We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Cold Dish Audiobook

The Cold Dish: A Walt Longmire Mystery

Regular Price:$38.47
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Introducing Wyoming's Sheriff Walt Longmire in this riveting novel from the New York Times best-selling author of Dry Bones, the first in the Longmire series, the basis for the hit Netflix original series Longmire.

Fans of Ace Atkins, Nevada Barr, and Robert B. Parker will love this outstanding first novel, in which New York Times best-selling author Craig Johnson introduces Sheriff Walt Longmire of Wyoming's Absaroka County. Johnson draws on his deep attachment to the American West to produce a literary mystery of stunning authenticity, full of memorable characters. After 25 years as sheriff of Absaroka County, Walt Longmire's hopes of finishing out his tenure in peace are dashed when Cody Pritchard is found dead near the Northern Cheyenne Reservation. Two years earlier, Cody has been one of four high school boys given suspended sentences for raping a local Cheyenne girl. Somebody, it would seem, is seeking vengeance, and Longmire might be the only thing standing between the three remaining boys and a Sharps .45-70 rifle.

With lifelong friend Henry Standing Bear, Deputy Victoria Moretti, and a cast of characters both tragic and humorous enough to fill in the vast emptiness of the high plains, Walt Longmire attempts to see that revenge, a dish best served cold, is never served at all.

Listen to all of Craig Johnson's Walt Longmire mysteries.

©2004 Craig Johnson (P)2006 Recorded Books LLC

What the Critics Say

"A strong sense of place, a credible plot, and deft dialogue lift Johnson's good-humored debut novel." (Publishers Weekly)
"Johnson, who lives in Ucross, Wyoming, knows the Western landscape well, and creates stunning and violent scenes of the Rocky Mountains." (Bookmarks)
"We in the West have a major new talent on our hands." (The Denver Post)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (8750 )
5 star
 (5397)
4 star
 (2378)
3 star
 (684)
2 star
 (171)
1 star
 (120)
Overall
4.5 (7402 )
5 star
 (4589)
4 star
 (2011)
3 star
 (579)
2 star
 (131)
1 star
 (92)
Story
4.6 (7416 )
5 star
 (5487)
4 star
 (1445)
3 star
 (316)
2 star
 (97)
1 star
 (71)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Weatherman 08-14-15
    Weatherman 08-14-15 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great writing and well paced. Never a dull moment"

    He is my favorite narrator of all time. Never disappointing! The story had great plot twists sprinkled with laugh out loud humor.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nan 08-13-15
    Nan 08-13-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fun for a varied group"

    Sometimes a bit over-the-top, this modern western has great characters. Johnson creates great scenes that are so much fun, and the dialog is just right. We are hooked. It is fun to share during road trips.
    The reader has a gruff, fatherly voice that fits the character perfectly. You always feel safe and in good hands in this story.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Alice Pittsburgh, Pa. 08-12-15
    Alice Pittsburgh, Pa. 08-12-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    156
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    41
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    12
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wittiest Mystery"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    I wold recommend this to anyone who enjoys good writing, witty characters, and a story that moves quickly while letting the characters develop.


    Did the plot keep you on the edge of your seat? How?

    I was not on the edge of my seat for the sake of the plot - I was riveted by the characters, the dialogue, the wonderful relationships; but the plot definitely kept the entire thing going. It was, indeed, a mystery story.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    The introduction of the main character, Walt Longmire was wonderful. He is revealed through his quirky environment, his hilarious relationships, and his wonderful personality. I loved it all, really.


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    When did Wyoming get so cool?


    Any additional comments?

    I loved it. I had been looking of a new series that was well written, and yet had that witty, clever dialogue that makes a mystery more than just figuring out "who done it." This fit the bill. I'm surprised I gave it a chance since, honestly I didn't expect to like a western theme. If you like reading, and you have a great sense of humor - don't miss this one!

