We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
A Dance with Dragons Audiobook

A Dance with Dragons: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book 5

Regular Price:$49.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.

In the aftermath of a colossal battle, the future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance once again - beset by newly emerging threats from every direction. In the east, Daenerys Targaryen, the last scion of House Targaryen, rules with her three dragons as queen of a city built on dust and death. But Daenerys has three times 3,000 enemies, and many have set out to find her. Yet, as they gather, one young man embarks upon his own quest for the queen, with an entirely different goal in mind.

To the north lies the mammoth Wall of ice and stone - a structure only as strong as those guarding it. There, Jon Snow, 998th Lord Commander of the Nights Watch, will face his greatest challenge yet. For he has powerful foes not only within the Watch but also beyond, in the land of the creatures of ice.

And from all corners, bitter conflicts soon reignite, intimate betrayals are perpetrated, and a grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves, will face seemingly insurmountable obstacles. Some will fail, others will grow in the strength of darkness. But in a time of rising restlessness, the tides of destiny and politics will lead inevitably to the greatest dance of all.

Enchanted? Check out the rest of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series.

©2011 George R.R. Martin (P)2011 Random House

What the Critics Say

"Martin has produced--is producing, since the series isn't over--the great fantasy epic of our era. ... his skill as a crafter of narrative exceeds that of almost any literary novelist writing today." (Lev Grossman, Time)

"Martin's love for sophisticated, deeply strange fantasy permeates Dance like a phantasmagorical fever dream…Martin seems poised in the last two books to bring home one of the best series in the history of fantasy." (Jeff Vandermeer, Los Angeles Times)

"Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire will surely think the wait was worth it. ... The great attraction of the story must lie in its panorama of a medieval kingdom: knights in armor, mercenary ‘sellswords,' tavern wenches, struggling and surviving inhabitants in all forms, from low to high." (Tom Shippey, Wall Street Journal)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.6 (31227 )
5 star
 (21743)
4 star
 (6618)
3 star
 (2026)
2 star
 (498)
1 star
 (342)
Overall
4.6 (27717 )
5 star
 (20059)
4 star
 (5182)
3 star
 (1798)
2 star
 (435)
1 star
 (243)
Story
4.4 (27714 )
5 star
 (17934)
4 star
 (5780)
3 star
 (2654)
2 star
 (777)
1 star
 (569)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Brandon 07-09-16
    Brandon 07-09-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "great book good reader"

    very long but well worth it. reader is great. I can't wait for the next book!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Porter 07-08-16
    Porter 07-08-16 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Roy the destroyer of imaginations"

    Roy did an ok job, my issue was how he totally butchered the voices that I have grown to love.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Donald Jordan 07-06-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    20
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    84
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "good book"

    waiting for the next one. the story slowly continues. great production. amazing voice renditions. thanks.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Bradrick 07-05-16
    Bradrick 07-05-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    1
    Overall
    "Words are wind."

    Great story and wonderful characters. but i am becoming increasingly worried that this story is growing too much in scope. there are way too many characters and loose ends to tie up in the next few books. can't wait for more.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kim 07-05-16
    Kim 07-05-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Alas, no book 6"

    Wonderful, but couldn't Dotrice have listened to his earlier readings to get the names and voices right?

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Proud Nerd New York, NY 07-05-16
    Proud Nerd New York, NY 07-05-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "ASOIAF: You cannot go wrong adding this"
    Would you consider the audio edition of A Dance with Dragons to be better than the print version?

    No and simply because it is difficult to distinguish between internal and external dialogue in the audio version. The ability to do this is crucial to the story.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Wyman Manderly! He is bold and brilliant and I have a soft spot for fat, smart men.


    Have you listened to any of Roy Dotrice’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    He has a strong speaking voice.


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    Two Hours Is Not Enough


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Clint DeLozier 07-04-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Roy Isn't Bad"

    Roy isn't as bad as everyone makes him out to be. I've listened to him twice now for all 5 books, and while it's annoying that voices and some pronunciations change in books 4 and 5, it's nothing to give horrible reviews over. Honestly, it should have been on the producer and/or publisher to review the old voices with Roy. There were several years between the recording of books 3 and 4. Anyway, great performance by Roy as always. Can't imagine not having him for TWOW, so GRRM better hurry up, or they both might die before its complete!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Consumer #42 07-01-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    32
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Invonsistent voices"

    The voice actor needs to get more voices and even more consistency. He defaults to a leprechaun voice for many of the characters like Dany. even worse done voices changes mid book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    T-dub Clyde, TX 06-27-16
    T-dub Clyde, TX 06-27-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    7
    Overall
    Story
    "audio book is a great way to experience it again!"

    Great book. So easy to get wrapped up in the story. I caught things while listening that I don't remember from reading the book.

    I thought the narrator did a fine job except on the female voices. Making Dany sound like a little old women was just so strange. I would preferred he just read her parts in his regular voice.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 06-27-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    58
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "love got"

    best book series I've ever listened to. love the narrator. can't wait for book 6

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.