Regular price: $27.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

From the opening chapter of the electrifying Dark Harbor, one thing is clear; this is the clarion call of an exciting new talent. Highly touted debut author David Hosp crafts an engrossing novel in the tradition of John Grisham, John Sandford, and David Baldacci.

Scott Finn survived a childhood running errands for crime kingpins to become a six-figure lawyer at a prestigious Boston firm. Now the sky's the limit...until his colleague and former lover Natalie turns up dead in Boston Harbor, her heart surgically removed. She initially appears to be the seventh victim of "Little Jack", a serial killer reminiscent of Jack the Ripper. But suspicion quickly turns to Scott, who must dig deep into Natalie's life to discover the secrets she kept.

The suspense builds to a crescendo as this stunning thriller travels at breakneck speed toward a shocking conclusion.

©2005 Richard David Hosp (P)2005 Recorded Books, LLC

Critic Reviews

"Compelling characters pulse through attorney Hosp's surprisingly engaging fiction debut." (Publishers Weekly)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    212
  • 4 Stars
    312
  • 3 Stars
    103
  • 2 Stars
    36
  • 1 Stars
    22

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    215
  • 4 Stars
    121
  • 3 Stars
    50
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    6

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    139
  • 4 Stars
    178
  • 3 Stars
    58
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    15
Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars

Can anyone write an ending?

This is not a bad book for a while. It has some clunky writing (like the detectives ham fisted handling of the case and her irrational suspicion of the main character) but the big problem comes at the end. Note to authors: pitched gun battles in mythical fortresses might have been fine for 1940s comics but they are not a satisfactory ending for modern readers. Incredibly disappointing ending but it takes several hours to get to it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • James P
  • Bronson, FL, USA
  • 12-18-05

Good listen

I enjoyed this book and plan to listen again in a few months! Had some neat twists and ended the way I wanted it to! It was worth the money to me!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Joel
  • Dallas
  • 11-06-05

Joel

Very well read book. Plot keeps you very atentive and the ending is rewarding.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Ted
  • Lancaster, PA, United States
  • 12-07-11

Another Malevolent Big City Law Firm - Hum-Ho

I hope for David Hosp two things.... (1) He did not waste too much more of his life than shows in writing this derivative story and (2) He kept whatever day job he has.

Maybe there was some unpredictable twist to this story but frankly it was so dull I kept losing attention. Unfortunately a better editor could only have helped this book's purchaser in one way... by rejecting the manuscript after a first scan. The reader and the cover are interesting.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Mary
  • Memphis TN 38117
  • 10-20-11

Did not enjoy this book

I could not get through it. I tried for 2 weeks to make myself listen and just couldn't. The main character went from being head over heels in love with the victim, to just being friends, to mourning her, to being attracted to someone else, to whatever in every single paragraph. Seriously, this happened at least 4 or 5 times per chapter with little explained motivation. It made no sense. There was no logical thought process. I get conflicted and mixed emotions but this was like a multiple personality disorder on speed.
Over all, the book was very disorganized, plodding, slow moving and difficult to understand. The characters lacked depth and development which made them hard to get invested in much less like or dislike. I do not recommend this book. Sorry.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Karl
  • Palm Springs, CA, USA
  • 07-14-06

Stop reading this...

...and download "Dark Harbor" NOW! Very strong story development, great descriptions of locale and scenes; all yields a good balance along with a cast that truly grows on you. The narrator is at the top of his game here

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Cheryl
  • Whittier, CA, United States
  • 09-30-05

Great Book

This book was really good, well written and fast moving.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping, didn't want to stop listening.

loved it. George Guidall was his awesome self. Great read!! Can't wait to hear the next in this series.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Better for TV

This book was pretty good, but I felt I could have followed it better on TV. Then they would have cut to commercial when there was a change in the action. The book, as it is, would be in one character's mind. The next minute it was with someone else away from the last bit of action. You might wonder, "what was going on?" before it occurred to you this wasn't the same character. The story was pretty good, the narrator one of the greatest in the industry. The flow could have been better.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thoroughly enjoyable.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Great plot and plenty of intrigue. The fact that George Guidall was reading it was an added plus. I will look for more material from both of these folks. I highly recommend this book.