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Valerie C. Davis 08-09-15 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The cold dish"

    This is a well written story with interesting characters. I enjoyed it so much and had a hard time putting the book down

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    DabOfDarkness Ojo Caliente, NM, United States 08-02-15
    DabOfDarkness Ojo Caliente, NM, United States 08-02-15 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    478
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    528
    519
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    20
    8
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Strong start to a modern western mystery series"

    Set in Absaroka County, Wyoming, Sheriff Walt Longmire is having to deal with a dead body. He rather be drinking. Before long, another body turns up. Four years before, 4 boys were given a suspended sentence for rape of a mentally handicapped Cheyenne girl. Since two of them have turned up dead in a short amount of time, Walt revisits that old case for suspects to the recent murders.

    There’s a lot of great characters in this book along with a complex mystery. First, let’s talk characters. Walt himself is an interesting man. He has a keen wit, but rarely feels the need to flash it about. He knows a well-timed silence can bring him more information than blathering on. Four years prior to the setting of this book, he lost his wife. He’s still mourning her in some ways. However, his best friend since childhood, Henry Standingbear, feels it is time for him to clean up, work out, start dating, and complete the final touches on his cabin on the outskirts of town. Henry and Walt served together in Vietnam, and Henry knows just how far he can push Walt when. For the reader, Henry is also a bridge between two cultures (American and Cheyenne). the humor displayed between these two often lightens a dark moment, or adds a touch of poignancy to a dire situation.

    There’s plenty of women in this book and while they are all side characters, they have their own personalities and agendas. Overall, they are well written. However, I will say that I find it convenient and a bit amusing that all the women in the book (with the one exception of a mother I can think of and Walt’s daughter) are drawn romantically to either Walt or Henry. Still, I look forward to seeing how the women fare in the rest of the series.

    The setting seems to be 1990s, though I might be off about that. There’s computers and a few cell phones, etc. However, I think Walt and Henry are in their 50s, and they both served in the Vietnam war. So, maybe late 1990s. If you have watched the TV series, Longmire, then you will have noticed that the TV series is set in modern times. No matter the year this book is set in, it is a modern-day Western. I really enjoyed the setting as it is somewhat like New Mexico, where I live. Lots of folks are hunters, own guns, plenty of space between homes and farms, and quite often a person can find themselves without backup in an emergency situation.

    The murder mystery itself had some twists and turns and I was not expecting. Having it coupled to the older crime of the rape 4 years previously gave the murder mystery some depth. First, Walt had to determine if the two deaths were related to the older crime. If they were, he had a list of suspects. If they weren’t, then he had to find the motive before he could figure out suspects. One by one, his list of suspects dwindles. The ending was a bit of a surprise to me. However, the author did a good job of showing through Walt’s eyes how he missed the clues in front of him.

    I’ll definitely be continuing this series. Mostly, it is the characters that drew me in and held me. They each have some flaw in their character that makes them human and easy to connect with. I am very curious to see where the author takes these characters that I grew attached to in such a short amount of time.

    The Narration: George Guidall was a good fit for Walt Longmire, through whose eyes the story is told. Guidall is not always my favorite narrator as he has a limited range. for this book, he put it to good use. However, most of his female voices sound very similar to begin with and over the course of the book lose their individuality.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    procrastinator 07-16-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    18
    9
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Some really great lines."

    Just enough humor in the conversations to keep you wondering and to put a smile on your face, even while the story takes anxious or serious directions.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    T Patrick Griffin 07-10-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Literary Genius!"

    Craig Johnson is a master storyteller. His use of many of the literary devices keeps you wanting more. Narrator had the ability to create a different persona for each of the characters. A very enjoyable story. Can't wait to listen to the next book in the series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Coy 07-08-15
    Coy 07-08-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "13 hours went by like *that*"

    Loved it. Great imagery, and his writing seems to articulate the feelings that the events produce inside you, in a way that you're not sure which began first.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    PharmGirl 07-03-15
    PharmGirl 07-03-15

    KT

    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    61
    24
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Love it!"

    Great story and great narration... Ready for the next book.
    Love the characters and the setting

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dadio1437 07-02-15
    Dadio1437 07-02-15 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    136
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Exceptional."

    Loved it, great story & not over read. The Henry character was portrayed & sounded about the same as my minds eye & ear had thought it should be!!! T.Y. very much Audible.com .

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.