The Poet X

Narrated by: Elizabeth Acevedo
Length: 3 hrs and 30 mins
5 out of 5 stars (1,474 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing #ownvoices novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth.

Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.

But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers - especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, whom her family can never know about.

With Mami's determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school's slam poetry club, she doesn't know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can't stop thinking about performing her poems.

Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent.

"Crackles with energy and snaps with authenticity and voice." (Justina Ireland, author of Dread Nation)

©2018 Elizabeth Acevedo (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic Reviews

"An incredibly potent debut." (Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award finalist, Ghost)

"Acevedo has amplified the voices of girls en el barrio who are equal parts goddess, saint, warrior, and hero." (Ibi Zoboi, author of American Street)

"The author's passion and pacing unite in her rhythmic reading of linked free-verse poems telling the story of Xiomara Barista. The author, a performance poet, and her heroine possess a gift for arranging words, sequencing sounds, and enriching both with emotions.... The subject, tone, form, and expression of this audiobook are diverse and poignant." (AudioFile)

Featured Article: 20 Best YA Audiobooks


Young adult audiobooks offer some of the most affecting, original stories that, despite the genre’s name, make an excellent choice for listeners of all ages. Unforgettably poignant coming-of-age stories, hopeful tales of youth resistance, and brave teens reckoning with questions that stump even the wisest adults are at the heart of this varied and exceptional genre. Our list includes selections ranging from historical fiction to sci-fi, romance to historical sci-fi with a romantic twist, and features diverse characters and ensembles that will make it impossible to press pause. Here are the 20 best YA audiobooks in our catalog.

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,280
  • 4 Stars
    156
  • 3 Stars
    25
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    8

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,265
  • 4 Stars
    66
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    6

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,123
  • 4 Stars
    169
  • 3 Stars
    32
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    8

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Better

I don't have the words
To say how much
I needed -
As a mother,
As a teacher,
As a human -
To hear Xiomara's/Elizabeth's words
Straight from her own lips.
I'm a better
mother,
teacher,
human
having listened!

16 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant!!

I don’t even know how to review this in all honestly. Acevedo, who has earned herself favorite new author status in my eyes, has written ( in verse!!) the moving story of Xiomara. A girl just trying to figure herself out while living with a ultra religious mom, a cinnamon roll brother, and a dad who pretty much stays out of matters at home. Acevedo did a marvelous with the narration. The emotion she put into this made the characters seem so unbelievably real. LISTEN TO IT!! You will not be disappointed.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

open mic night

It's like sitting in the front table at a cafe on open mic night. Listening to and bearing witness to a teen's life with the strength, angst, love, and struggle

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful inside & out

This book seems best suited for audio. I'm so glad I listened! And it feels like the first book I've ever read that actually portrayed what it's like to be a beautiful girl in high school - it's not all rainbows

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

fthoughts on Poet X

I really enjoyed Poet X. I think it is a remarkable book for book club with High School students and. many great topics can be covered. I would like to see our parents and their religions portrayed a bit differently. we can oppose their beliefs with out their beliefs needing to be portrayed as abusive or archaic. A bit more balance in YA. in general. nice almost to good to be true resolution.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

deep cultural story about the power of one's word

Riveting. Heartfelt story of a young girl's struggle for expression in face of an overbearing mother, society that defines her in a certain way, and doubts about purpose and faith. Wow, what a story.

Read by the author with brutal truth, hypnotic poetry, and a voice overflowing substance.

One of the best books I've heard in a long time.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful

I loved this book. It was so powerful. It’s a quick read but it leaves a lasting impact.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

AMAZING!!!

I loved everything about this book. I felt every emotion and would read it again. Love that the author narrated this. Although my mom doesn’t rice me at the knees, she is a strong Christian. Xio has the same questions I have about the Bible and the curiosity. This book is going to be in my Top 5!! Love it love it love it!!!

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing, must be experienced this way

A beautiful and relatable story told in verse, about a teenage girl reconciling with family, religion, sexuality and race. The author reads the audiobook herself and she is fierce. She becomes Xiomara and I would listen to her read anything. After listening to the audiobook I can’t imagine experiencing this book any other way. You won’t be disappointed!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Powerful Read

Poet X is a modern coming of age book that can inspire youth to write, and discuss their lives to be understood and gain understanding.

2 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sandra
  • Sandra
  • 12-14-18

YA that feels real

The performance of this book is excellent. I picked it up on the recommendation that the author does spoken word and reads the book herself, and that recommendation was solid.

Besides the book flowing with a pleasant rhythm and being read right it was also a compelling story. It felt real like so much of the YA I'm reading doesn't.

I loved this book!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Laura Pohl
  • Laura Pohl
  • 08-10-18

Great!

This book is one of the most amazing things I've ever listened to. I don't even enjoy poetry all that much, but it's powerful and it gave me so many chills while listening. Xiomara's story is one of the most beautiful experiences I've had while reading, and I loved every moment.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 07-11-18

A stunning performance

You NEED to listen to this audiobook!!! Incredibly performed by the author, who is herself a slam poet, and wow does it show - I don't even have to words to describe just how good this is, just download it, please!!!!