Regular price: $31.50

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Fresh from her debut, The Stranger You Seek - which Publishers Weekly called "an explosive, unpredictable, and psychologically complex thriller that turns crime fiction clichés inside out" - Amanda Kyle Williams delivers a second thrilling Keye Street novel, perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter and Patricia Cornwell.

That bullet was meant for you.

Summer is smoldering through Atlanta on Fourth of July weekend, as fireworks crack through the air and steam rises from the pavement on Peachtree. Private investigator and ex-FBI profiler Keye Street wants nothing more than a couple of quiet days alone with her boyfriend, Aaron - but, as usual, murder gets in the way.

I will find her.

A.P.D. Lieutenant Aaron Rauser is called to the disturbing scene of the strangling death of a 13-year-old boy. Meanwhile, Keye must deal with not one but two of her own investigations: In the hills of Creeklaw County, there's a curious case involving chicken feed and a crematorium, and in Atlanta, Keye's emotionally fragile cousin Miki is convinced she is being stalked. Given Miki's history of drug abuse and mental problems, Keye is reluctant to accept her cousin's tale of a threatening man inside her house late one night. But as a recovering alcoholic herself, Keye can't exactly begrudge a woman her addictions - especially since Miki drives Keye to near-relapses at every turn. And yet, Miki is family, and Keye must help her - even if it means tempting her own demons.

I always find her.

All hell breaks loose when another murder - the apparent hanging of an elderly man - hits disturbingly close to home for Keye. And though the two victims have almost nothing in common, there are bizarre similarities between this case and that of Aaron's strangled teen. Is there a single faceless predator, a calculating murderer targeting his prey at random? Only a skilled profiler like Keye Street can help the A.P.D. find him. With the threat of more deaths to come, Keye works on pure instinct alone - and soon realizes that a killer is circling ever closer to the people she loves the most.

©2012 Amanda Kyle Williams (P)2012 Random House Audio

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Series

I've enjoyed this series thus far tremendously. The characters are thoroughly engaging, especially Keye and her mother. This twisted minds of serial killers are further revealed in this story as is that of an addict. How destructive addiction can be and how the battle ragws on for Keye. The ending was unique, I'm sure there was some greater symbolic meaning in it that i failed to completely grasp. Also, being a bit of a romantic, if that's the right word - Mickie deserved better at the end.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing, and now I'm depressed I've listened to her last book

I first started listening to this author starting with her third book, then I went to her first book, and finished with this one. Her books are amazing, if someone made these into movies it would be fantastic. I am depressed that I now have to listen to some other author on my hour commute home and not Amanda Kyle Williams. She is one of my favorite authors, and the narrator was fantastic. Her voice fit the story line perfectly, and I love listening to a southern accent. I want more of these books, this author has done an amazing job with these thrillers, please keep them coming!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very suspenseful

What made the experience of listening to Stranger in the Room the most enjoyable?

the narrator

Who was your favorite character and why?

kay street

Which character – as performed by Ann Marie Lee – was your favorite?

kay street

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

yes it made me choke up a few times

Any additional comments?

i have no other comments

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • M.
  • 04-05-13

Will nnot read this author again

This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

I'm not sure who might enjoy it. I certainly did not. Don't like the character and certainly not her cousin

What do you think your next listen will be?

Dana Stabenow - Bad Blood

What three words best describe Ann Marie Lee’s voice?

Okay, nothing too exciting.

You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

Not any that I know of. Could barely make it through the last hour of the story. Just wanted it finished and over with.