We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Girl in the Castle Audiobook

The Girl in the Castle: A Novel

Regular Price:$39.92
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

International sensation Santa Montefiore presents the first book in a trilogy that follows three Irish women through the decades of the 20th century - perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Hazel Gaynor.

Born on the ninth day of the ninth month in the year 1900, Kitty Deverill is special, as her grandmother has always told her. Built on the stunning green hills of West Cork, Ireland, Castle Deverill is Kitty's beloved home, where many generations of Deverills have also resided. Although she's Anglo-Irish, Kitty's heart completely belongs to the wild countryside of the Emerald Isle, and her devotion to her Irish-Catholic friends - Bridie Doyle, the daughter of the castle's cook; and Jack O'Leary, the vet's son - is unmatched, even if Jack is always reminding her that she isn't fully Irish. Still, Jack and Kitty can't help falling in love, although they both know their union faces the greatest obstacles, since they are from different worlds.

Bridie cherishes her friendship with Kitty, who makes her feel more like her equal than a servant. Yet she can't help dreaming of someday having all the wealth and glamour Kitty's station in life affords her. But when she discovers a secret that Kitty has been keeping from her, Bridie finds herself growing resentful toward the girl in the castle who seems to have it all.

When the Irish revolt to throw over British rule in Southern Ireland, Jack enlists to fight. Worried for her safety, Jack warns Kitty to keep her distance, but she refuses and throws herself into the cause for Irish liberty, running messages and ammunition between the rebels. But, as Kitty soon discovers, her allegiance to her family and her friends will be tested - and when Castle Deverill comes under attack, the only home and life she's ever known are threatened.

A powerful story of love, loyalty, and friendship, The Girl in the Castle is an exquisitely written novel set against the magical, captivating landscape of Ireland.

©2015 Santa Montefiore (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (181 )
5 star
 (99)
4 star
 (50)
3 star
 (21)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (7)
Overall
4.3 (167 )
5 star
 (94)
4 star
 (44)
3 star
 (20)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (3)
Story
4.5 (166 )
5 star
 (108)
4 star
 (44)
3 star
 (10)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Billie Arlington, TX, United States 04-28-17
    Billie Arlington, TX, United States 04-28-17 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    26
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    8
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Explicitness"

    I enjoyed the book in the beginning. I have listened to several of this author's book. This one is a disappointment . There were times that a cuss word or two or a sexual reference was made prior to chapter 8 after that I could listen no more due to language and explicit descriptions-became to much ! Why good stories become so unnecessarily explicit that it ruins a good book from a talented writer

    to

    6 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Angela 10-20-16
    Angela 10-20-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    21
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    38
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful story"

    The narrator carried me through the turbulent times of early Irish freedom set to the lives of this Anglo-Irish family. It was well worth the listen.

    9 of 11 people found this review helpful
  •  
    saborbuddy texas 05-19-17
    saborbuddy texas 05-19-17 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Girl in the castle"

    This is a great book!!! You are taken back in time and you never want to put the book down. I did not realize this was the first book of the series I am delighted I get to read more. A must read

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Patricia 03-24-17
    Patricia 03-24-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    41
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "What? No ending!"

    Help !! Nothing was resolved. What happened? Too many questions remained. Is there a sequel? Now what am I going to do?

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    JMR 03-19-17
    JMR 03-19-17 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Disappointing and confusing end"

    The book was interesting. It seems like the author got tired of writing and just quit.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kindle Customer 03-13-17 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    24
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Terrible Ending"

    Didn't care for the main character but listened to the end of the book. The ending was confusing and left all of the main characters up in the air. I haven't rated a book this low before but this was just a sad unsatisfactory novel.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mary Anne Hickey 06-27-17 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    2
    Overall
    "The ending"

    This was a very good book but the ending was not so good. I don't know what happened to Bridget and I don't know who moved into the castle not a good ending

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Betsy 05-29-17
    Betsy 05-29-17 Member Since 2009
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Somewhat tedious, but good setting and storyline."

    Good story idea, but telling is somewhat tedious and too much narration. I suppose it was designed for a sequel which I tend to find annoying. I am a voracious reader and listener of books/audio books. It is not too hard to capture my imagination, but was a very difficult book for me to continue. Had I been reading in print, I might not have finished it. That is rare for me.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michelle Sinclair 05-05-17 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Did not want it to end!"

    I loved it from beginning to end! I was sad wgen it was over.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Cindy MD 03-23-17
    Cindy MD 03-23-17 Member Since 2015

    Say something about yourself!

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Long book....second half better than the first...narrator lacked emotion."

    The narrator lacked emotion for most of the characters. The story line started to get really good near the end (the book was too long) and then it ended and you wanted it to go on.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.