We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Hope and Red Audiobook

Hope and Red

Regular Price:$23.86
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

In a fracturing empire spread across savage seas, two people find a common cause.

Hope, the lone survivor of a village massacred by the emperor's forces, is secretly trained as a warrior and instrument of vengeance.

Red, an orphan adopted by a notorious matriarch of the criminal underworld, learns to be an expert thief and con artist. Together they will take down an empire.

Perfect for fans of Brent Weeks, Brandon Sanderson and Peter V. Brett, Hope and Red is destined to be the next fantasy blockbuster.

©2016 Jon Skovron (P)2016 Little Brown Book Group

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (2 )
5 star
 (0)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.0 (2 )
5 star
 (0)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.5 (2 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance


There are no reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • kaisersoze
    UK
    4/21/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awesome! "

    A guy turns himself into a chick... Mental! Loved it from start to finish. Some really dark and really funny parts.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Gareth J. Brake
    London, UK
    3/7/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    ""Sotted"! "

    Really enjoyed this book. Story, characters, world are all good. Narration was good. 100% recommend.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Fiona Potter
    essex, england
    1/26/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Brilliant"

    Really good story line, gripping, strange but we'll worth a listen. If your thinking about getting it I would say go for it well worth the money.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Rosemary
    1/20/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great"

    I really enjoyed this book. I thought the story was great, and can not wait for the second book! If you liked game of thrones I think you would like this story.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Robin300378
    12/10/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Looking forward to the next one!"

    There are parallels to be made in this book to "The Lies of Locke Lamora". Less funny and slightly more political, the scene is very similar and the main characters also very similar.

    This was right up my avenue as far as books are concerned and I was not disappointed at all. I don't remember the prose being particularly stand out but it was all about the characters and the development was good. Enough back story to have a good sense of purpose for the two main characters, not so much that the books strays off course.

    There is always something endearing about the lovable thief in any book and this one was no exception. Some very good peripheral characters completed a well rounded, good romp of a book.

    Never a big fan of the author narrating but I though Skovren did an excellent job. The most disappointing thing was to find that there was not a sequel.

    Looking forward to the next one

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • R. Maines
    11/20/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Cheesey"

    Thoughts when reading this book:

    Stilted dialogue.

    Cheesey revenge plot

    Villain so evil I'm surprised he doesn't laugh all the time.

    Narration was ok.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Karoline
    10/31/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Intelligent escapism"

    Cool and catchy fantasy book for adult readers. Enjoyable language, perfectly narrated. looking forward to the next installment.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Mr. M. G. Helliwell
    surrey, england
    10/27/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "OK, not brilliant"

    First the good points. Some of the twists and turns of the plot are original; the supporting cast it pretty well drawn, particularly Sadie and Nettles; the narration is generally pretty good, which is a pleasant surprise given that it was narrated by the author.

    The bad points:
    The voices aren't very good. They are unconvincing and seem have come with a cheesy American accent, which doesn't exist when reading the non-dialogue parts.

    A big part of the plot is the usual fantasy affair of someone ordinary finding they have world class skills in something. In this case, it was two people. The Hope character seems to have become an unbeatable swords-woman after only 8 years training in the evening so her skills are less than convincing.

    Of the two main characters (Hope and Red), Red is ok, Hope is irritating and their relationship is sufficiently badly written to make me cringe.

    The plot generally roles along at a reasonable pace apart from the chase-the-baddy section at the end which gets dragged out for far too long.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • David Stephens
    10/13/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Easy listening"

    Good story. Keeps your attention. Slightly predictable but good entertainment.
    I didn't like the narrators voice at first but I got used to it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Chris
    Leeds, United Kingdom
    10/11/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent Writing and Narration"
    Any additional comments?

    Loved this Audio book. Superb dialogue and storyline. I can't wait for the sequel. When I first heard the narration I was a bit dubious, not a big fan of American narration but Jon Skovron is excellent bringing a real depth to the narration of his own book. More please!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.