Regular price: $23.44

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A gripping, provocative thriller about the twisted secrets families keep, perfect for fans of The Girls.

Beautiful.

Rich.

Mysterious.

Everyone wants to be a Roanoke girl.

But you won't when you know the truth.

Lane Roanoke is 15 when she comes to live with her grandparents and fireball cousin at the Roanoke family's rural estate following the suicide of her mother. Over one long, hot summer, Lane experiences the benefits of being one of the rich and beautiful Roanoke girls.

But what she doesn't know is being a Roanoke girl carries a terrible legacy: either the girls run, or they die. For there is darkness at the heart of Roanoke, and when Lane discovers its insidious pull, she must make her choice....

©2017 Amy Engel (P)2016 Hodder Headline Limited

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • L. russell
  • 03-23-17

Up to chapter 18 and I gave up.....

Struggled with this.
no pace to the story at all. Bimbles along at a glacial pace and I was utterly bored by probably chapter 10 but forced myself ro listen until 18 at which point I returned the book.
I bought this due to the reviews being 4.5 stars and being a fan of a thriller / mystery...this was neither really... I can hazard a very good guess as to how this tale plays out.
Well narrated. Weak plotline.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Emma
  • 03-21-17

Unexpectedly good

From reading the synopsis and some reviews online I didn't think I'd enjoy the book but felt like a change and was intrigued. I was refreshingly surprised. The narrator was excellent, after I'd got used to her Mid-west drawl. The story was pretty predictable but well written and addictive. It is a dark and sordid subject matter treated sensitively and with great insight.
Whilst it isn't in my top favourites,
I'd read more by this author.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Gemma
  • 08-23-17

Absolutely woeful

I really hate writing bad reviews of books but in this case I feel it's warranted. My issue with this title, The Roanoake Girls, isn't so much anything wrong with the audiobook but the text itself. As it's a Richard and Judy pick in the UK and it's described as fairly literary in reviews I've read, I think I was expecting something very different from what was, for me, quite trite, over done, very dramatic and a treatment of incest and family secrets which was overblown and merged into melodrama. I kept listening because I thought a huge twist was coming but one never did. I'll be returning the audiobook and listening to it rather then reading it in prose only served, for me, to highlight how ridiculous some of the passages and conversations were when heard aloud.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Melanie Preston Lewis
  • 08-08-17

Exquisite writing

Any additional comments?

First and foremost, I want to commend Brittany Pressley on her excellent and outstanding narration. I thought her tone and voices were spot on. This is my first book by Amy Engel, and it's a remarkable piece of work. The subject matter is very hard, but Ms Engel tackles it head on. There are so many layers to this book. The abuse and the problem being with the town's wealthiest, philanthropic family. There is no shying away from the devastation such abuse brings. My heart broke for The Roanoke girls, each and every one. Ms Engel's writing is wonderful, every word and sentence carefully honed for maximum impact. Despite it pouring with rain in real life, I could feel the unbearable heat of a summer in Kansas, so forceful was the description. The subject may be difficult, but this is an enjoyable book. How can you fail to get pleasure from such sensitive and genius writing? 5 stars from me.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Lanna @ Bloggers Heart Books
  • 05-28-17

Couldn't Finish It

The narration of the book was pretty good but the story was nearly boring me to tears. The pacing was really slow, I didn't feel invested at all in the characters and even when things were happening in the story it still managed to feel like nothing was happening.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Hannah
  • 04-03-17

Strong Virginia Andrews vibes

I found this a really frustrating book. Some big themes were introduced, but never more than superficially explored. No real surprises in the plot, with twist rather clunkily foreshadowed.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Pootle_around
  • 12-27-17

Waited for something to happen...

...but it never did. Waited for a twist, or an event to make the whole novel count for something, but alas. There is nothing interesting about this storyline. Characters are dull, there's tons of excessive rambling dialogue, nothing interesting ever happens and getting to the end of the book was a mixture of disappointment and relief. Refund!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • H. Edwards
  • 11-09-17

Uncomfortable excellence

This book is beautifully written and narrated. The storyline is interesting however contains subjects that may be uncomfortable for some listeners.

  • Overall
  • bryony faulkner
  • 09-13-17

enticingly sad

this book is very addictive. it's chilling, but doesn't try too hard like a cheap thriller. definitely glad I listened

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • mrs
  • 07-20-17

Amazing, well worth a listen

This book is dark and has you hooked from the start. I would highly recommend to anyone who loves dark thrillers