Regular price: $49.00

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.

In the aftermath of a colossal battle, the future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance once again - beset by newly emerging threats from every direction. In the east, Daenerys Targaryen, the last scion of House Targaryen, rules with her three dragons as queen of a city built on dust and death. But Daenerys has three times 3,000 enemies, and many have set out to find her. Yet, as they gather, one young man embarks upon his own quest for the queen, with an entirely different goal in mind.

To the north lies the mammoth Wall of ice and stone - a structure only as strong as those guarding it. There, Jon Snow, 998th Lord Commander of the Nights Watch, will face his greatest challenge yet. For he has powerful foes not only within the Watch but also beyond, in the land of the creatures of ice.

And from all corners, bitter conflicts soon reignite, intimate betrayals are perpetrated, and a grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves, will face seemingly insurmountable obstacles. Some will fail, others will grow in the strength of darkness. But in a time of rising restlessness, the tides of destiny and politics will lead inevitably to the greatest dance of all.

Enchanted? Check out the rest of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series.
©2011 George R.R. Martin (P)2011 Random House

Critic Reviews

"Martin has produced--is producing, since the series isn't over--the great fantasy epic of our era. ... his skill as a crafter of narrative exceeds that of almost any literary novelist writing today." (Lev Grossman, Time)
"Martin's love for sophisticated, deeply strange fantasy permeates Dance like a phantasmagorical fever dream…Martin seems poised in the last two books to bring home one of the best series in the history of fantasy." (Jeff Vandermeer, Los Angeles Times)
"Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire will surely think the wait was worth it. ... The great attraction of the story must lie in its panorama of a medieval kingdom: knights in armor, mercenary ‘sellswords,' tavern wenches, struggling and surviving inhabitants in all forms, from low to high." (Tom Shippey, Wall Street Journal)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    25,539
  • 4 Stars
    7,197
  • 3 Stars
    2,195
  • 2 Stars
    531
  • 1 Stars
    365

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    21,075
  • 4 Stars
    6,421
  • 3 Stars
    2,896
  • 2 Stars
    860
  • 1 Stars
    628

Story

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    23,545
  • 4 Stars
    5,667
  • 3 Stars
    1,934
  • 2 Stars
    466
  • 1 Stars
    257
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Outstanding

I loved it I can't wait until the next book in the series comes out

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

one step forward one back

this was not as good of story as the others but filled in a few gaps, then made more looking forward to the next

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Why all the hate????

While I agree with some A Dance With Dragons is long and some of the POV chapters could have been cut, it is still a very good book.

Roy Dotrice is a good narrator one of the best to be honest, and while he did change some of the voices I do not blame him, I do not like any of Dany's chapters because she is a fucking idiot!

If you like the series you will like this one regardless of a few changed voices😐

For all the people who have a problem with it, I would love to see any of you do better!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

I love this series

Have been a fan since the beginning, have read all the titles multiple times, and now listen to the books read on long car rides, Roy Dotrice is now the voice I hear in my head when I read these chapters. I weep at the ending only because the story will not continue until the next book comes out and I have no idea when that will be. 😞 Nonetheless, George R.R. Martin is a master.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Tim
  • Ashfield, Australia
  • 09-01-16

The best one yet!

In the previous audiobooks in this series, the narrator (Roy Dotrice) was easily the worst part of the production. It wasn't just that his chosen accents and pronunciations clashes with what many have become accustomed to in the HBO adaption, but they frequently clashed horribly with descriptions given in the books (going so far as to be weirdly racist, with his Missande voice in Storm of Swords). But this book was different. Perhaps it's because, when this was recorded, there was some of the HBO series to make reference to, but Dotrice's accents are far more consistent and appropriately track some cultural differences in the story (instead of everyone having the same odd British lilt), and I didn't notice a single instance where he botched the pronunciation of someone's name.

Perhaps this is due to influences from the show, perhaps it merely reflects Dotrice's ever-expanding familiarity with the texts, but this was a joy to listen to, start to finish, and it leaves me expecting good things for when he inevitably narrates The Winds of Winter after it is released.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Still issues with the voices...

Once again the reader changed several voices. Frustrating. Excellent reader, just not very attentive to staying true to his own characters.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Long but good

This book follows all the other books it long and drawn out but it's very well done.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

performance change

Good book. I didn't like the new voice changes of Roy from the past books.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Amy
  • DeSoto, TX, United States
  • 08-26-16

Can't wait for the next one!

I am trying to wait for the new one but I'm losing patience. I have read all of the books in the series at least 4 times. Come on George!!!!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Not the best narrator

He clearly can't remember how he did voices or pronounced words from boom to book. He even says things totally wrong now and then and no one picked up on it. Brienne is not pronounced Brian!