We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Girl in the Castle Audiobook

The Girl in the Castle: A Novel

Regular Price:$39.92
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

International sensation Santa Montefiore presents the first book in a trilogy that follows three Irish women through the decades of the 20th century - perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Hazel Gaynor.

Born on the ninth day of the ninth month in the year 1900, Kitty Deverill is special, as her grandmother has always told her. Built on the stunning green hills of West Cork, Ireland, Castle Deverill is Kitty's beloved home, where many generations of Deverills have also resided. Although she's Anglo-Irish, Kitty's heart completely belongs to the wild countryside of the Emerald Isle, and her devotion to her Irish-Catholic friends - Bridie Doyle, the daughter of the castle's cook; and Jack O'Leary, the vet's son - is unmatched, even if Jack is always reminding her that she isn't fully Irish. Still, Jack and Kitty can't help falling in love, although they both know their union faces the greatest obstacles, since they are from different worlds.

Bridie cherishes her friendship with Kitty, who makes her feel more like her equal than a servant. Yet she can't help dreaming of someday having all the wealth and glamour Kitty's station in life affords her. But when she discovers a secret that Kitty has been keeping from her, Bridie finds herself growing resentful toward the girl in the castle who seems to have it all.

When the Irish revolt to throw over British rule in Southern Ireland, Jack enlists to fight. Worried for her safety, Jack warns Kitty to keep her distance, but she refuses and throws herself into the cause for Irish liberty, running messages and ammunition between the rebels. But, as Kitty soon discovers, her allegiance to her family and her friends will be tested - and when Castle Deverill comes under attack, the only home and life she's ever known are threatened.

A powerful story of love, loyalty, and friendship, The Girl in the Castle is an exquisitely written novel set against the magical, captivating landscape of Ireland.

©2015 Santa Montefiore (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (277 )
5 star
 (156)
4 star
 (70)
3 star
 (35)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (10)
Overall
4.3 (251 )
5 star
 (140)
4 star
 (65)
3 star
 (31)
2 star
 (9)
1 star
 (6)
Story
4.5 (252 )
5 star
 (160)
4 star
 (69)
3 star
 (17)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Angela 10-20-16
    Angela 10-20-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    21
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    42
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful story"

    The narrator carried me through the turbulent times of early Irish freedom set to the lives of this Anglo-Irish family. It was well worth the listen.

    9 of 11 people found this review helpful
  •  
    saborbuddy texas 05-19-17
    saborbuddy texas 05-19-17 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    31
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Girl in the castle"

    This is a great book!!! You are taken back in time and you never want to put the book down. I did not realize this was the first book of the series I am delighted I get to read more. A must read

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Billie Arlington, TX, United States 04-28-17
    Billie Arlington, TX, United States 04-28-17 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    32
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    16
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    8
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Explicitness"

    I enjoyed the book in the beginning. I have listened to several of this author's book. This one is a disappointment . There were times that a cuss word or two or a sexual reference was made prior to chapter 8 after that I could listen no more due to language and explicit descriptions-became to much ! Why good stories become so unnecessarily explicit that it ruins a good book from a talented writer

    to

    11 of 17 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Patricia 03-24-17
    Patricia 03-24-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    49
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "What? No ending!"

    Help !! Nothing was resolved. What happened? Too many questions remained. Is there a sequel? Now what am I going to do?

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kindle Customer 03-13-17 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    24
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Terrible Ending"

    Didn't care for the main character but listened to the end of the book. The ending was confusing and left all of the main characters up in the air. I haven't rated a book this low before but this was just a sad unsatisfactory novel.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Audie 09-24-17
    Audie 09-24-17 Member Since 2013
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    55
    14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Sad, so sad!"

    The author had no ability to make the reader care about any of her characters. It is more like she is writing a history book. As the book stretches on and on, I begin to wish the main characters would please just start dying off and get on to the end. Her characters were snobby, self absorbed, unfeeling, and ungiving.

    If you got hours and hours to listen to jibberish, then this is the book for you.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    julie 09-07-17
    julie 09-07-17 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    6
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Shallow"

    A very shallow story......Everytime the author could have created depth and imagery to the characters she rushed on. Very hard to get into. The narrator is very good though.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    JM 08-25-17
    JM 08-25-17 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    23
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "No ending"

    Long listen without adequate conclusion. Story interesting but abruptly ends. Had I known this, probably would not have purchased.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    B. Auld 08-10-17
    B. Auld 08-10-17 Member Since 2017
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "That's it?"

    I loved the book until the end. I felt like the book needed a few more chapters. I understand the beauty in not laying out everyone's ending but I felt that I got zero closure as the book ended with massive gaps and not enough information to come up with an ending on my own. I'm loved the final twists but still think that the ending was majorly lacking. I can't say that I'd recommend this book to others.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    vickinash 07-25-17
    vickinash 07-25-17 Member Since 2016
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    4
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it!"

    This was the best narration I have come across! The narrator was wonderful. I enjoyed how she would change the tempo along the way when exciting parts came up. Really well done!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.