Regular price: $48.99

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

It has been 12 years since a dark, murderous figure stalked the alleys and courts of Whitechapel. And yet, in the summer of 1900, East London is still poor, still brutal, still a shadow city to its western twin. Among the reformers is an idealistic young woman named India Selwyn-Jones, recently graduated from medical school. With the help of her influential fiance - Freddie Lytton, an up-and-coming Liberal MP - she works to shut down the area's opium dens that destroy both body and soul. Her selfless activities better her patients' lives and bring her immense gratification, but unfortunately, they also bring her into direct conflict with East London's ruling crime lord - Sid Malone. India is not good for business and at first, Malone wants her out. But against all odds, India and Sid fall in love. Different in nearly every way, they share one thing in common - they're both wounded souls. Their love is impossible and they know it, yet they cling to it desperately. Lytton, India's fiance, will stop at nothing to marry India and gain her family's fortune. Fractious criminal underlings and rivals conspire against Sid. When Sid is finally betrayed by one of his own, he must flee London to save his life. Mistakenly thinking him dead, India, pregnant and desperate, marries Freddie to provide a father for hers and Sid's child. India and Sid must each make a terrible sacrifice - a sacrifice that will change them both forever. One that will lead them to other lives, and other places... and perhaps - one distant, bittersweet day - back to each other.

©2008 Jennifer Donnelly (P)2013 Recorded Books

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.7 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    338
  • 4 Stars
    98
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.7 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    328
  • 4 Stars
    79
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.7 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    314
  • 4 Stars
    86
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

The Winter Rose

Which character – as performed by Jill Tanner – was your favorite?

Jill Tanner did an outstanding narration with all the characters.

Any additional comments?

The Winter Rose is my favorite of The Rose Trilogy. I love Sid and India. You know the age old question, “If you were stuck on a desert island, what book would you choose?” I would hope I could choose 3, The Rose Trilogy. In all seriousness, these are wonderful stories, I’m an avid reader and I read these books when I just want to escape for a week or two. I now have the trilogy in audio and it was wonderful having it read to me.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

As good as its predecessor

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

I would definitely recommend this book to a friend. I first read its predecessor, The Tea Rose, just by perusing through Audible. It took me a bit to get used to it, (you can read my review about it if you want. I dont want to repeat it all again here.), but it didn't take long and I was thoroughly enjoying it. This book, I was more aware of what to expect with storyline and took to it right away. I enjoyed this one just as much as the first one.

What did you like best about this story?

I loved the storyline first of all. I cant say too much without giving it away but I loved the surprise in certain characters personalities. I enjoyed getting to know characters and at one point I was even brought to tears. It was easy to connect to the characters. I appreciated having Joe and Fiona a large presence in the book so it wasnt like they just disappeared. I also liked having Seamus and seeing where the next book will go. This was really a "middle" book. Some of the last story, lots of this story, and some of the next story. I'm so disappointed that the book is over. I'm moving back over to the "Into The Wilderness" series as I go back and forth so I can make them last a bit longer, and have just started Lake in the Clouds, but all I can do is think about getting to The Wild Rose!

Have you listened to any of Jill Tanner’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

I have only heard Jill Tanner in the Tea Rose and I enjoyed her just the same. She took a bit for me to get used to because I'm used to "softer" voices and hers is a bit husky, but it really allowed for her to have believable range for both mens and women's voices. People often complain that the narrator didnt have enough character voices but that annoys me. This is an exceptional narrator, paired with exceptional author of an exceptional series. No matter the narrator, however, its a difficult (if not impossible) task to actually be able to create a completely different voice for every single character. I read books ti my kids and struggle with it, I cant imagine doing it with a novel!! I'll look for her in future books, I'd enjoy listening to her again.

Any additional comments?

POTENTIALLY SEEN AS A SPOILER: I only have one complaint, and its a tiny one. At the end of the book, I wish we had been able to know what had happened to Sid in the time before he arrived. Maybe it will explain it in the next book.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

So Good That I Can't Find a Follow-up Book

This book has everything I love-historical fiction, adventure, intrigue, ACHINGLY good suspense (I was actually anxious at times!) love gone wrong, an awesome storyline, and no idea what will happen next. Fans of Diana Gabaldon and Joanna Bourne would love this series..

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Excellent

Kept my attention. Slow start. Tame on steam, but riveting storyline. I would recommend. I just downloaded the next book.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

I fell in love too.

I didn't think I would like the new characters but I fell in love with Sid & India. I listened to this book day & night.
A great love story.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Krisie
  • Honolulu, HI, United States
  • 05-15-15

Love love love this book!!

You ever read a book that you can't put down, can't wait to find out the ending, yet DO NOT WANT THE BOOK TO END????? This is the second book in the trilogy and I am so loving it!!!! How to explain the two books I have just read in this trilogy??? Gripping, spell binding, funny, loving, captivating....the list goes on and on!!! I love this series sooooooo much that I wish it would not end!!!!!! Never have i come across any book(s) this captivating!!!!!! Now I am on to the last book of the trilogy. I will be so sad when I am done........

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

total enjoyment of a great story!

the story and narrator fit so perfectly together. this story blended excellently with the first book Tea Rose. I'm anxious to start the next!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Loved it!

I didn't want the book to end. Many characters and so different. I can't wait to read another book from Jennifer Donnelly

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Love..

Another fantastic, well written story about live, hope, intrigue, the dark side of man & the beautiful heart. I will miss hanging out with these characters every day!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Really?

The characters keep finding each other in different countries. The story line is interesting but not believeable.

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Mrs
  • 10-23-15

Why only 2nd book in trilogy available in UK?

Any additional comments?

I thoroughly enjoyed listening to this book but imagine my dismay when I found that this was the second book of a trilogy and parts 1 & 2 are not available for download in the UK. When I emailed I was given a long and rambling explanation about publishing rights - Not good enough, Audible!!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Julia
  • 08-06-17

Predictable

Just another predictable story, half way through the book you sort of knew how it was going to end. The book is twice as long as it needed to me. I did enjoy some of the characters especially the Jewish family in Whitechapel. But we did not get to see enough of them. Too many people in too many locations. I would have preferred fewer and got to know them better.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Diane
  • 04-11-17

A real page turner!

Throughly enjoyed this book, the characters are well developed and it's easy to connect with them. There are one or two places were the story became a little predictable, but never boring! You can't help being swept along with main characters, and by the end hoping for a sequel. Throughly enjoyable read.