Regular price: $23.86

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

In a fracturing empire spread across savage seas, two people find a common cause.

Hope, the lone survivor of a village massacred by the emperor's forces, is secretly trained as a warrior and instrument of vengeance.

Red, an orphan adopted by a notorious matriarch of the criminal underworld, learns to be an expert thief and con artist. Together they will take down an empire.

Perfect for fans of Brent Weeks, Brandon Sanderson and Peter V. Brett, Hope and Red is destined to be the next fantasy blockbuster.

©2016 Jon Skovron (P)2016 Little Brown Book Group

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • mr jd barnes
  • 09-22-17

Employ a professional voice artist.

One of the few books I've given up on. Surely someone better placed in the production process must have realised that Skovron isn't doing his own book any favours.

No idea about story/characters etc as I couldn't stand the drawl long enough to be interested.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • kaisersoze
  • 04-21-17

Awesome!

A guy turns himself into a chick... Mental! Loved it from start to finish. Some really dark and really funny parts.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Gareth J. Brake
  • 03-07-17

"Sotted"!

Really enjoyed this book. Story, characters, world are all good. Narration was good. 100% recommend.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Fiona Potter
  • 01-26-17

Brilliant

Really good story line, gripping, strange but we'll worth a listen. If your thinking about getting it I would say go for it well worth the money.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Anonymous User
  • 01-20-17

Great

I really enjoyed this book. I thought the story was great, and can not wait for the second book! If you liked game of thrones I think you would like this story.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Robin300378
  • 12-10-16

Looking forward to the next one!

There are parallels to be made in this book to "The Lies of Locke Lamora". Less funny and slightly more political, the scene is very similar and the main characters also very similar.

This was right up my avenue as far as books are concerned and I was not disappointed at all. I don't remember the prose being particularly stand out but it was all about the characters and the development was good. Enough back story to have a good sense of purpose for the two main characters, not so much that the books strays off course.

There is always something endearing about the lovable thief in any book and this one was no exception. Some very good peripheral characters completed a well rounded, good romp of a book.

Never a big fan of the author narrating but I though Skovren did an excellent job. The most disappointing thing was to find that there was not a sequel.

Looking forward to the next one

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • R. Maines
  • 11-20-16

Cheesey

Thoughts when reading this book:

Stilted dialogue.

Cheesey revenge plot

Villain so evil I'm surprised he doesn't laugh all the time.

Narration was ok.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Karoline
  • 10-31-16

Intelligent escapism

Cool and catchy fantasy book for adult readers. Enjoyable language, perfectly narrated. looking forward to the next installment.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Mr. M. G. Helliwell
  • 10-27-16

OK, not brilliant

First the good points. Some of the twists and turns of the plot are original; the supporting cast it pretty well drawn, particularly Sadie and Nettles; the narration is generally pretty good, which is a pleasant surprise given that it was narrated by the author.

The bad points:
The voices aren't very good. They are unconvincing and seem have come with a cheesy American accent, which doesn't exist when reading the non-dialogue parts.

A big part of the plot is the usual fantasy affair of someone ordinary finding they have world class skills in something. In this case, it was two people. The Hope character seems to have become an unbeatable swords-woman after only 8 years training in the evening so her skills are less than convincing.

Of the two main characters (Hope and Red), Red is ok, Hope is irritating and their relationship is sufficiently badly written to make me cringe.

The plot generally roles along at a reasonable pace apart from the chase-the-baddy section at the end which gets dragged out for far too long.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • David Stephens
  • 10-13-16

Easy listening

Good story. Keeps your attention. Slightly predictable but good entertainment.
I didn't like the narrators voice at first but I got used to it.