We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
How We Learn Audiobook

How We Learn: The Surprising Truth About When, Where, and Why It Happens

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of The Power of Habit and Thinking, Fast and Slow comes a practical, playful, and endlessly fascinating guide to what we really know about learning and memory today - and how we can apply it to our own lives.

From an early age, it is drilled into our heads: Restlessness, distraction, and ignorance are the enemies of success. We’re told that learning is all self-discipline, that we must confine ourselves to designated study areas, turn off the music, and maintain a strict ritual if we want to ace that test, memorize that presentation, or nail that piano recital.

But what if almost everything we were told about learning is wrong? And what if there was a way to achieve more with less effort?

In How We Learn, award-winning science reporter Benedict Carey sifts through decades of education research and landmark studies to uncover the truth about how our brains absorb and retain information. What he discovers is that, from the moment we are born, we are all learning quickly, efficiently, and automatically; but in our zeal to systematize the process we have ignored valuable, naturally enjoyable learning tools like forgetting, sleeping, and daydreaming. Is a dedicated desk in a quiet room really the best way to study? Can altering your routine improve your recall? Are there times when distraction is good? Is repetition necessary? Carey's search for answers to these questions yields a wealth of strategies that make learning more a part of our everyday lives - and less of a chore. In How We Learn, Benedict Carey shows us how to exploit its quirks to our advantage.

©2014 Benedict Carey (P)2014 Random House Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (412 )
5 star
 (229)
4 star
 (120)
3 star
 (52)
2 star
 (7)
1 star
 (4)
Overall
4.3 (340 )
5 star
 (188)
4 star
 (91)
3 star
 (50)
2 star
 (11)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.4 (343 )
5 star
 (193)
4 star
 (105)
3 star
 (37)
2 star
 (7)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    NH Mama 05-05-16
    NH Mama 05-05-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Mostly how we "remember", not how we "learn""

    This was a fascinating book. Nicely laid out with complex cognitive systems described clearly. My only issue was that the book is slightly mischaracterized to be about "learning" when most of it is on memory and recall. The author does touch on deeper levels of learning- application, synthesis and making connections. I would have liked more here. Still a really great listen.

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mercedes Quilmes, Argentina 01-16-15
    Mercedes Quilmes, Argentina 01-16-15 Member Since 2014

    Graphic designer and University professor. I love comics and to be always learning something new!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    48
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    140
    45
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "really well documented and powerful book!"
    Would you listen to How We Learn again? Why?

    No, because it's informative, I did take notes though! great studying tips!


    What other book might you compare How We Learn to and why?

    There a lot of books talking about how the brain works... this one FOCUS on studying and remembering and quotes/explains a lot of past experiments


    Did the narration match the pace of the story?

    Yes, although it got kind of tedious for some moments


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    nop, but it did surprise me some points!


    Any additional comments?

    EXCELLENT RESEARCH

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Samori New Orleans, La, United States 06-09-15
    Samori New Orleans, La, United States 06-09-15 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    64
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "Good"

    Make it stick is better in my opinion. There were great stories and examples though. Must read for parents and educators.

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Charles Winchester, KY, United States 12-26-14
    Charles Winchester, KY, United States 12-26-14 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    41
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Interesting & Evidence Supported Perspectives"

    Benedict Carey offers some interesting insights of the learning process in some non-traditional but evidence supported methods. Even though I have studied learning and educational psychology some, I was not familiar with some of the research Carey offered. Some of the insights helped me to understand a few of the observations I had made in my professional degree program students over the years. Indeed, some of this content will be woven into recommendations for future courses. I rated everything as a 4-star for this book because of tending to be stingy with 5s. If available, 4.5s would have been perfect. If you are an educator at the secondary level or higher, I recommend this book. It could change the way you do things or the evidence presented therein could prove to be the impetus behind your own creative strategies for your students or even adult learners.

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Donna Milliron Northern California 02-07-15
    Donna Milliron Northern California 02-07-15 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    48
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good information"

    Easy listening, great info and insights. So many of my beliefs were wrong about the best way to learn. Enlightening read,

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    J S 01-10-15
    J S 01-10-15

    I love to learn!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A must read for every educator!!!"

    Write in laymen's terms this book really simplifies brain theory and gives you practical ways to apply what you have learned. A great investment that will pay dividends for years to come.

    5 of 6 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jeremiah Davis Newberg, OR USA 05-01-17
    Jeremiah Davis Newberg, OR USA 05-01-17 Member Since 2014

    explotdavis

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great book"

    This book is good for learning more about yourself, as well as learning more about others. It's a must read for any teacher.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer Orange Park, FL United States 02-16-17
    Amazon Customer Orange Park, FL United States 02-16-17 Member Since 2016

    robersondd

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Should be required for every curriculum."

    This content should be incorporated into every curriculum and any educator, or self educator, who doesn't include it is cheating their students.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Austin Hinz Madison 12-30-16
    Austin Hinz Madison 12-30-16 Member Since 2014

    I like audiobooks.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    37
    35
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Interesting"
    Any additional comments?

    An enjoyable account of brain science meets education research. Might be a good, light read if this is your cup of tea.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Robert-Jan 10-18-16
    Robert-Jan 10-18-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Sooner or later..."

    Wish I had known this earlier! Though it's so counterintuitive that I doubt wherther I would have taken to the advice. I hope that my students will take this advice to heart.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.