Regular price: $23.93

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

When you don't talk, there's a lot of stuff that ends up not getting said.

Harsh words indeed, from Brian Nelson of all people. But, D.J. can't help admitting, maybe he's right.

When you don't talk, there's a lot of stuff that ends up not getting said.

Stuff like why her best friend, Amber, isn't so friendly anymore. Or why her little brother, Curtis, never opens his mouth. Why her mom has two jobs and a big secret. Why her college-football-star brothers won't even call home. Why her dad would go ballistic if she tried out for the high school football team herself. And why Brian is so, so out of her league. When you don't talk, there's a lot of stuff that ends up not getting said. Welcome to the summer that 15-year-old D.J. Schwenk of Red Bend, Wisconsin, learns to talk, and ends up having an awful lot of stuff to say.

©2006 Catherine Gilbert Murdock; (P)2006 Random House, Inc. Listening Library, an imprint of the Random House Audio Publishing Group

Critic Reviews

"Fans of Joan Bauer and Louise Rennison will flock to this sweet confection of a first novel, as enjoyable as any treat from the real DQ." (School Library Journal)
"This humorous, romantic romp excels at revealing a situation seldom explored in YA novels." (Booklist)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.2 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    41
  • 4 Stars
    29
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4.2 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    30
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 4.1 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Young

If you could sum up Dairy Queen in three words, what would they be?

Good for younger readers (maybe 5th grade- middle school)

Would you recommend Dairy Queen to your friends? Why or why not?

would recommend for my young niece

What does Natalie Moore bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

great Wisconsin accent

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Good book!

Yes, the book did reach what I was thinking.
The narrator was good.
3 star book if I can say.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Amy
  • Houston, TX, United States
  • 09-14-12

I want to be a Dairy Queen!!!

Would you consider the audio edition of Dairy Queen to be better than the print version?

DJ Schwenk does not have a perfect life. Not by a long shot. It's pretty crappy, actually. But the girl has spirit. Too bad it takes Brian Nelson telling her what a waste of space she is for her to actually realize that. <br/><br/>Dairy Queen is a story of self-discovery and deciding that you are worth something, no matter who you are. <br/><br/>DJ is one of the most moving characters I have ever read, and her progression and growth throughout the novel is absolutely brilliant. <br/><br/>Not even two chapters in, you think to yourself that perhaps you should pity DJ. But you don't. Instead you want to be her. <br/><br/>Catherine Gilbert Murdock is just that good of an author. <br/><br/>

Who was your favorite character and why?

DJ -- She is such a realistic character, a young teenage girl floundering as she is supposed to be figuring out her life but is barely able to hang on to it. She is strong, even though she doesn't realize it, and stubborn and judgmental and also forgiving and passionate. She is the kind of person I would like to be.

Have you listened to any of Natalie Moore’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

No, but I just bought the two sequels to this book narrated by her as well, Front & Center and The Off Season. I can't wait to listen to them!<br/><br/>Her performance for this book was spectactular. She emulates DJ in a very realistic, subtle way, which is suiting to the character.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

There are too many to count. Every chapter is moving. Seriously. Read it and you'll know what I mean.

  • Overall
  • Diana
  • Norfolk, VA, United States
  • 04-04-10

Entertaining Young Adult Book

I initially purchased this book because I liked Catherine Gilbert Murdock's "Princess Ben". "Dairy Queen" is written in a first-person point of view of D.J. Schwank. D.J.'s family has fallen on hard times after her dad hurt his back and she's had to take up a lot of the slack on the farm. I really enjoyed the author's down-to-earth phrasing and how D.J. thought a lot about things that were said (and not said). Although D.J. claims not to be smart, she really is smart and although she makes some mistakes, she also makes some great decisions. I knew long before the audiobook was over that I was spending my last two credits to get the sequels.