Regular price: $39.92

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

International sensation Santa Montefiore presents the first book in a trilogy that follows three Irish women through the decades of the 20th century - perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Hazel Gaynor.

Born on the ninth day of the ninth month in the year 1900, Kitty Deverill is special, as her grandmother has always told her. Built on the stunning green hills of West Cork, Ireland, Castle Deverill is Kitty's beloved home, where many generations of Deverills have also resided. Although she's Anglo-Irish, Kitty's heart completely belongs to the wild countryside of the Emerald Isle, and her devotion to her Irish-Catholic friends - Bridie Doyle, the daughter of the castle's cook; and Jack O'Leary, the vet's son - is unmatched, even if Jack is always reminding her that she isn't fully Irish. Still, Jack and Kitty can't help falling in love, although they both know their union faces the greatest obstacles, since they are from different worlds.

Bridie cherishes her friendship with Kitty, who makes her feel more like her equal than a servant. Yet she can't help dreaming of someday having all the wealth and glamour Kitty's station in life affords her. But when she discovers a secret that Kitty has been keeping from her, Bridie finds herself growing resentful toward the girl in the castle who seems to have it all.

When the Irish revolt to throw over British rule in Southern Ireland, Jack enlists to fight. Worried for her safety, Jack warns Kitty to keep her distance, but she refuses and throws herself into the cause for Irish liberty, running messages and ammunition between the rebels. But, as Kitty soon discovers, her allegiance to her family and her friends will be tested - and when Castle Deverill comes under attack, the only home and life she's ever known are threatened.

A powerful story of love, loyalty, and friendship, The Girl in the Castle is an exquisitely written novel set against the magical, captivating landscape of Ireland.

©2015 Santa Montefiore (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    181
  • 4 Stars
    78
  • 3 Stars
    39
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    9

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    188
  • 4 Stars
    73
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    159
  • 4 Stars
    76
  • 3 Stars
    36
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    6
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Girl in the castle

This is a great book!!! You are taken back in time and you never want to put the book down. I did not realize this was the first book of the series I am delighted I get to read more. A must read

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Wonderful story

The narrator carried me through the turbulent times of early Irish freedom set to the lives of this Anglo-Irish family. It was well worth the listen.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

What? No ending!

Help !! Nothing was resolved. What happened? Too many questions remained. Is there a sequel? Now what am I going to do?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Billie
  • Arlington, TX, United States
  • 04-28-17

Explicitness

I enjoyed the book in the beginning. I have listened to several of this author's book. This one is a disappointment . There were times that a cuss word or two or a sexual reference was made prior to chapter 8 after that I could listen no more due to language and explicit descriptions-became to much ! Why good stories become so unnecessarily explicit that it ruins a good book from a talented writer

to

12 of 18 people found this review helpful

  • Overall

Terrible Ending

Didn't care for the main character but listened to the end of the book. The ending was confusing and left all of the main characters up in the air. I haven't rated a book this low before but this was just a sad unsatisfactory novel.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Such mixed feelings!

I had a difficult time rating this book. I so enjoyed the story, the narration was great, but in the end the stories of the main characters were left completely unresolved! I actually went back a few chapters to make sure I didn't accidentally skip something! Such a frustrating ended to a great story! Very anti-climatic in my opinion.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Krisie
  • Honolulu, HI, United States
  • 11-13-17

How I loved this book!!

I really loved this book! I can't wait to listen to the other 2 books in the series. Please Audiobook, release the 3rd book as an audiobook! I will be devastated if I am not able to complete the series!!

The narrator was excellent! The story was not complicated, but very engrossing! I fell in love with all the characters (except one evil one) and I can't wait to read on to find out what has happened next!

Audible 20 review sweepstakes entry.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Sad, so sad!

The author had no ability to make the reader care about any of her characters. It is more like she is writing a history book. As the book stretches on and on, I begin to wish the main characters would please just start dying off and get on to the end. Her characters were snobby, self absorbed, unfeeling, and ungiving.

If you got hours and hours to listen to jibberish, then this is the book for you.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Shallow

A very shallow story......Everytime the author could have created depth and imagery to the characters she rushed on. Very hard to get into. The narrator is very good though.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • JM
  • 08-25-17

No ending

Long listen without adequate conclusion. Story interesting but abruptly ends. Had I known this, probably would not have purchased.