Regular price: $31.93

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Introducing a major new thriller writer - in the vein of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor - and an electrifying character, Dewey Andreas.

A major North American hydroelectric dam is blown up and the largest off-shore oil field in this hemisphere is destroyed in a brutal, coordinated terrorist attack. But there was one factor that the terrorists didn’t take into account when they struck the Capitana platform off the coast of Colombia - slaughtering much of the crew and blowing up the platform - and that was the Capitana crew chief, Dewey Andreas.

Dewey, former Army Ranger and Delta, survives the attack, rescuing as many of his men as possible. But the battle has just begun. While the intelligence and law enforcement agencies scramble to untangle these events and find the people responsible, the mysterious figure of Alexander Fortuna - an agent embedded into the highest levels of American society and business - sets into play the second stage of these long-planned attacks. The only fly in the ointment is Dewey Andreas - who is using all his long-dormant skills to fight his way off the platform, then out of Colombia and back to the U.S., following the trail of terrorists and operatives sent to stop him.

Power Down is a gripping, compelling debut thriller from a powerful new author, an amazing talent certain to join the ranks of the genre’s finest writers.

BONUS AUDIO: includes a conversation with the author and Mitt Romney.

©2010 Ben Coes (P)2010 Macmillan Audio

Critic Reviews

"Coes pumps new heat, blood, and flat-out action into a well-worn premise--terrorists are out to break America by attacking its energy resources--in his frighteningly plausible thriller debut." (Publishers Weekly)
"With a gripping story, compelling characters, a relentless pace and nerve-wracking suspense, Power Down is one of the must-read thrillers of the year." (Vince Flynn, New York Times best-selling author of Pursuit of Honor)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    2,667
  • 4 Stars
    1,440
  • 3 Stars
    415
  • 2 Stars
    88
  • 1 Stars
    67

Performance

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    2,478
  • 4 Stars
    1,138
  • 3 Stars
    350
  • 2 Stars
    77
  • 1 Stars
    52

Story

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    2,473
  • 4 Stars
    1,128
  • 3 Stars
    356
  • 2 Stars
    83
  • 1 Stars
    54
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Lyle
  • Pincher Creek, AB, Canada
  • 03-20-16

Childish

Very poorly written. conversation sounds like the author doesn't know how adults discuss. So much research to make things realistic is missing. A scene with a fire is totally wrong, I've been a fireman and it's nothing like this. The head people act like immature kids. You get the sense nothing has SOP's so each person wings it. The helicopter crash is unrealistic, bystanders stand under falling wreckage. Enough

  • Overall

amazing!

Fantastic, fast paced thriller! I didn't realize it was the first in a series but now I can't wait to get the next book! So realistic!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great new characters and story

I've been looking for a new Vince Flynn for awhile and think this comes close. They story was fresh and appealing and the characters were exciting and flawed. I'm looking forward to continuing the series.
As a listener I was a little disappointed with the pace of the narration but sped up the speed to 1.24 and enjoyed.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Entertaining yet typical early 21st century islamaphobic work

Mr Hermann does an excellent job of narration - accents and gender

The work is entertaining but i did think a couple times of puting it down due to it unapologetic:
- islamaphobia / jingoism
- derivativeness

But these seem to be what you have to live with currently if u want current suspense. Just like - if u want to read original James Bond u have read past the blatant racism and Jame's serial rape / sexisms before u are rewarded with a plot.

It is what it is.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

I POWERED IT DOWN

I liked what I heard of the story's plot. The reader did a fine job. What I just can't get past is the "hero" being able to beat insurmountable odds, only to miss something that would be obvious to a grade school boy. Then there is the ability for the bad guys to sneak a large amount of a super duper hi tech explosive onto a facility in the middle of nowhere, past a professional security organization. Twice. My suspension of dis-belief fought a valiant effort, but eventually became worn and stretched to tatters.









  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Prime Example of American Prejudices

This novel takes advantage of the negative sentiments the American people have for Arab people, twists it into a high spun terroristic plot, and serves to further disrespect and resentment for non-Anglo racial people. In my opinion, the story is an "out-to-get-you" fiction created to take advantage of current American xenophobia.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

terrible book

very slow jumbled story lines forced myself to finish it, feeble attempt to mimic vince Flynn

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Story is riviting

The story was one of those that you hate to hear "The End"! It was keep you on the edge of your seat. The narrator was one of the best I ever heard!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great story, great performance

This book should be mandatory reading for any one who thinks that "911" is the last attack on freedom.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

One of my favorites

Excellent book. I have high praise for the author and his coverage of the subject.