We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Cutting Audiobook

The Cutting: A McCabe and Savage Thriller, Book 1

Regular Price:$28.51
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

The first novel in the nationally best-selling McCabe and Savage series - perfect for fans of John Sandford and C. J. Box.

Someone is stealing the hearts of beautiful women....

Detective Mike McCabe moved from a top homicide job with the NYPD to Portland, Maine, to leave his failed marriage and suspicions of wrongdoing behind, and to find a more peaceful life for himself and his 13-year-old daughter.

But the small New England city is not nearly as safe as he thought.

On a warm September night, a missing high school athlete is found dead in a scrap-metal yard, her heart removed from her body with surgical precision. As outrage over the killing spreads, a young businesswoman disappears while out on a morning jog.

McCabe is certain both crimes are the work of one man - a murderer skilled in cardiac surgery who is using his scalpel to target young women. With the clock ticking, McCabe and his partner, Maggie Savage, find themselves in a desperate race against time to find and rescue the missing woman before she becomes the next victim of the sadistic killer's blade.

©2009 James Hayman (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (266 )
5 star
 (115)
4 star
 (107)
3 star
 (28)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (8)
Overall
4.2 (236 )
5 star
 (110)
4 star
 (83)
3 star
 (33)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (2)
Story
4.2 (237 )
5 star
 (105)
4 star
 (87)
3 star
 (29)
2 star
 (10)
1 star
 (6)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Me & My Girls 11-15-15 Member Since 2017

    Thanks and respect to the women that served and paid a high price. You are still gorgeous Shi; your scars make you even more beautiful.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1784
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3491
    578
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    74
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Okay For A First Book"

    If I was grading this book I'd give it a good solid C though in my opinion it ran a couple of hours longer than necessary. The lead detective Mike McCabe is an interesting character and his new partner Maggie Savage will take a larger role in future books if the book jackets are indicative she will. There was a large buildup for the return of McCabe's ex-wife to see their daughter, then that storyline just fizzled out. Still, this selection is promising and I will give another audio in the series a try.

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rusty 11-23-15
    Rusty 11-23-15 Member Since 2016

    Great Books Don't Promote Violence

    HELPFUL VOTES
    776
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    594
    571
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    33
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Mainely Killers"

    I might have enjoyed The Cutting if the author had spent more effort developing the main characters McCabe and Savage and less time describing the grisly murders.

    McCabe had potential to be an endearing male hero - dedicated single father & brave public servant. However he took crazy risks which a seasoned police officer would not do. Very little background about Savage was given, so she stayed McCabe's trusted partner with no personality of her own.

    I thought the murder mystery was too easy to figure out and there were no lighter moments to balance out the graphic violence. Don't care enough to get the next book of series.

    5 of 6 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ted Lancaster, PA, United States 12-01-15
    Ted Lancaster, PA, United States 12-01-15 Member Since 2010

    Don't know what I want to be when I grow up. Trip's cool though. Use Audible to make gym-training sane... And rip my imagination.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    4209
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    531
    450
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    328
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Is It The Story? Or Its Telling? Hmmmm..."

    This isn't a really clever, 0r new plot. It's filled with the sort of furniture that mystery readers expect. Uh-huh. But it's told by James Hayman so easily, you know, the way terrific golfers work around a legendary course. Sure we've seen the same holes, and even the same lies... Yet, leading pros face, then make shots that leave us appreciating every one.

    Anyway, that's what Hayman can do... And besides, just visiting one of those courses is fun. I liked "The Cutting" that way. It's a commercial performed well by Stephen Mendel. Yep, I'll look for Hayman to let Mike McCabe and Maggie Savage grow in this series.

    The guy can tell a story.

    9 of 12 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kathleen HUDSON, OH, United States 11-09-15
    Kathleen HUDSON, OH, United States 11-09-15 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    122
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    315
    26
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    15
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "What an interesting thriller!"

    James Hayman is a brand new discovery for me. I thoroughly enjoyed the first book in this series and I'm ordering the second. With these kinds of books a lot rides on whether you like the lead detectives and I most definitely did. The writing was very good. People really came to life. I don't want to get into the plot (I hate spoilers), but it certainly held my interest and kept me guessing. The setting in Maine, a beautiful state, is a bonus. I'm so happy about finding this series.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Wayne Matthews, NC 04-25-16
    Wayne Matthews, NC 04-25-16 Member Since 2017

    I am a husband/dad/granddad who loves books. My reviews are my subjective opinions. My hope is they will help others make buying decisions.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    13340
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1937
    1576
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    471
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A very different serial killer novel"

    The Cutting is Book 1 of the 4 book McCabe and Savage detective series by James Hayman. I earlier posted reviews here at Audible for Books 4 and 2. Book 2 is the best of the three books, but The Cutting is the most interesting. The novel is about young athletic people, mostly women, being kidnapped and having their hearts cut out with the skill of a surgeon while they are still alive. I'm not going to describe the cases further because it would ruin the story for the listener.

    Stephen Mendel narrates all four novels in the series. He is excellent.

    I recommend this series and look forward to listening to Book 3 which is the highest rated.

    6 of 9 people found this review helpful
  •  
    L. O. Pardue Atlanta, GA United States 02-02-16
    L. O. Pardue Atlanta, GA United States 02-02-16 Member Since 2010

    I love to read books set in interesting places or historical settings. I especially love mysteries and thrillers.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1282
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    133
    127
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    137
    16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Average Start, but Could be a Good Series"

    This is James Hayman's debut of a new police procedural series. I felt only moderate interest for the story and characters -- which I realize is not a glowing review. Yet, there was enough of a promise of good writing that I think this author will improve tremendously with some experience. I can't help but notice that the reviews get much better with following stories in this series. I will definitely give it another try -- but my expectations will be much higher.

    I feel there wasn't so much story and character development that it would be OK to go directly to book 2 and skip over the first book in the series.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    HollyColorado 07-04-17 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    27
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    68
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Took a while to get into the story"

    So so narrator. Might have liked it better with a different narrator. I like the characters and will continue the series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Feather Williams 06-08-17 Member Since 2015

    I'm addicted to Audio-books!!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    26
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    148
    63
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I've read better"

    I couldn't wait for it to be over, I struggled to get to the end. The storyline was great how ever there was a lot of discription on insignificant points of the story and not enough discription on the points that was supposed to make it a thriller. I wasn't to happy with the narration, there wasn't enough inflection between the characters

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sls 01-26-17
    Sls 01-26-17

    sls

    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    26
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Good start for series."

    Enjoyed narrator: to me, essential to enjoy any novel. Plot kept me interested even though I thought it was simplistic in nature. McCabe and Maggie need more fleshing out without dwelling on McCabe's personal life overly much. I will read book 2 hoping to find more emphasis put on developing the plot and not so much on McCabe's personal life. I have read all the Bosch books avidly and feel there was a desire in The Cutting to model the McCabe character in the same manner. A worthy model for writing; however, Bosch's personal life never took over the storyline from the first novel. Complex character studies need time and more storylines to realize character familiarity for me.

    Interesting, with enough promise to read book 2.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    pickyconsumer 01-09-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    18
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good 👍"

    I live in ME, so of course it's cool to listen to. I picked this book because a coworker left a couple of books in the 'free pile' that are later in the series. I'm very picky about how I spend my credits, but was happy with this one. It's interesting, engaging, but doesn't require TOO m

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.