Regular price: $24.95

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

There are some secrets you can never tell.

The last thing to go through Dominique Thomas's head was the image of her teenage daughter's face and her heart lifted. Then the shot rang out.

They were the perfect family. Successful businessman Ben Thomas and his wife Dominique live an enviable life, along with their beautiful children: teenager Ruby and quirky younger daughter Mouse.

But on Christmas Day the police are called to their London home, only to discover a horrific scene: the entire family lying lifeless, victims of an unknown assailant.

But when Ruby's diary is discovered, revealing her rage at the world around her, police are forced to look closer to home for the key to this tragedy.

Each family member harboured their own dark truths - but has keeping their secrets pushed Ruby to the edge of sanity? Or are there darker forces at work?

This dark, gripping psychological thriller will have you holding your breath until the very last minute. Fans of Behind Closed Doors, Sometimes I Lie, and The Girl on the Train will be captivated.

©2017 Barbara Copperthwaite (P)2017 Bookouture

Critic Reviews

"Compelling, claustrophobic and horribly believable - a great read!" (B. A. Paris, author of Behind Closed Doors)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.2 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    231
  • 4 Stars
    133
  • 3 Stars
    51
  • 2 Stars
    20
  • 1 Stars
    10

Performance

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    283
  • 4 Stars
    102
  • 3 Stars
    26
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    4

Story

  • 4.2 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    212
  • 4 Stars
    118
  • 3 Stars
    48
  • 2 Stars
    26
  • 1 Stars
    12
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Could have been a great book.

I went into this book hoping that it would be a good read based on the premise but i was wrong.

The story had entirely to much build up and “secrecy” that wasn’t really a secret. From the first couple of chapters you can tell exactly what was happening .

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Amazing!

I thought I had this one all figured out.... man was I wrong!!!! Loved this book!!!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Wendi
  • Houston, TX
  • 12-22-17

I Had To Think On This One..

'Her Last Secret' is a gripping listen in parts. Some parts are rather slow. However, I couldn't figure out why it was deemed 'a psychological thriller' until the very end.

We have a husband having an affair, a wife who's afraid to leave the husband, a misguided teen getting cyber-bullied.. a 'normal' abnormal family with severe problems behind closed doors. As the problems accumulate and tension mounts, the book feels more like a murder-mystery. It's very depressing, and it deals with depressing subject matter.

The end made me go 'Wow..' And, when something makes me do that, it's worth the read. The narrator was fantastic. The book is definitely interesting.. and I would give the story a solid 4 stars.

-Wendi

7 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Boring. A total waste of time.

It is very predictable, characters are hollow, nonsense and the author tried to keep you on the edge with very stupid arguments. Don't lose your time with this book.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

My mind wandered

Would you try another book from Barbara Copperthwaite and/or Katie Villa?

Maybe

Any additional comments?

It was hard for me to focus on this story...it seemed to ramble. After 8 chapters and I still can't get into the story...it's time to turn it off.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Had to go all the way to the end!

This story was a tease throughout. I loved it. Enough suspects were introduced to make it impossible for me to guess the ending:) I like that in a who done what story!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

The Twist!

The story developes at a decent pace and is not too predictable. The final twist is indeed unexpected and delicious!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Intense

loved it! Really good book. sucked me in from the first chapter and kept my attention throughout.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

GREAT FABULOUS book!

I totally loved this book. I couldn't stop listening till I was finished. GREAT Find.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Well developed characters

If you could sum up Her Last Secret in three words, what would they be?

Family. Secrets. Greed.

What other book might you compare Her Last Secret to and why?

none come to mind.

Which character – as performed by Katie Villa – was your favorite?

Hats off to Ms. Villa: there are many POVs in this story and she really did a stellar job. Perhaps my favourite character she played was Kendra. Although Kendra was not my favourite character, Ms. Villa did a great job portraying her.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

The scene with Ruby and her mother in her bedroom towards the end of the book. As a mother, it was heartbreaking to hear Ruby finally open up about how she felt.

Any additional comments?

The story seemed to drag on some parts, but overall well worth the credit.

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Chrissie
  • 12-05-17

Absolutely brilliant

Brilliant storyline, brilliantly narrated, perfect in every way. The best book I've listened to in years with a twist I didn't see coming. A totally MUST READ if you like psychological thrillers.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Karen
  • 11-07-17

A fabulous read

Excellent loved every minute. A roller coaster of emotions - tears, tantrums, anger, love, hate.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Shirls
  • 10-22-17

Slightly disappointing

Not as good a book as I expected from other reviews. Think this was probably because the ending was told at the beginning of the story. The first chapters were very slow and at one stage I was temped to give up but I persevered and it did pick up about three quarters of the way through the story. Quite a good story, just a pity the beginning dragged so much.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • John
  • 12-02-17

Gripping

Couldn't put this down. Excellent modern day thriller that crashes to a twisted conclusion. Excellent!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • jane mcculloch
  • 11-21-17

loved this book

narrator was very good story line was great loved the story was sad when it finished

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Annie
  • 10-31-17

Whose Secret?

Certainly not a gripping psychological thriller! Full of one-dimentional characters (apart from little Mouse) and the cliches of overworked husband, acquistive wife with not enough to do and silly young mistress. I stuck with it to the end to see who lived and who died, but was not impressed by the story at all. The narrator did her best but this was not an un-put-downable novel.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Sue
  • 02-18-18

Highly Recommended Read

Any additional comments?

A gripping and intriguing story that is completely believable. Barbara Copperthwaite has created well woven characters that the reader easily becomes involved with. I wasn’t sure I was going to enjoy this book as soon as I realised it actually begins by revealing the brutal ending of the story but the author executes the telling of it brilliantly. Katie Villa’s narration is excellent.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Mrs. C. Brazil
  • 01-25-18

thoroughly enjoyed

It drives me mad that audible demands the criteria it does for feedback. I'm sure they'd be much more if they didn't. piu simply I thoroughly enjoyed it's bk - excellent narration.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Vicky H
  • 01-24-18

Not particularly well written

Entertaining in a trashy sort of way. Predictable and over the top. Wouldn't read again but fine for an easy poolside read or something. Much better books of a similar nature out there.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Hayley
  • 01-15-18

Really average book

Kept waiting for something but nothing came, if your looking for a gripping read I would pick something else in this genre

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Wombat
  • 02-15-18

A Shakespearean tragedy

The most engrossing family drama I’ve read in years. It has a warning for all of us in this materialistic age where we have also lost our privacy because of social media. A timely warning to keep our loved ones close and be truly involved with them despite our busy lives. It shows how misunderstandings and miscommunications can lead to tragedy.A book to make you think - and hug your loved ones close.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Kay
  • 02-04-18

Didn’t see that end coming!

Very enjoyable to the last minute. Well narrated and kept me captive until the conclusion. Highly recommended.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • christina
  • 12-28-17

Every cliche imaginable. So bad it was laughable

If this book wasn’t for you, who do you think might enjoy it more?

I cannot imagine

What was most disappointing about Barbara Copperthwaite’s story?

Formulaic and cliched. Basically the plot was the same as the Girl On The Train or every other best seller of the last 2 years

If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from Her Last Secret?

All