Regular price: $17.99

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Find the dead a King? Tick. Save himself from a fate worse than death? Tick. Win the love of his life? Tick. Live happily ever after…ah.

Having achived so much, Marius don Hellespont was finding life just a little boring. But now something, or maybe someone, has stopped the dead from, well, dying.

So wouldn’t you know it, it’s up to Marius, incorrigible sidekick Gerd, and Gerd’s not-dead-enough Granny, to journey across the continent and put the marching dead back in the afterlife, where they belong.

©2013 Lee Battersby (P)2013 Brilliance Audio, Inc.

Critic Reviews

"Great characters, story, pace, writing." (British Fantasy Society)
"Wry, absurdist, and pleasantly cynical, Battersby’s [novel] will appeal to fans of Scott Lynch’s The Lies of Locke Lamora and Terry Pratchett’s Going Postal." - (Publishers Weekly)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.8 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.2 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • CeNedra Red
  • 10-16-17

LOL!!!

I was pleasantly surprised by this book and the first book "The Corpse-Rat King", in this duology. I spent most of the time having to rewind, as I was laughing so much I couldn't hear what was going on. This is a laugh out loud sort of story, with a great deal of chuckling in between. Michael Page is a fantastic narrator, and adds to the overall enjoyment of the two books by Lee Battersby If you are easily offended by strong language, go listen to something else. But if you want a good story that's a lot of fun, I recommend this and "The Corpse-Rat King" very highly.