Regular price: $15.98

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

p>AudioFile Magazine Earphones Award winner, August 2015.

Sarah Lotz's extraordinary, unmissable follow-up to the book that made headlines around the world, The Three - perfect for fans of The Shining Girls, The Passage, and Lost.

Four days into a five-day singles cruise on the Gulf of Mexico, the ageing ship Beautiful Dreamer stops dead in the water. With no electricity and no cellular signals, the passengers and crew have no way to call for help. But everyone is certain that rescue teams will come looking for them soon. All they have to do is wait.

That is until the toilets stop working, and the food begins to run out. When the body of a woman is discovered in her cabin, the passengers start to panic. There's a murderer onboard the Beautiful Dreamer...and maybe something worse.

©2015 Sarah Lotz (P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton

Critic Reviews

Praise for The Three:

"This high-concept thriller is a blast." (The Guardian)
"The Three is really wonderful...hard to put down and vastly entertaining." (Stephen King)
"Sarah Lotz is a natural born storyteller. Like the hand reaching up from the dark well, she'll drag you into her thrall. You'll come up gasping." (Lauren Beukes)

"Genuinely chilling… this is an unusual thriller superbly voiced." (AudioFile Magazine)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Andrew
  • 06-14-16

great story but way to complicated at the end

the story draws you in and goes at a nice pace, plenty of suspense but in my opinion falls apart at the end. its as if the author was unsure how to finish and went into bizarre mode. shame because the rest of the book was exciting

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Andy Sargeant
  • 09-26-15

Keep with it!

After reading The Three, I really wanted to find out more and so I went straight into Day Four. The problem I had was that The Three hit hard and just kept giving where Day Four does take a while to get into the story, but when it does, I think its more superior than The Three. Also, the narrator is SUPERB!! Keep with it! You'll be glad you did.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Mrs. K. A. Skipp
  • 07-20-15

Excellent, but very unsettling

Would you listen to Day Four again? Why?

I would listen again, there is definitely a sub plot which you may not fully realise on first listen

What other book might you compare Day Four to, and why?

I read this immediately after her first book, and there really is no comparison, I much preferred this one.

What does Penelope Rawlins bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

I found her voice easy on the ear, and the phrasing was good.

If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

Take a cruise for your health and travel to hell and back!!!!!!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Peter Morse
  • 06-28-15

If only the accents had been plausible

A good story narrated very well. But.... The accents of some of the characters were dreadful and spoilt the production for me until they were largely dropped in the latter third of the story.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Jo
  • 05-31-15

Intriguing!

I had listened to the first book and also found that to be intriguing! It's a bit like being sucked into a bad film...you know it won't end well but just have to watch!
I'm now assuming that there will be another book which will finally explain what is going on??
If it does all come together it would probably make a good movie but I feel like this is all taking way too long but I'm hooked now so will probably end up with the next book lol!
The narrative was ok but some very dodgy accents!!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Jude
  • 07-24-15

Let down by narration

Would you try another book written by Sarah Lotz or narrated by Penelope Rawlins?

I would try another book by Sarah Lotz, but not the narrator

How would you have changed the story to make it more enjoyable?

I didn't finish it because of the narration

What didn’t you like about Penelope Rawlins’s performance?

awful accents

What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

mainly irritation because of the narrator...I found my mind wandering because the accents were so bad.Poor narration does a disservice to the book...I think I would have stuck with it if the narration was good. As it is I'm not even halfway and am giving up and returning it.

Any additional comments?

stories can be brought to life with good narration, or ruined by poor narration...this was the latter

0 of 1 people found this review helpful