We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
A Dance with Dragons Audiobook

A Dance with Dragons: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book 5

Regular Price:$49.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Dubbed the American Tolkien by Time magazine, George R. R. Martin has earned international acclaim for his monumental cycle of epic fantasy. Now the number-one New York Times best-selling author delivers the fifth book in his spellbinding landmark series - as both familiar faces and surprising new forces vie for a foothold in a fragmented empire.

In the aftermath of a colossal battle, the future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance once again - beset by newly emerging threats from every direction. In the east, Daenerys Targaryen, the last scion of House Targaryen, rules with her three dragons as queen of a city built on dust and death. But Daenerys has three times 3,000 enemies, and many have set out to find her. Yet, as they gather, one young man embarks upon his own quest for the queen, with an entirely different goal in mind.

To the north lies the mammoth Wall of ice and stone - a structure only as strong as those guarding it. There, Jon Snow, 998th Lord Commander of the Nights Watch, will face his greatest challenge yet. For he has powerful foes not only within the Watch but also beyond, in the land of the creatures of ice.

And from all corners, bitter conflicts soon reignite, intimate betrayals are perpetrated, and a grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves, will face seemingly insurmountable obstacles. Some will fail, others will grow in the strength of darkness. But in a time of rising restlessness, the tides of destiny and politics will lead inevitably to the greatest dance of all.

Enchanted? Check out the rest of George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series.

©2011 George R.R. Martin (P)2011 Random House

What the Critics Say

"Martin has produced--is producing, since the series isn't over--the great fantasy epic of our era. ... his skill as a crafter of narrative exceeds that of almost any literary novelist writing today." (Lev Grossman, Time)

"Martin's love for sophisticated, deeply strange fantasy permeates Dance like a phantasmagorical fever dream…Martin seems poised in the last two books to bring home one of the best series in the history of fantasy." (Jeff Vandermeer, Los Angeles Times)

"Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire will surely think the wait was worth it. ... The great attraction of the story must lie in its panorama of a medieval kingdom: knights in armor, mercenary ‘sellswords,' tavern wenches, struggling and surviving inhabitants in all forms, from low to high." (Tom Shippey, Wall Street Journal)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.6 (34636 )
5 star
 (24536)
4 star
 (7060)
3 star
 (2158)
2 star
 (524)
1 star
 (358)
Overall
4.6 (30805 )
5 star
 (22641)
4 star
 (5554)
3 star
 (1901)
2 star
 (456)
1 star
 (253)
Story
4.5 (30816 )
5 star
 (20247)
4 star
 (6269)
3 star
 (2845)
2 star
 (842)
1 star
 (613)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Jesse K. 01-12-17
    Jesse K. 01-12-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "this book is the best in the series"

    as the title says this is the best book in the series. It has the most action, the most thorough plot, and it's just well written. if the sixth book is written as well as this one we are in for a treat

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    TDMC MINNEAPOLIS, Mongolia 01-06-17
    TDMC MINNEAPOLIS, Mongolia 01-06-17 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    18
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "great voice for male characters, not for females"

    2 things: slow story telling in this one- very long winded and the reader can't do a female's voice to save his life. beautiful voices for men. The women sounded more like the crow that screams CORN than any actual woman.

    Going back to the first point: we love the main characters who are still alive and we don't really care to have 5-10 new main characters added. I understand you want the "punch in the gut" feeling when people are dying but there should be more happening with the main characters still alive.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ricardo 01-02-17
    Ricardo 01-02-17 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    9
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fantastic book"

    Great addition to any library. Intriguing story with great production value. Roy's interpretation of the characters is refreshing, but can be confusing to the listener. This because a handfull of characters get an accent change which make it hard to identify who is speaking.

    Other than that a great audiobook and a well deserved applause.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Suzannadanna 12-30-16 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    27
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "great story - - some mix-up with voices and name p"

    loved the story, I'm on the edge of my seat most of the time. But I did find frustrating was that Roy mispronounced names that he had pronounced another way for most of the series so far and then sometimes their voices change. It was a little hard to catch up on who exactly was talking when that happens. That being said, I realized that creating all those voices and dialects is quite a job and despite the mix-up, I love the story.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kimmera Stahlecker 12-27-16 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    18
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "G.o.t"

    I like how each character has a back story and history; an explanation for what has made them their selves.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mike C 12-26-16
    Mike C 12-26-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A great story read plainly."

    I enjoyed this book. It's greatest strength is it's characters. I also enjoy how well-developed the world is. This is one of the best fantasy book series ever written. It's a shame that the audiobooks were performed with such mediocrity. The narrator makes female characters sound like sqealing pirates. Especially Aria and Daenyrs.

    If you enjoy this series and need something to read while waiting for the next, check out some of these series: Mistborn, by Brandon Sanderson; Red Rising, by Peirce Brown; A Raven's Shadow, by Anthony Ryan; Cold Magic, by Kate Elliott.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tiz 12-25-16
    Tiz 12-25-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "playback terrible"
    This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

    play skipped a lot with long pauses between sentences. Had a little in previous book but this time it was extremely annoying


    What didn’t you like about Roy Dotrice’s performance?

    character's voices changed from previous version


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Steven Barker 12-22-16 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enthralling."

    The best work in a Song of Ice and Fire to date. cannot wait for the next one.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Zach (USA) 12-21-16
    Zach (USA) 12-21-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Leaves you dying for the winds of winter!!!"

    GRRM is an incredible author. plain and simple. The Winds of Winter can't come fast enough.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    DRogers 12-20-16
    DRogers 12-20-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Nail biting"

    Outstanding story, practically held my breath at the very end. can't wait to read the next book. Mr. Dotrice is amazing

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.