Front Page Fatality

A Nichelle Clarke Crime Thriller, Book 1
Narrated by: Therese Plummer
Length: 6 hrs and 51 mins
4 out of 5 stars (1,977 ratings)

Audible membership

$14.95 a month

Free with a 30-day trial
1 audiobook of your choice.
A monthly selection of Audible Originals.
$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A suspicious accident. A determined reporter. And a ruthless criminal who will stop at nothing to tie up loose ends. 

This suspenseful thriller series is recommended for fans of James Patterson, J.D. Robb, and Melinda Leigh.  

"...five stars out of five." (Hot Mystery Reviews)

When two rookie cops are killed in a fiery crash near Richmond, Virginia, crime reporter Nichelle Clarke is sent in to investigate.  

But as Nichelle digs deeper into the case, she discovers this was no ordinary accident.  

People and evidence soon begin to disappear. Someone is one step ahead of her. A master criminal with a deadly secret, covering their tracks with ruthless efficiency.  

The killer will stop at nothing to keep the truth hidden. But as she draws closer to unraveling the mystery of two dead cops, Nichelle realizes that she's become the next target.  

"Front Page Fatality immediately draws the reader in, provides plenty of twists, and keeps its audience guessing up to the end." (Style Weekly)

A murder mystery series taut with gripping, authentic plots that only a former crime reporter could write - pick up your LynDee Walker thriller today.

©2012 LynDee Walker (P)2019 Audible, Inc.

What listeners say about Front Page Fatality

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    931
  • 4 Stars
    592
  • 3 Stars
    324
  • 2 Stars
    89
  • 1 Stars
    41
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,053
  • 4 Stars
    467
  • 3 Stars
    181
  • 2 Stars
    65
  • 1 Stars
    33
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    833
  • 4 Stars
    521
  • 3 Stars
    306
  • 2 Stars
    90
  • 1 Stars
    46

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fast Paced Mystery with Humor

This book had me finding excuses to listen and ignoring TV. It was upbeat, fun, smart, and action packed. I've already bought the next in the series. What I loved was:

-It didn't have any boring/slow parts that made it drag. I was engaged the whole time.
-I couldn't figure out who done it.
-The humor; it wasn't trying too hard, cheesy, over the top, etc.
-While there was heavy action and crime, it isn't a gory book.
-The light romance. The author set up a couple potentials. I liked that it wasn't a main focus, but a nice side flavor that keeps me interested.
-I really liked our leading lady. I liked that she was smart, independent, and happy.

I would recommend this for everyone. For those that care, there is moderate swearing. A few swear words a chapter, and occasional use of the F word, though I wouldn't describe it as frequent (I just wouldn't recommend listening to it with children present unless they were teenagers). There is no sex/passionate scene. A coworker is sleeping with a boss, and there are a couple one liners about it, but that's it.

126 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love this narrator!

This woman’s voice just draws you in and is so nice to listen too. Combined with an awesome author and you have a hit on your hands!

19 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

What a waste of time. It did help my insomnia.

I got partway through this, but I came to the realization that I just don’t care! Normally I enjoy narrator Therese Plummer, but not this time; this is first and last audiobook by LynDee Walker. The author’s storyline dragged on and on that I didn’t care whodunit. Thankfully, it was just $2.99. I lost any interest and knew it was time to quit. When all I hear is blah-blah-blah, it's time to give up.

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So good I listened Twice!!

Do not that the slow beginning turn you off. This story has plenty of twists and turns. I look forward to more books in the series. Added bonus the Narrator is GREAT.. she really makes the book come alive. This book is so good you will listen more than once. !!!!!!

27 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Mystery Crime Thriller!

I truly enjoyed this book. Every time I thought I had it figured out, I was wrong. That doesn’t happen very often with the mystery books I listen to. I was hooked on this book from the very beginning and I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys a good mystery. I would listen to it again. Therese Plummer is one of my favorite narrators and once again she did a wonderful job. I can’t wait to listen to the next one.

25 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Slow start, hell of a ride thereafter!!

Slow start, hell of a ride thereafter!!! Great characters, story line fabulous, I’m glad I gave it a go!

22 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved It!!

I loved this book and lived Therese Plummer's performance. This is a great series of books with three being out on audible so far. Very witty and very clever. I have gotten all three and am hoping the rest of the seven will be out very soon!

21 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Movie Trailer Man Narration. Great Dialogue.

I have mixed feelings for this book. I can't decide anything about the writing, because the narration is so unusual. Dialogue is great, and this woman does great voices for men - which requires a lot in this book because most of the characters aside from the main are men. I'm not super fond of the accents, which sound less Virginian and more hillbilly. The "hot" Italian sounds a little like Joe from While You Were Sleeping in this narrator's voice, which makes envisioning him as this super handsome guy a very difficult thing. That's the nature of narrating dialogue. HOWEVER, the weird thing about this particular narrator is that she reads all narration VERY dramatically - like dangerous Phil Marlowe Private Eye type things are afoot. There is *super dramatic* emphasis on even the most prosaic of lines like: "I took the dog out to pee." This is not how I would be reading this if I were reading it on the page and it is superbly distracting. Oddly enough, I managed to enjoy the book in spite of this, but for the life of me I can't figure out why the narrator chose this route. Does she narrate everything this way? I've never heard her before, so I don't know.

My main complaint about the story itself was that at times it was difficult to keep track of the numerous background male characters - there are just so many. Sometimes the author reintroduces them to you, sometimes she just throws the name out there and expects you to remember it even though you haven't heard it for the last 70% of the book. Difficult, when you're trying to solve a whodunnit. There are too many F words for my taste - the current trend of using it almost religiously is just exhausting. Also, while the protag's high heels are constantly commented on as being ruined, or as being the inappropriate shoe for the occasion, she never learns this and continues to wear them in really dumb places. Learn some self-respect, please, and also you (main character) should not be allowed to adopt Louboutins. Journalists - they are hard to like. I don't like the competitive nature of newsrooms or the idea that any tragic story could be "sexy" but it is what it is, and I appreciated at least a little moral compass in Nichelle. I'd like to see it grow stronger. Last critique - I wanted a bit more comeuppance at the end for a couple characters - maybe I need to keep reading to see them really grovel.

Something I appreciate - that not every guy in the book has the hots for the main character. THANK YOU for not being a Mary Sue about this. It was refreshing.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Slightly disappointed.

Enjoyed the book. The only truly disappointing part was that there wasn't any resolution at the end with the coworkers. They were built up nicely but in the end, no mention of them. Maybe in the next book?

22 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A wonderful surprise!

Twists and turns! My expectations were too low for this novel because the book itself blew me away. FRONT PAGE FATALITY has an interesting mix of suspense and humor. I'll certainly listen to more novels in the Nichelle Clarke Crime Thriller series. I'm also interested in LynDee Walker's Faith McClellan series. Therese Plummer's narration is simply perfect. Highly recommended.

13 people found this helpful