Regular price: $19.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Rosalind lived for the hunt. Now she might die for it.

Rosalind's mission is simple: hunt demons and mages. As a member of the Brotherhood, she's dedicated to protecting the world from dark magic. Someone's got to stop the supernatural bloodlust - plus, hunting's a hell of a lot more exciting than her computer science classes.

Everything's going to plan until she meets Caine, a mage in league with the demons. He's scary as hell and just as sexy. Worse, he's brought her a warning: rumors are spreading that Rosalind is a mage, too.

Now, the Hunters have chosen their next target - and it's her.

While she works to prove her innocence, Rosalind must form an uneasy alliance with Caine. But the Brotherhood are closing in. If she can't figure out who to trust, and fast, she'll be exiled to the realm of the very demons she once hunted.

The first book in The Vampire's Mage series, perfect for fans of Ilona Andrews, Karen Marie Moning, and fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

©2016 C.N. Crawford. (P)2016 Audible, Inc.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    114
  • 4 Stars
    83
  • 3 Stars
    50
  • 2 Stars
    22
  • 1 Stars
    14

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    115
  • 4 Stars
    61
  • 3 Stars
    30
  • 2 Stars
    20
  • 1 Stars
    23

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    105
  • 4 Stars
    68
  • 3 Stars
    46
  • 2 Stars
    16
  • 1 Stars
    13
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great story if you can overlook the narrator

Really enjoyed this book, Rosiland takes a little getting used to but I think it was a bit the narrator's voice and her tendency to be a space cadet at certain times. Different take on vampires and demons..with the way it's written I was a little unsure if vampires and demons were considered the same or just under the same night god. Loved Caine, Tammy and Aurora-all the side kicks were fun and I'm hoping to see more of Malphus in the next book. The narrator's voice just grated on my nerves. She did a great job with the male character voices but she ends her sentences with a little sigh type sound that..uggg...nails on a chalk board.
Happy Reading.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

awesome!

I read the book before I got the audio book. Loved it! Can't wait to read the next one.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Speed of performer is rushed---distracting

Honestly,I could not get past chapter 1 in audible. The speed of the performer seemed enhanced, and the speed and expressions at the end of the sentences were strange. It sounded like a slow reader had been sped up. 75 sounded better but was too slow. Not sure what happened here.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

I don't know anymore

Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

I started the book hoping for a kick ass heroine and a big world filled with interesting characters but everything was damned to hell at 20% of the book. I can’t figure out if there was even a plot at the 60% mark of the book.

Has Magic Hunter turned you off from other books in this genre?

I hope not. This is the first terrible plot I read so far.

What does Laurel Schroeder bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

She's a good narrator. She does well on other gender's voices. She gave life to the characters.

Could you see Magic Hunter being made into a movie or a TV series? Who should the stars be?

Hope not............

Any additional comments?


There isn’t much build-up on the world. On the first 10 mins of the audiobook, the story is already at a point where all demons are bad blah blah and what not. The book expects us think demons/vamps are bad because Rosline thinks and hears so.

The only redeeming factor of this book is Caine. He is smart, funny and sarcastic at times. However, everything is ruined with Rosline’s horrible thoughts and comments. It felt as if I were in the head of a 12 year old girl.

Rosline is part of the brotherhood which practises aren’t so moral. Rosline is basically lied to her entire life on how the brotherhood is “good” and is the saviour of mankind blah blah. When she is hunted by them, she learns the truth on the bad practises of the brotherhood.

The first 60% of the book is basically like this:
“Oh my soul belongs to the brotherhood even though I am what they hate! I must return to them to see if they can forgive me for being a witch! Caine is so nice to me but he is a demon so I must hate him! Oh wait I must be nice to him……Ah but he is a demon so yes I must tell him that he is immoral!” – this is where I stopped giving a f---k. Too much whining and meandering thoughts.

Even faced with all the truth and facts, she still wants to return to the brotherhood expecting unicorns to rain from the sky; and that they will accept her back. I lost count how many times Caine and the other characters have pointed it out to Rosline of the consequences of returning to brotherhood. Stop making the readers go through this insanity!

90% of the good moments are ruined by the mean and nasty words form her mouth.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

an amazing book

it was a good book I enjoyed every minute of it I only wish it was longer

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Sounds like it is being read 1 line at a time

I have only been listening for a few minutes and I am annoyed at how the narrator sounds. She sounds like she is reading one sentence at a time. While she has a nice voice and attempts to add inflection it still sounds like she is unable to tie everything into a story. I hope hoping that the story is worth having to be read at instead of being told a tale.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good start to a series

Interesting start to a new series. A demon hunter finds out two souls inhabit her body, hers and a magical being whose talent is kept at bay. The one time demon hunter learns some hard truths about herself, the group she worked for, and reality. The story contains multiple fight scenes but most are emotionally driven which leads to concerns over the danger the protagonist keeps placing herself and others in.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Magic Hunter

I loved it. A new take on hunters , demons, vamps & magic. It is well written, keeps you involved & the characters are well defined.

The Narrator does a great job with use of different voices for each character. A fabulous job all the way around!

I'll definitely look for the next book & for more works with this narrator.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Liked it

I liked it. The story wasn't too slow and just enough action. The narrator was clear and I loved the accents.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love the story, hate the narrator!

This is a great story and I will be buying the next installment in book form. The narrator has a weird lilt at the end of each sentence that I can not stand. Trying f SO hard to finish the book because the story is worth it but will not by anything narrated by this person again!

Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Book addict
  • Book addict
  • 10-24-17

Huge disappointment

I listened to Agent of Enchantment that this author wrote with Alex Rivers and really enjoyed it so was excited to give this book a go. Bad choice!

From the sample the narration sounds fine, but in reality it was dreadful. Flat performance that took away the emotion or excitement, and I just imagined a slightly depressed narrator sitting in an audio booth reading the story as if she just needed to get though it to get the next paycheque and one day she might have a job she enjoys. Whilst listening to a book - especially a paranormal one like this which should be exciting and full of action and relationships - your brain should not be able to drift that far away from the plot. Destroyed the book!

That being said, the book itself wasn’t great either! Rosalind is a very unlikeable lead. She’s completely deluded about her own abilities without ever having achieved/done anything to prove she has any skills at any point in her life. She blindly follows the brotherhood, and I know you’re supposed to think she’s been brainwashed from a young age but she just comes across weak, pathetic and unable to have a thought for herself despite evidence around her. There’s sooooo many better paranormal/kickass female lead books out there.

The relationship between her and Caine was flat too whereas it should have been sparking and fiery (in a love/hate conflicted way). But no, just blahhhh.

Think the revelations and story between her and Josiah would have been more interesting if there relationship had come across AT ALL. If the rest was flat, this was a whole new level.

Don’t know how this is the same author as Agent of Enchantment?! I can only assume that a couple more years of writing experience under their belt, Alex Rivers as the co-author, and a much better narrator made all the difference. This book, however, was an epic fail.

Forced myself to listen to the whole book as I wanted to give the author a chance, but no, I just wasted part of my life instead. Getting a refund!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for John
  • John
  • 03-10-17

Good. Demons

Good story, a bit jumpy in places, but it is read well, andI the difference. In the Demons was good.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful