Your audiobook is waiting…

Her Husband's Mistake

Narrated by: Aoife McMahon
Length: 11 hrs and 12 mins
Categories: Fiction, Contemporary
4 out of 5 stars (21 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Should a woman be ready to forgive and forget to save her marriage? Roxy's not so sure....

The riveting new novel from number one best-selling author Sheila O'Flanagan. Perfect for fans of Marian Keyes and Kerry Fisher. 

When Roxy comes home unexpectedly one day to give her husband, Dave, a lovely surprise, it's Roxy who gets shock of her life. And all she wants to do is run away. 

Roxy knows she has to face up to what's happened and decide: forgive and forget, or bring an end to a decade-long marriage. Surely the right thing is to get over it - that's what Dave thinks. After all, it's just one mistake....

But Roxy finds it's not so simple. Especially when another secret starts to emerge. Her friends and family all know what they'd do - but they're not Roxy....

©2019 Sheila O'Flanagan (P)2019 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Jan
  • Melbourne, Australia
  • 06-04-19

Her Husband's Mistake

Her Husband's Mistake. Really struggling with this book. I pre ordered it as I like most of Sheila O'Flanagans books.
I cannot get past the first couple of chapters. I just find it depressing so far

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Easy read

Well performed but average storyline. You can put this on, take a nap and when you wake up, you haven’t missed anything. Ok if you want a predictable non complicated story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

MUST READ

This book is a must read.... Especially for those married couples who've been through divorce or going through it... dealing with cheating wives or husbands. It sets ALOT of perspective and clear some parts o felt like cussing her out but that's only because the book keeps you so drawn into it as if you were living the life in her shoes.... loved it

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ktbyrd
  • Salt Lake City, Utah USA
  • 06-04-19

Women Driver has it all

Driving the car and being good at it, is just one challenge to convention in this book.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Catherine
  • Catherine
  • 09-04-19

A bit of an anti climax!

This book started off really well and I had high hopes for the rest of it, but it dragged on a bit and some parts were just meaningless. For example when her husband Dave and their daughter got ill, I thought,"where is this leading? .......it led nowhere!! It was pointless. Her husband was a vile man, a chauvinistic prat and so unlikable. I enjoyed the tales involving her driving and the little side stories about her clients, but I really thought that things would get a bit more interesting and exciting towards the end, but that didn't happen. I enjoyed listening to the book, but in the end it was just a nothing!
The narrator was great and I loved her Irish accents. She was very good at changing her tone and accent slightly for the different characters.
Overall, I enjoyed the 'listen' but it could have had a better ending.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ann D
  • Ann D
  • 06-03-19

Pleasant, but too long!

This is a pleasant story, with well drawn, engaging characters. It’s a simple (predictable) tale though and does not merit over 11 hours. It would truly benefit from the writing being more concise. It would be better if cut by, maybe a third! Aoife McMahon’s narration is soothing and faultless as usual.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Aine Cronin
  • Aine Cronin
  • 09-21-19

one of the best books for 2019

loved it it was really hard to switch off I felt like I was missing out on the book if I wasn't listening

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for laura elizabeth stinton
  • laura elizabeth stinton
  • 08-13-19

Disappointing

Story never got going, waiting for something to happen but it never did! Narrator ok

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Breda Williams
  • Breda Williams
  • 07-22-19

typical easy going book

story is ok. some parts are obvious and predictable but a rom com type book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Judith Lennon
  • Judith Lennon
  • 07-09-19

Good story throughout

I loved this book from beginning to end. Normal people trying to get from life what makes them happy whilst balancing life’s challenges. Highly recommend.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 07-04-19

Wife

Loved it, didn't want to stop hearing about her life... Strong woman in the end

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 07-03-19

empowering

this is a very well read story, characters you will want to meet. would love a part 2

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for catherine
  • catherine
  • 07-02-19

One of her best !!

A great story that is quite challenging at times. Well read kept me listening to the end !!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 06-22-19

inspiring

It kept me gripped. An excellent read that is also inspiring. So true to life.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Daphne
  • Daphne
  • 06-15-19

Loved it

Very well narrated and easy to listen to. great book. now want to find another one just as good

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 06-05-19

absolutely loved this book

I absolutely loved this book. Sheila has a way of making all the characters so believable and real and the narrator is one of my favourites. I hate it when a good story ends :-(

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nicola Robinson
  • Nicola Robinson
  • 09-18-19

Easy listening

Really enjoyable story that was easy listening, good narration and can highly recommend this audio book!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for kazg77
  • kazg77
  • 09-14-19

Enjoyable book.

An entertaining, light hearted story and narrator is very easy to listen to with a melodic voice.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 09-02-19

Enjoyable

Listen to this on a long road trip, was enjoyable and filled in the time well.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Imsylin
  • Imsylin
  • 08-14-19

Loved every second!

What a great story to escape into! Made all the better by the fabulous narrator, I just loved it to bits.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 06-17-19

Enjoyable, but for me, missing the wow factor

I'm not a big fan of novels written in first person. Perhaps that's influenced my overall thoughts about the story. I kept waiting for the part that would hook me in but for me, it never came. Added to that, it felt a bit like the conclusion wrapped up issues that had taken 11 hours to develop, in a 15 minute sprint to the end.

Overall, engaging enough that you keep listening but not so much that you can't put it down, or feel if you didn't know how the story continued, you'd be wishing you did.

Aoife McMahon is wonderful, as ever, with her narration, full of expression and interest as she reads.