The Sisters of Versailles

Mistresses of Versailles Series # 1
Narrated by: Elizabeth Wiley
Series: Mistresses of Versailles, Book 1
Length: 15 hrs and 13 mins
3.9 out of 5 stars (309 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $31.49

Buy for $31.49

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Set against the lavish backdrop of the French Court in the early years of the 18th century, The Sisters of Versailles is the extraordinary tale of the five Nesle sisters - Louise, Pauline, Diane, Hortense, and Marie-Anne - four of whom became mistresses to King Louis XV. Their scandalous story is stranger than fiction but true in every shocking, amusing, and heartbreaking detail.Court intriguers are beginning to sense that young King Louis XV, after seven years of marriage, is tiring of his Polish wife. The race is on to find a mistress for the royal bed as various factions put their best foot - and women - forward. The king's scheming ministers push Louise, the eldest of the aristocratic Nesle sisters, into the arms of the king. Over the following decade, the four sisters - sweet, naïve Louise; ambitious Pauline; complacent Diane, and cunning Marie Anne - will conspire, betray, suffer, and triumph in a desperate fight for both love and power. In the tradition of The Other Boleyn Girl, The Sisters of Versailles is a clever, intelligent, and absorbing novel that historical fiction fans will devour. Based on meticulous research on a group of women never before written about in English, Sally Christie's stunning debut is a complex exploration of power and sisterhood - of the admiration, competition, and even hatred that can coexist within a family when the stakes are high enough.

©2015 Sally Christie (P)2015 Tantor

Critic Reviews

"Filled with lush backdrops, rich detail, and colorful characters, fans of historical fiction will enjoy this glimpse into the lost golden era of the French monarchy." (Allison Pataki, author of The Accidental Empress)

What listeners say about The Sisters of Versailles

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    112
  • 4 Stars
    104
  • 3 Stars
    52
  • 2 Stars
    18
  • 1 Stars
    23
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    123
  • 4 Stars
    68
  • 3 Stars
    45
  • 2 Stars
    20
  • 1 Stars
    23
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    99
  • 4 Stars
    90
  • 3 Stars
    50
  • 2 Stars
    17
  • 1 Stars
    22

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best book I've listened to in ages

Would you listen to The Sisters of Versailles again? Why?

This book is just amazing and totally fascinating to listen to. The story is told in the form of letters and is like a multi-person memoir. The subject of the book is the relationship that 5 sisters had with Louis the XV over about 10 years, and it is personal history at its finest. If you love that type of book, this is one of the best I have read.

What did you like best about this story?

The story has a lot of different authors and viewpoints, which ends up being really interesting, and all the characters are extremely believable.

Any additional comments?

Also, the narrator for this book does an amazing job! Her "voices" for each sister seem really appropriate and are consistent through the book. I really think that this narrator is an artist at doing what she does. To me that really makes a different in an audio book, some narrators can really ruin a great book.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Stay with it.

Initially I was bored, however, I'm glad I persisted. Give it a chance and you will enjoy the story.. quite humorous at times!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

it was ok, not as good as i had hoped

it was just ok, not a bad story but not what i expected based on other reviews

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Like listening to a narrated movie!

Was looking for something a little different from the typical romance story and this was perfect. Good story with hints of romance but more for story purpose. This is told from each sisters point of view at varying times and the narrator did an excellent job. The first few minutes I wasn't sure if I would like it, then I realized I had already progressed to hooked. I felt like I had a visual movie playing out in my head the whole time.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

narrator ruin it

the narrator has such a terrible voice, she sounds like she's trying to sound like a cross between Minnie mouse and a porn star.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

enjoyed the book

Great telling of the story interesting plot and written well. Awesome book. Want to know more.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Hated the narration

I thought the peculiar accents and voices distracted me from the story. They didn't suit the theme of the book.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Interesting Story

Interesting story on Louis XV - which I knew very little of. But the narration made it difficult to get through.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great time!

Fun story, easy to follow, engaging and well written, the narrator does all the different voices of the POV's very well though my only complaint is she mispronounced one of the sister's name wrong many times and there are one or two spots where a bit of story is definitely left out or skipped mistakenly and you're left piecing together where you are in the story suddenly cus it kinda fast forwarded

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good Listen

Good enough that I want to read the next book. The reader did well changing her voice accordingly, so it was easy to tell who was who, but I found some of her choices to be annoying. Thankfully, those characters had minimal parts throughout the story, so it wasn’t too much of a drag.