Regular price: $38.50

Free with 30-day trial Membership
Membership details Membership details
  • 30 days of membership free - plus an audiobook, on us.
  • 1 credit a month after trial - good for any title.
  • Easy exchange. Don't love book? swap it for free.
  • Exchange books you don't like
  • After your free trial, Audible is $14.95 a month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Girl, Interrupted, Thirteen Reasons Why, and All the Bright Places comes a novel Nicola Yoon, author of Everything, Everything, calls "a haunting, beautiful, and necessary book that will stay with you long after you've read the last page".

Charlotte Davis is in pieces. At 17 she's already lost more than most people do in a lifetime. But she's learned how to forget. The broken glass washes away the sorrow until there is nothing but calm. You don't have to think about your father and the river. Your best friend, who is gone forever. Or your mother, who has nothing left to give you.

Every new scar hardens Charlie's heart just a little more, yet it still hurts so much. It hurts enough to not care anymore, which is sometimes what has to happen before you can find your way back from the edge.

A deeply moving portrait of a girl in a world that owes her nothing and has taken so much and the journey she undergoes to put herself back together. Kathleen Glasgow's debut is heartbreakingly real and unflinchingly honest. It's a story you won't be able to look away from.

Includes an author's note read by the author.

©2016 Kathleen Glasgow (P)2016 Listening Library

Critic Reviews

"Equal parts keen-eyed empathy, stark candor, and terrible beauty. This book is why we read stories: to experience what it's like to survive the unsurvivable; to find light in the darkest night." (Jeff Zentner, author of The Serpent King)
"Raw, visceral, and starkly beautiful, with writing that is at times transcendent in its brilliance.... An unforgettable story of trauma and resilience." (Kerry Kletter, author of The First Time She Drowned)
"A breathtakingly written book about pain and hard-won healing.... I want every girl to read Girl in Pieces." (Kara Thomas, author of The Darkest Corners)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    134
  • 4 Stars
    57
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    6

Performance

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    143
  • 4 Stars
    39
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    121
  • 4 Stars
    53
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    4
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Wendi
  • Overland Park, KS, United States
  • 05-31-17

Touching, Sobering, Fascinating

Girl in Pieces is a work of art. Our Heroine Charlie is a cutter and she's trying to find her own way, working in a dumpy coffee shop. Her struggle with sobriety is difficult because the new characters in her life are junkies. She is focused on trying not to drink but more importantly, trying not to cut. Her scars make her a prisoner of her body and they make people want to stay out- but she's really very lonely and wants to be loved.

This book is honest, raw, endearing, frightening, all encompassing and tragic- yet beautiful. I recommend it to anyone. This book is a work of art.

-Wendi

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Celina
  • woodstock, ON, Canada
  • 05-28-17

This Book Will Shake You...

Would you consider the audio edition of Girl in Pieces to be better than the print version?

I feel the performance of this book really took it to a whole new level.

What other book might you compare Girl in Pieces to and why?

I would compare this book to white oleander.

What about Julia Whelan and Kathleen Glasgow ’s performance did you like?

You felt as if you were not listening to the book. it was as if it was someone telling you their story. Julia real meshed and and fit the right age bracket.

If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

From dark to light

Any additional comments?

This book struck so deeply with my own story. It was amazing and i am so happy its a part of my library.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Emotional, for sure

I had a hard time getting through this book because I really couldn't empathize with the main character. It was one of those, "I'd feel sorry for you, if you didn't continue to put yourself in a downward depression". But then, ya know, that's what depressed and mentally ill people tend to do. Overall, I wanted to know how the story ended, because I had invested so much time into it. The ending is the reason to stick around.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Mio
  • Sunnyvale, Ca
  • 02-28-17

Heartbreaking story

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

I started this book before bed and ended up not sleeping due to wanting to just keep going. This story is something so many people can appreciate and should listen to if they are looking for a in depth view of what goes on in the mind of a self-harmer. Highly recommended. The narrator was good as well.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Older teen/young adult/early 20's

What made the experience of listening to Girl in Pieces the most enjoyable?

I was hooked! I couldn't save this book just for my commute and found myself listening to it up until I went to bed. Very catching storyline and the way it is read makes it feel like a movie. If you like Girl Interrupted or The Bell Jar, you will love this!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Stayed Up All Night Finishing It!

I wasn't so sure how I felt when I first started reading the book, but once I was hooked, I couldn't wait to go back to listening. This is a story of transformation, a love story, and a whole lot of struggle. I wouldn't categorize it as a "feel good" book, but I liked the ending more than I imagined.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • NW
  • 11-15-16

Powerful

Possibly the most eye-opening & powerful book I have ever read! This is a must read!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Heartbreaking, thought-provoking, and...

This book was very powerful, heartbreaking, thought-provoking, and f***ing 'angelic'!
I was soo sad for Charlie -and the rest of the 'broken ' girls. I loved the characters (and their snarky-at times ) personalities .
The narrator, Julia whelan, is/was a perfect choice! she's amazing!
Thank you for sharing and writing this book... to bring more awareness tht this is happening to our youth.
This book will stay with me to awhile ... :'(

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Surprising!

I didn't expect this to be as good as it was. I hadn't come across this author and figured it was just another teen angst book. I couldn't be more wrong. Sure, it's dramatic and lonely, but the writing is so superb and descriptive. In the author's notes at the end she states while the character found solace in drawing, she herself would write. However I found her wordsmithing so picturesque that I would say there's almost no difference. Additionally, the narrator was fantastic and it was immersively easy to follow in conversations with multiple characters without being distracted by forced accents or pitches. Definitely recommended.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Amazing

Such a great story for anyone that has gone through self harm of any type.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.