We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
A Dance with Dragons Audiobook

A Dance with Dragons: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book 5

Regular Price:$49.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.

In the aftermath of a colossal battle, the future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance once again - beset by newly emerging threats from every direction. In the east, Daenerys Targaryen, the last scion of House Targaryen, rules with her three dragons as queen of a city built on dust and death. But Daenerys has three times 3,000 enemies, and many have set out to find her. Yet, as they gather, one young man embarks upon his own quest for the queen, with an entirely different goal in mind.

To the north lies the mammoth Wall of ice and stone - a structure only as strong as those guarding it. There, Jon Snow, 998th Lord Commander of the Nights Watch, will face his greatest challenge yet. For he has powerful foes not only within the Watch but also beyond, in the land of the creatures of ice.

And from all corners, bitter conflicts soon reignite, intimate betrayals are perpetrated, and a grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves, will face seemingly insurmountable obstacles. Some will fail, others will grow in the strength of darkness. But in a time of rising restlessness, the tides of destiny and politics will lead inevitably to the greatest dance of all.

Enchanted? Check out the rest of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series.

©2011 George R.R. Martin (P)2011 Random House

What the Critics Say

"Martin has produced--is producing, since the series isn't over--the great fantasy epic of our era. ... his skill as a crafter of narrative exceeds that of almost any literary novelist writing today." (Lev Grossman, Time)

"Martin's love for sophisticated, deeply strange fantasy permeates Dance like a phantasmagorical fever dream…Martin seems poised in the last two books to bring home one of the best series in the history of fantasy." (Jeff Vandermeer, Los Angeles Times)

"Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire will surely think the wait was worth it. ... The great attraction of the story must lie in its panorama of a medieval kingdom: knights in armor, mercenary ‘sellswords,' tavern wenches, struggling and surviving inhabitants in all forms, from low to high." (Tom Shippey, Wall Street Journal)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.6 (31807 )
5 star
 (22229)
4 star
 (6683)
3 star
 (2047)
2 star
 (503)
1 star
 (345)
Overall
4.6 (28237 )
5 star
 (20493)
4 star
 (5247)
3 star
 (1811)
2 star
 (437)
1 star
 (249)
Story
4.4 (28237 )
5 star
 (18340)
4 star
 (5863)
3 star
 (2672)
2 star
 (784)
1 star
 (578)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Benjamin Rottinghaus 12-15-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a "

    hakdkdnxh ksndn jskdkd jskdkd disks jdnjd the same time . I am a beautiful person

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Travis 12-10-15
    Travis 12-10-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "very good"

    seems like the voices and accents of the same characters keep changing. that's the only reason Roy Dotrice didn't get 5 stars from me. otherwise both the performance and the story were excellent.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sally J. Jones 12-08-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    25
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fascinates at times confuses at others..."

    I enjoyed listening to Roy Dotrice when he narrated and spoke for men and boys, not so much when he spoke for women or girls. His changes of accent and ways of speaking very good though not always consistent to each character across the 5 volumes. Still I became a fan and will look forward to listening to him again.
    This was my first foray into fantasy. I enjoyed it more than I expected, though I will probably not pursue it again. Too violent for my tastes. I did enjoy the romantic bits and the fantastical creatures and their cultures. I'm curious to see the HBO characterization of a few of the main characters.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jeff 12-07-15
    Jeff 12-07-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    32
    10
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "everyone sounds Celtic"

    Enjoyed the story always have don't like the reader terrible choices of accents, how Danerys can sound like a 60 yo Irish woman is very off putting

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ken Boheim 12-04-15
    Ken Boheim 12-04-15 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Haven't had so much fun listening to a book since Harry Potter."

    Haven't had so much fun listening to a book (all five) since Harry Potter. Exciting. Well narrated by Doltrice. Easy to follow. Fun to listen and watch series at same time. Looking forward to Book 6!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kathy 12-02-15
    Kathy 12-02-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    28
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Read it again!"

    I thoroughly enjoyed listening to a Dance with Dragons after reading the book! It was even more exciting!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    J. Tuckett 11-24-15
    J. Tuckett 11-24-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I GIVE UP!!!!"
    Where does A Dance with Dragons rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    I've listened to SO many audiobooks, and I can honestly say that this is the only one that has ruined the book itself.


    How could the performance have been better?

    Okay. I tolerated Roy Dotrice's narration throughout this entire series. I know a lot of people think he's great, and even petitioned to replace another narrator's work with Dotrice's for the previous book. I know that, and I tried to deal with it. I thought I was the only one who didn't like Dotrice's take, and I realize that narrating 40-hour books with a zillion characters isn't easy.

    I suffered through Tywin Lannister as a really bad Winston Churchill impression; brothers and sisters with completely different accents, even though they were raised together; highborn characters with inexplicable raw cockney accents; every character, male or female, who has ever sailed a ship sounding like a pirate with a throat full of gravel, "Brienne" as "BrY-EEN," and on and on.

    But no. Just... NO. I'm done, and I'll bet you all know why, too:

    Daenerys Stormborn of the House Targaryen, the First of Her Name, the Unburnt, Queen of Meereen, Queen of the Andals and the Rhoynar and the First Men, Khaleesi of the Great Grass Sea, Breaker of Chains, and Mother of Dragons is

    NOT A F*CKING LEPRECHAUN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Goddammit, y'all. I don't think I can make it through this whole book. Send help.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    I have no idea. I'm too irritated by the narration.


    Any additional comments?

    Anyone know any voice actors? They could read the books and put them on SoundCloud or YouTube.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mandy Charlotte 11-21-15
    Mandy Charlotte 11-21-15 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    24
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing"

    Everybody knows these are amazing!!!! PERIOD a must read if you haven't already get it now

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 11-20-15 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Couldn't stop listening"

    Does not disappoint. very interesting read. can't stop listening very good to hear blah blah

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    artfulsoul06 11-18-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    26
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Talk about cliff hanger!"

    Just waiting for the conclusion now! Hope it comes soon. Some of the character voices were a little off, but another great narration of a captivating tale.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.