Regular price: $39.92

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

International sensation Santa Montefiore presents the first book in a trilogy that follows three Irish women through the decades of the 20th century - perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Hazel Gaynor.

Born on the ninth day of the ninth month in the year 1900, Kitty Deverill is special, as her grandmother has always told her. Built on the stunning green hills of West Cork, Ireland, Castle Deverill is Kitty's beloved home, where many generations of Deverills have also resided. Although she's Anglo-Irish, Kitty's heart completely belongs to the wild countryside of the Emerald Isle, and her devotion to her Irish-Catholic friends - Bridie Doyle, the daughter of the castle's cook; and Jack O'Leary, the vet's son - is unmatched, even if Jack is always reminding her that she isn't fully Irish. Still, Jack and Kitty can't help falling in love, although they both know their union faces the greatest obstacles, since they are from different worlds.

Bridie cherishes her friendship with Kitty, who makes her feel more like her equal than a servant. Yet she can't help dreaming of someday having all the wealth and glamour Kitty's station in life affords her. But when she discovers a secret that Kitty has been keeping from her, Bridie finds herself growing resentful toward the girl in the castle who seems to have it all.

When the Irish revolt to throw over British rule in Southern Ireland, Jack enlists to fight. Worried for her safety, Jack warns Kitty to keep her distance, but she refuses and throws herself into the cause for Irish liberty, running messages and ammunition between the rebels. But, as Kitty soon discovers, her allegiance to her family and her friends will be tested - and when Castle Deverill comes under attack, the only home and life she's ever known are threatened.

A powerful story of love, loyalty, and friendship, The Girl in the Castle is an exquisitely written novel set against the magical, captivating landscape of Ireland.

©2015 Santa Montefiore (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    218
  • 4 Stars
    95
  • 3 Stars
    55
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    11

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    231
  • 4 Stars
    86
  • 3 Stars
    28
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    4

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    194
  • 4 Stars
    91
  • 3 Stars
    49
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    10
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

That's it?

I loved the book until the end. I felt like the book needed a few more chapters. I understand the beauty in not laying out everyone's ending but I felt that I got zero closure as the book ended with massive gaps and not enough information to come up with an ending on my own. I'm loved the final twists but still think that the ending was majorly lacking. I can't say that I'd recommend this book to others.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Shallow

A very shallow story......Everytime the author could have created depth and imagery to the characters she rushed on. Very hard to get into. The narrator is very good though.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Girl in the castle

This is a great book!!! You are taken back in time and you never want to put the book down. I did not realize this was the first book of the series I am delighted I get to read more. A must read

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful story

The narrator carried me through the turbulent times of early Irish freedom set to the lives of this Anglo-Irish family. It was well worth the listen.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • JM
  • 08-25-17

No ending

Long listen without adequate conclusion. Story interesting but abruptly ends. Had I known this, probably would not have purchased.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

What? No ending!

Help !! Nothing was resolved. What happened? Too many questions remained. Is there a sequel? Now what am I going to do?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Loved it until the last five minutes

I so thoroughly enjoyed this book until the very end. But the last five minutes were so unsatisfying it felt like the book was unfinished. Like maybe the author had a deadline and just had to cut off and turn it in. There were 4-5 story lines that were left completely resolved. Bridie & Kitty? Kitty & Jack? Kitty & Robert? Michael Doyle? Bertie & Maude? All left ambiguous and unfinished. But the first 17 h 23 m or so were a delight!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great narrator!

great narrator. Enticing story. kept me coming back for more. A bit disappointed by some loose ends at the end.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars

Terrible Ending

Didn't care for the main character but listened to the end of the book. The ending was confusing and left all of the main characters up in the air. I haven't rated a book this low before but this was just a sad unsatisfactory novel.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Billie
  • Arlington, TX, United States
  • 04-28-17

Explicitness

I enjoyed the book in the beginning. I have listened to several of this author's book. This one is a disappointment . There were times that a cuss word or two or a sexual reference was made prior to chapter 8 after that I could listen no more due to language and explicit descriptions-became to much ! Why good stories become so unnecessarily explicit that it ruins a good book from a talented writer

to

14 of 22 people found this review helpful