck so deeply with my own story. It was amazing and i am so happy its a part of my library.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Mio
  • Sunnyvale, Ca
  • 02-28-17

Heartbreaking story

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

I started this book before bed and ended up not sleeping due to wanting to just keep going. This story is something so many people can appreciate and should listen to if they are looking for a in depth view of what goes on in the mind of a self-harmer. Highly recommended. The narrator was good as well.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Stayed Up All Night Finishing It!

I wasn't so sure how I felt when I first started reading the book, but once I was hooked, I couldn't wait to go back to listening. This is a story of transformation, a love story, and a whole lot of struggle. I wouldn't categorize it as a "feel good" book, but I liked the ending more than I imagined.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • NW
  • 11-15-16

Powerful

Possibly the most eye-opening & powerful book I have ever read! This is a must read!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Heartbreaking, thought-provoking, and...

This book was very powerful, heartbreaking, thought-provoking, and f***ing 'angelic'!
I was soo sad for Charlie -and the rest of the 'broken ' girls. I loved the characters (and their snarky-at times ) personalities .
The narrator, Julia whelan, is/was a perfect choice! she's amazing!
Thank you for sharing and writing this book... to bring more awareness tht this is happening to our youth.
This book will stay with me to awhile ... :'(

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

sad but necessary.

I can't even begin to describe the emotions this book gave to me. Fucking Angelic.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

heart warming

the story could get a little lengthy here and there. however, it was such a beautiful story regardless, and really sheds light on a real emotional health crisis so many people face.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Well done!

What I loved about this book is that the main character was imperfect. She back slid. She made terrible choices. But I loved her and kept hoping she would pull herself out of the mess she was in. I don't want to give anything away but I will say I finished the book hopeful and satisfied and sad and happy and curious. Very well written and the performance was top notch.