Regular price: $24.95

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

John Thornton is facing the collapse of everything he has worked for all of his life. Through his banker, he hears about a potential business opportunity that could save the mill. He decides to investigate, even if it means traveling from home when he can least afford it.

Margaret Hale, now living in London, learns that her godfather Mr. Bell is visiting her brother Frederick in Cadiz. Bell is dying, and asking to see her before it is too late. She is determined to sail, regardless of the risk.

An accident on the docks leaves Margaret injured, and throws both together on the same ship. Thornton, resolved to protect Margaret's honor despite their painful history, claims to be her brother to keep her safe. Unfortunately, pretending to be Margaret's brother proves more difficult - and more dangerous - than he might have expected.

©2015 Terri Clark (P)2016 Terri Clark

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

John Thornton won my heart

I listened to the audio book and this story is a must read or listen to. John Thornton, who is travelling to Spain to save his mill, runs into Miss Hale who is also travelling to the same location. She is injured and travelling alone, so Mr. Thornton travels as her brother. We get to know John's mother , Hannah more thoroughly as well as Frederick (Margaret's brother) and his wife. I fell in love with the honorable, honest, strong John Thornton more than ever during this story. It was so well put together. I recommend this to anyone who loves Darcy, yes Darcy, as he is a Darcy in a later age. The narrator Ana Clements did a phenomenal job bringing the characters to life and brought out the nuances of the story with such skill. I highly recommend the audiobook and highly recommend this story to lovers of JAFF and Darcy.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

A Spicy Spanish Adventure

What did you love best about No Such Thing as Luck?

With a voyage, an accident, an exotic location, a villain, a fist-fight, a wedding, a death, a fugitive, the threat of execution, and plenty of steamy make-out sessions, NSTAL makes a fine plot for a blockbuster film. I loved that Margaret and John rediscover each other in locations foreign to them. It's adventurous with a dash of danger. I loved the flamboyant villain, Jiro. Jiro’s machinations only prove John to be the the brave and selfless knight in shining armour we know he can be, and who doesn’t swoon at that? We’re also introduced to some new characters on the voyage, and we meet Frederick and his family in Spain. Plus, there's plenty of John and Margaret makeout sessions!

How would you have changed the story to make it more enjoyable?

There can be too much of a good thing though. For me there was a bit too much kissing too early in the story. Part of the fun is the angst, so I would have preferred a slower burn.There’s also a bit too much plot. There's a lot of action, which can actually be a great thing for most readers, but I’m old-school so I prefer to explore a character's inner world a bit more.

What does Ana Clements bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

Ana Clements is an accent wizard, seamlessly transitioning from Northern to Southern, Spanish to French. She brought the right touch of tenderness and heat to John and Margaret's more intimate moments. I found her tone and rhythm relaxing. She definitely gets a thumbs up from me.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

Yes, I laughed at several places. But if you've read Nicole's books, that's to be expected. :)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Stunning Story!

What a beautiful way to spend more time with the characters I've come to know and love! A solid story that stays true to the characters created by Gaskell. I'll be revisiting this for some time to come!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great narration of this North and South variation

I had read this book on Kindle earlier and I liked it a lot. So when I got the opportunity to listen and review it I couldn't resist.

The story has interesting turn of events and I like Margaret and Mr Thornton in this version (I do like the original Margaret and Mr Thornton too). The narration is great as well.


I was voluntarily provided this free review copy audiobook by the author, narrator or publisher.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Loved it!

I really loved this historical romance! Very well written with great characters, an interesting story and fantastic narration! I highly recommend this one to anyone who enjoys historical fiction!

** A copy of this audio book was provided in exchange for an honest review**

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

No Such Thing as Luck

No Such Thing as Luck: A North and South Variation
: Nicole Clarkston


I need to say from the begining, I have not read the original book by Elizabeth Gaskell. As others have stated this is a fan fiction. I must say that it took a bit to get into this book, but once it took off it was quite enjoyable. The listener gets to experience suspense, drama, romance, travel, and much more in this historical fiction. The characters were easy to like or dislike as in the case of a few. I need to go back and read the original work.


The narration was well done. The characters were well portrayed. Ana Clements voice and accents were enjoyable.



I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Excellent Listen!!!

What did you love best about No Such Thing as Luck?

I really enjoyed listening to this book. I haven't listened to many Victorian Romances (mid 1800's) but found this one to pull me in. I thought the story was very well written and the imagery was fantastic.

Who was your favorite character and why?

John Thornton and Margaret Hale were both favorites of mine. I loved Thornton for how chivalrous and honorable he was. He was willing to sacrifice so much.

What does Ana Clements bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

Ana Clements was able to perform so many characters with distinguishable voices and accents.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

I loved the ending when Margaret met Mrs. Thornton

Any additional comments?

I was provided with this review copy audiobook at my request and voluntarily wrote this review. On a side note regarding the production of this book, I thought the breaks between chapters was too long of a pause. The first few times I even checked my device to see if it was still on. The long break does not reflect on the author or narrator, but it was annoying. I did not let it detract from the story.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

loved it

this was a fantastic story. well written. and the audio was great! I haven't listen or read any historical books in a while. I'm very happy that I stumbled across this gem.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Slow and Steady

I got this ARC via audiobook boom. This is a long story but steady in the way it is delivered. The narrator is perfect for the story and brings out the emotions throughout. I have not read or listened to North and South so have no point of reference. This story was very well developed and the interactions between Margaret and John were befitting of the time that they lived. I loved John's chivalry and the way that he cared for Margaret and her reputation. Although he loved her he was careful to ensure that she was seen at all times as a lady.I loved the interaction between John and his mother as well. This was a good story and ended well.

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Inishowen Cailin
  • 09-26-17

Great! - Recommended

I'd recommend this for fans of North and South as the story is very sympathetic to the original book. The characters felt very true to their counterparts in the original version and I could easily picture them in my mind's eye in this variation.
I felt that the narrator's performance of Mr. Thornton sounded very monotone in the beginning but I soon got used to it. I liked the subtle northern accent which was well done.
I loved the story line and I wouldn't hesitate to buy more from the author.

I voluntarily reviewed a gifted copy.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Jan
  • 09-19-17

Excellent Listen!!!

I really enjoyed listening to this book. I haven't listened to many Victorian Romances (mid 1800's) but found this one to pull me in. I thought the story was very well written.

John Thornton and Margaret Hale were two endearing characters. I loved Thornton for how chivalrous and honorable he was, and for what he was willing to sacrifice.

Regarding the narrator, Ana Clements. I was impressed with her multitude of various character voices and accents she performed. I love it when a narrator has distinguishable characters.

One of my favorite parts of the book was near the ending when Margaret and Mrs. Thorton met at White Chapel.

I was given a copy of this audiobook and selected to write my review. I will definitely look for more books by both the author and narrator.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Alison Mold
  • 10-19-16

A great story with a lovely romance

Would you listen to No Such Thing as Luck again? Why?

I would as Ana Clements narration was such a pleasure to listen to and beautifully let the story unfold.

Which scene did you most enjoy?

When Thornton protects Margaret's honour.

Any additional comments?

The narrator has really captured the feel of this book and her characters really came to life with the different tones and accents she used. It was a pleasure to listen to her and I look forward to hearing more.