Regular price: $15.98

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Sheila O'Flanagan's enthralling best seller Things We Never Say is a must-listen for fans of Marian Keyes and Veronica Henry.

The things we never say:

A daughter doesn't say how she feels about the past....

A husband is afraid to say that selling the house his wife loves is the only option....

A woman hasn't said that even though they live thousands of miles apart, this man is always on her mind....

If those things were said, the results could be life-changing. As Abbey - and a whole family she knew nothing of - are about to find out in this warm-hearted, thought-provoking and touching novel.

©2013 Sheila O'Flanagan (P)2013 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.1 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    4
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Linda
  • Reykjavik, Iceland
  • 01-12-14

New favorite author

What did you love best about Things We Never Say?

I use my audiobooks as a cool down after work while I'm walking outside. I loved "Things we never say".

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Fabulous Book Fiend
  • 04-29-14

A solid listen

Any additional comments?

Review: I found this book to be really compelling from the outset and actually read this alongside my mum so we could discuss it and predict what was going to happen next. I actually find the storyline to be quite shocking, how greedy people can be and how unaccepting of change too. It was something quite different to the storylines I usually experience and that was definitely a good thing for me. In terms of pace, it was a bit of a rollercoater, sometimes moving super quick and being a real page turner, but there were other moments where it seemed a little relative and that slowed it down for me a bit. Thankfully this all balanced out to give a good pace overall and entertained me over a couple of days. <br/><br/>I actually really didn't like the characters in this book. Now this didn't pose a problem to me because I still wanted to find out how they all fared and how each of their stories wrapped up, but I think it was obviously excellent story writing on the part of this author, to write character that I had such an aversion to, it's much better than being apathetic towards a character and have no feelings at all evoked! I found every member of the family involved in this book in Ireland to be greedy and selfish. They had passion and drive, but only if it bettered themselves and their aspirations of what a 'good life' should be. There was the daughter of the family who wasn't entirely dislikalble, but even she got my back up at points. <br/><br/>Abbey who travels from the states to Ireland, although not selfish, was rather bland. She seemed to have strong points of view on some things but seemed weak willed with other decisions she had to make. This inconsistency made me dislike her, but I had to find out what was going to happen to her. Her mother had a similar character. She has some secrets herself which make for interesting reading, but overall she was just a bit too wishy washy for me. Do not fear though because there is a rather hunky Irish lawyer in the novel who was worth reading on for. He was really fun to read and I was rooting for good things to happen the entire way through. <br/><br/>I really enjoyed the dual setting of Ireland and San Francisco, although the description of Ireland was a little less than I was hoping for, perhaps there were more scenes in San Francisco initially that were cut out and so that is why they are both described less than expected. Overall I definitely enjoyed reading this book and fans of Sheila O'Flanagan won't be disappointed. If this is your first novel by this author then it can definitely be read without reading any of her previous novels but there are some really good novels in her collection that you should elfin timely check out too. <br/>

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Lynne Burton
  • 08-01-16

A lovely book!

I just loved the storyline and the narration was sensitively good. I recommend it as a very good read!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Polly
  • 09-23-14

Stick With It

I didn't think I was going to enjoy this when it first started and was tempted to give up, but persevered with for a bit longer and ended up really enjoying it. This is the first Sheila O'Flanagan story I have listened to and will certainly look for more.
It's a very easy listen.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Janet Murphy
  • 05-06-17

Excellent!

An extremely good read...or should I say, listen!

A well plotted storyline with strong characters and the usual Irish family tensions!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Becky
  • 07-29-15

Good story, nice narration

I enjoyed this book, it was a nicely interwoven story with believable characters which you loved and despised equally. I liked the ending too and didn't feel short changed or disappointed.

It had enough truth running throughout to make it believable and certain parts poignant.

The main character was flawed enough that you could identify with her. All in all a very nice listen/read.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • evans
  • 05-06-15

Thoroughly enjoyed

I love the soft Irish lilt of the narrator. The story had its frustrating moments when I felt the characters were cheated! I am pleased to say I felt satisfied by the end of the book.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Gemma
  • 04-28-15

Sheila never fails to deliver

Beautifully read and as always a lovely story by my favourite author. I loved how the pieces fell into place about Ellen .

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Little Lynn
  • 01-21-15

a charming tale.

gives the listener a heart warming glow. well read and alot of feeling put into it. well worth a listen.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Lynette
  • 01-19-15

like Mills & Boon drivell

What would have made Things We Never Say better?

a stronger storyline

Would you ever listen to anything by Sheila O'Flanagan again?

possibly not

What didn’t you like about Aoife McMahon’s performance?

Aoife's performance was fine

You didn’t love this book--but did it have any redeeming qualities?

started well and I thought it would be a good book but about a third of the way through it became totally predictable and sickly sweet

Any additional comments?

If you want something believable, avoid this one!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Lee
  • 12-28-14

Enjoyable but slow in places

Overall this book was enjoyable. Parts of the story line were slow. The characters were developed nicely although some a bit irritating.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful