Regular price: $6.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A prank war erupts in Lake Sackett, Georgia, and coroner Frankie McCready has to turn to the gorgeous but surly new sheriff for help in Molly Harper's newest Southern Eclectic novella, perfect for fans of Kristan Higgins and Amy E. Reichert.

The McCready Family Funeral Home and Bait Shop has crickets running rampant in the store and hot sauce in the Snack Shack's ketchup bottles. But as the county coroner, Frankie has enough on her plate without worrying about the increasingly mean pranks being played at her family's business. And the arrival of Sheriff Eric Linden, both devastatingly attractive and painfully taciturn, is enough to push her over the edge.

Linden, who didn't seem to get the memo about men in uniform and Southern charm, is condescending and cold, revealing absolutely nothing about his past as an Atlanta police officer, while also making Frankie's job as coroner as difficult as possible. And with the town's Fourth of July celebration coming up, it's essential for McCready's to be cricket-free and in good working order. Strangling the sheriff will make her job even harder. Can Frankie hold off the threats to preserve her own sanity?

With her trademark "clever humor, snark, silliness, and endearing protagonists" (Booklist), Molly Harper invites fans to return to the family they first met in Sweet Tea and Sympathy. Y'all sit down and stay a while, won't you?

©2018 Molly Harper White (P)2018 Audible, Inc.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    225
  • 4 Stars
    95
  • 3 Stars
    44
  • 2 Stars
    16
  • 1 Stars
    16

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    310
  • 4 Stars
    57
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    203
  • 4 Stars
    85
  • 3 Stars
    50
  • 2 Stars
    22
  • 1 Stars
    16
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Just a teaser

The beginning of what might be a great book. it ends with little having happened beyond the story set up.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • K
  • 04-10-18

Great but a word of advice to those interested.

This novella is a fantastic addition to this series, but keep in mind this is meant to be the prequel to the next story which continues Frankie's' story.

If any readers/listeners are familiar with Harpers' Half Moon Hollow series, you should consider this the same as. "Big Vamp on campus" or "Fangs for the Memories".



Amanda Ronconi does a great job as always and I can't imagine anyone else doing a better job.


I greatly look forward to hearing the rest of the story in the coming months.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • ashley
  • Atwood, KS, United States
  • 04-23-18

Unfinished

Let me start by saying that I love Molly Harper. I own every book she has written; the snark and sass are brilliant.

That being said, I felt like this was a cop-out. The set up to the story is great, but it is completely unfinished. It literally stops mid story. It makes me wonder if she couldn't get the whole thing written by the deadline and they just said, "we'll publish what we have and make the readers buy the second half of the story."

I am sincerely hoping that this trend doesn't continue. I also felt let down by Save a Truck, and Fangs for the Memories. Both were great, but were only the first half of the story. Save a Truck ended so abruptly that it was incredibly unsatisfying, which is not a sentiment I associate with Molly Harper.

Molly, I love your books, but please don't give us any more half stories!

Amanda Ronconi is amazing!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Where’s the end????

The book ended halfway through!!!!! Where is the rest of the book?? I love this author and Amanda Ronconi. I do not like having only part of a book!!!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Seriously! ?

A short story is fine but this didn't even finish the story. A real rip off to devoted fans.

14 of 16 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

I'm sorry but....

The book was great until the end.

Molly Harper's books are always great books to read or listen to. This book was no exception, I really enjoyed it until the end. It was almost like the book got cut off in the middle. I actually checked to make sure there hadn't been a mistake. Like maybe the full book didn't download or something, but sadly no, there was no mistake. It really just ends in the middle. I still liked it and I'll still buy the next book. But WTH.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Um, half a story with no warning

The story ends abruptly with no resolution of any of the story lines. It’s a reasonably good story, with familiar characters and good plot lines, but the fact that it stops before any kind of ending spoils it. So be warned.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

This is not a book!

It is an introduction, and had I known that I would have waited but I just love Molly Harper and I don’t read reviews about her books anymore because I have never ever been disappointed. I guess that no longer applies.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fun start

Fun read and great book. The only odd thing was the ending felt like a sudden stop that made you want more.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another great story!

I love all of Molly Harper’s books and this one is great as I expected. I wish it was longer. Looking forward to the next installment of this series.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Anna
  • 04-15-18

Not a full story

I love molly harper’s writing and her books, but this story is really only a first chapter of a ’real’ book and that should have been made clear in the description. This is not a novella in it’s real sense, and the price should have reflected that.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • I OFarrell
  • 05-21-18

Peachy

Harper’s books call to me on a level that I cannot ignore and definitely cannot deny. This particular series isn’t as long or evolved as Harper’s paranormal romances but her ability to make me laugh hasn’t dulled any. Franky is a cute character and Eric needs more story devoted to him because there’s potential in there, but the overall continuation of the story is interesting and, like I said, funny as hell. There is only one issue with the book and that is it is short. It is a novella and I expected that but it feels a little unfinished.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • S. Chancellor-Maddison
  • 05-07-18

A great story, until the abrupt ending

A great read until the story ends with various story lines left hanging. Definitely not a complete book or even novella. Hoping the rest of it gets published as part of her next book!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Kayes
  • 04-28-18

Ends halfway through!

Any additional comments?

If this was a full short story it would be fine but it’s not it just ends in the middle just as it gets going. I’ve never read a book like it and am deeply disappointed.
Will be more careful in future before buying a Molly Harper book. I don’t know what she or her publisher was thinking.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Verity
  • 04-28-18

It stops halfway through!

The story isn’t complete when this suddenly finishes. No idea why and want to know the ending!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • AMG, London
  • 04-25-18

Ended rather abruptly

How odd. The story just seemed to be getting under way, with a number of not yet resolved plot features, and then suddenly the book came to an end. Where is the rest?

Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • michela
  • 04-12-18

Two hours of drivel - what a joke

if I'd have noticed it was only two hours for the'whole' book which practically ends in the middle of a sentence, i would never have bought it. On top of that, it's absolutely rubbish.