Regular price: $49.00

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.

In the aftermath of a colossal battle, the future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance once again - beset by newly emerging threats from every direction. In the east, Daenerys Targaryen, the last scion of House Targaryen, rules with her three dragons as queen of a city built on dust and death. But Daenerys has three times 3,000 enemies, and many have set out to find her. Yet, as they gather, one young man embarks upon his own quest for the queen, with an entirely different goal in mind.

To the north lies the mammoth Wall of ice and stone - a structure only as strong as those guarding it. There, Jon Snow, 998th Lord Commander of the Nights Watch, will face his greatest challenge yet. For he has powerful foes not only within the Watch but also beyond, in the land of the creatures of ice.

And from all corners, bitter conflicts soon reignite, intimate betrayals are perpetrated, and a grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves, will face seemingly insurmountable obstacles. Some will fail, others will grow in the strength of darkness. But in a time of rising restlessness, the tides of destiny and politics will lead inevitably to the greatest dance of all.

Enchanted? Check out the rest of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series.
©2011 George R.R. Martin (P)2011 Random House

Critic Reviews

"Martin has produced--is producing, since the series isn't over--the great fantasy epic of our era. ... his skill as a crafter of narrative exceeds that of almost any literary novelist writing today." (Lev Grossman, Time)
"Martin's love for sophisticated, deeply strange fantasy permeates Dance like a phantasmagorical fever dream…Martin seems poised in the last two books to bring home one of the best series in the history of fantasy." (Jeff Vandermeer, Los Angeles Times)
"Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire will surely think the wait was worth it. ... The great attraction of the story must lie in its panorama of a medieval kingdom: knights in armor, mercenary ‘sellswords,' tavern wenches, struggling and surviving inhabitants in all forms, from low to high." (Tom Shippey, Wall Street Journal)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    25,017
  • 4 Stars
    7,109
  • 3 Stars
    2,170
  • 2 Stars
    527
  • 1 Stars
    364

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    20,636
  • 4 Stars
    6,336
  • 3 Stars
    2,859
  • 2 Stars
    850
  • 1 Stars
    622

Story

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    23,076
  • 4 Stars
    5,593
  • 3 Stars
    1,908
  • 2 Stars
    461
  • 1 Stars
    255
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Long but good

This book follows all the other books it long and drawn out but it's very well done.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

performance change

Good book. I didn't like the new voice changes of Roy from the past books.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Amy
  • DeSoto, TX, United States
  • 08-26-16

Can't wait for the next one!

I am trying to wait for the new one but I'm losing patience. I have read all of the books in the series at least 4 times. Come on George!!!!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Not the best narrator

He clearly can't remember how he did voices or pronounced words from boom to book. He even says things totally wrong now and then and no one picked up on it. Brienne is not pronounced Brian!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Roy Dotrice

What's with continuity on the character voices? Melisandre, Dany, Cersei, Arya. The only character I'd wish he'd switch up is Davos.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

The Long Night

An entertaining way to reread one of the more difficult books to get through in the series, while we wait for The Winds of Winter. This was my first Audible book so I wasn't sure what to expect. I have to admit I wasn't too crazy for the narrator at first. Some of his voices were silly but in the end it really fits this saga. This book has a lot of names that are difficult to provide and keep track of but hearing it spoken helped. Overall it was enjoyable and I'm looking forward to going back and listening to the previous novels soon.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

DOTRICE IS INSUFFERABLE!

The story is great, but you know that. It's book five after all. The narration, however, is atrocious. I read the first four books, had to audio the last to finish the series (thus far). If not firmly committed to finishing, no way I could've gotten through Roy Dotrice's reading of it. He does two voices: gruff, gravel voiced man (for the Knights) and the lucky charms leprechaun (for everyone else). The stodgy accent is irritating. He's just terrible. If you can, go read the book. Never abuse your ears in this way.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • AD
  • 08-15-16

Narrator could've been consistent

It's a bit frustrating, and confusing, when the narrator changes how a name is pronounced.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

turn the speed up a bit.

great story, lots of wasted words on food. better that the tv show. :-) :-)

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Gratuitous language, sex, and violence

It's a good premise. It could have been told less graphically. I cannot recommend it.