Regular price: $29.65

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

From Leslie Connor, award-winning author of Waiting for Normal and Crunch, comes a soaring and heartfelt story about love, forgiveness, and how innocence makes us all rise up. All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook is a powerful story, perfect for fans of Wonder and When You Reach Me.

Eleven-year-old Perry was born and raised by his mom at the Blue River Co-ed Correctional Facility in tiny Surprise, Nebraska. His mom is a resident on Cell Block C, and so far Warden Daugherty has made it possible for them to be together. That is, until a new district attorney discovers the truth - and Perry is removed from the facility and forced into a foster home.

When Perry moves to the outside world, he feels trapped. Desperate to be reunited with his mom, Perry goes on a quest for answers about her past crime. As he gets closer to the truth, he will discover that love makes people resilient no matter where they come from...but can he find a way to tell everyone what home truly means?

©2016 Leslie Connor (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.7 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    73
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.7 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    60
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.7 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    65
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Excellent lesson in life!

Michael Crouch skillfully and lovingly voiced each character especially the honorable Perry Cook. This wonderful book gives us unique very human people in an unusual situation , and challenges us not to judge a book by its cover.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Feel Good Amazing!

such an amazing story. Could not put it down. Ends and I want to know more about Perry and Jessica.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • KB
  • 11-13-17

Fun and Inspiring

This was a fantastic book! The narrators did a wonderful job of capturing the voices of Perry and Jessica, and drawing me in to the story. I kept finding things to do around the house so I could continue to listen! I loved the journey of Perry in discovering his (and his mother's) pasts. And Connor did a great job in writing the villain. Stepdad Tom was the quintessential condescending adult, but he also had heart and had redeeming qualities. The listening experience on this one was fun, especially since it was so much based on auditory storytelling among the inmates, and the narrators did a good job with the voices. Highly Recommended.
Audible 20 Review Sweepstakes Entry

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Outstanding production

I can't think of anything to criticize about this audiobook. As a native Nebraskan, I appreciate the pitch-perfect narration and characters.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

really good for middle School readers

I loved this book it really caught my attention. My love for this book's enormous.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

incredible!

an excellent start on destigmatizing prisons & their residents to the masses. if only prisons were like blue river, we'd all be the better off for it...

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Ms. R. Wharrier
  • 06-27-17

This book would make a lovely film

Downloaded this book because I really like Kate Mcineeney's voice so I download any that she's made. I didn't even notice it was a children's book but it was lovely I really enjoyed it. It would make a wonderful film.