The Bone Farm

A Jane Hawk Case File
Series: Jane Hawk, Book 0.5
Length: 2 hrs and 1 min
4 out of 5 stars (2,930 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In cart

Publisher's Summary

An audio original novella featuring bestselling author Dean Koontz’s compelling new heroine, Jane Hawk. From the case files of the former FBI agent before she became the nation’s most wanted fugitive - The Bone Farm details a desperate man-hunt for a serial killer before he murders again.

Katherine Haskell, a young college co-ed is on her way back to school, but she never makes it there. Instead, she becomes the latest prey of the rapist and murderer dubbed by the tabloids the “Mother Hater.” He is a twisted soul who kidnaps young girls for pleasure then discards them.

Katherine is missing, but she’s not yet dead. FBI agents Jane Hawk and her partner Gary Burkett must descend into the hell of this killer’s mind to solve the case before it is too late. The question is - will they both get out alive?

©2018 Dean Koontz (P)2018 Brilliance Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved
What members say
Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,465
  • 4 Stars
    833
  • 3 Stars
    393
  • 2 Stars
    132
  • 1 Stars
    107
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,528
  • 4 Stars
    623
  • 3 Stars
    284
  • 2 Stars
    101
  • 1 Stars
    75
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,319
  • 4 Stars
    665
  • 3 Stars
    371
  • 2 Stars
    124
  • 1 Stars
    119

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Short and concise.

As an imediate fan of Jane Hawk, I liked this story. I especially enjoyed the action sequences, for which Dean Koontz has always shined. However, the explanitory antagonists' sequences read more like an author's overall character sketch, not to be published, but to be used to further a writer's knowledge of his/her own character(s). Still, it's still worth reading. Koontz rarely--if ever--disappoints.

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

awesome,Koontz is back,in my book!<br />Short,but fun!

loved it, Koontz is back,in my book..
looking forward to the next installment...
More fun and kept my interest then the first 2 books in this series.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gritty/Realistic

Sounds like it could have been a real case file or a report from a case that was never made public. You feel for all the characters because they put you in their shoes. Well done all around!

17 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

conflicted

the Male narrator was okay. the female narrator was terrible. the story was riveting and that's the only thing that kept me listening. that coupled with knowing that it was a short listen because if it was a longer book it would have been difficult listening to her jerky sing song awkward narration. overall it was a great story though and glad I did experience the story because this is one of my favorite authors.

26 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

classic Koont

this was a Great Book classic Koontz. I just wish it was longer. it ended way too quickly and I was left wanting more

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

First Timer

This was the first audio book I've ever heard and I am now hooked! The story was great and the way it was read I really felt as if I was in the story with the characters. I am a teacher and it is a great way to decompress after working. I will also be recommending this app to everyone I know, thank you!!!

39 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

I enjoyed it

Unlike lot of reviews I read earlier about bad narration / performance actually I liked it. Can say I was hooked by the story are there was hardly and suspense or thrill but given the length I went on from start to finish. The sad part was almost in the 4th chapter itself (20 mins) the story was almost clear..!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I love Koontz books...

I haven't read a book that I didn't like from Koontz. This is a short story but good, wish it had been longer.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

SUSPENSEFUL CREEPY & FANTASTIC

This is my first experience with Dean Koontz and I really enjoyed this listen. There are alternating POV's with nice short chapters, which really worked to increase the suspense as the story progressed. I like Jane Hawk; I think she did a great job working this case and I'm glad to be reading/listening to more of her as the series progresses. The villain is perfectly disturbing and creepy, especially with James Anderson Foster's narration. Outstanding performances by both narrators.

I bought this audiobook outright since the regular price was far, far less than the price of a credit. It was well worth what I paid and I recommend this one to other listeners. I had a great time listening while I was cleaning my kitchen and working around my house this morning. Dean Koontz was one of the authors that my Dad always used to enjoy reading so it makes me feel good somehow to start with his stories today, like I'm a little bit closer to my Dad or something.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

bone farm review

intense at end. very good story line using the more than identical twins and their different personalities. riveting.

9 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anne bonny book reviews
  • Anne bonny book reviews
  • 03-20-19

Short story perfect for fans of Jane Hawk

Very dark and incredibly detailed story of the killers psyche. At points the narration felt like an automative service, but on the whole was engaging.

I look forward to the release of the next in the series of the Jane Hawk titles.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kat Taylor
  • Kat Taylor
  • 09-25-19

Smooth, plausible and enjoyable story

This book engaged me fast, with interesting characters and a story that moves quickly and providing character history without becoming confusing or moving too slow.


i enjoyed this short story so much that it has motivated me to try the official first jane hawk book by dean koontz. fingers crossed

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sarah (Feeling Fictional)
  • Sarah (Feeling Fictional)
  • 02-03-20

Jane Hawk book 0.5

I've been a Dean Koontz fan for years now and I'm really enjoying the Jane Hawk series so I was looking forward to reading The Bone Farm even though I don't often listen to audiobooks. As far as the audio goes I thought this story was read well and the narrators, Elisabeth Rogers & James Anderson Foster, did a good job with it but unfortunately I just didn't enjoy the actual story.

This is a prequel to the Jane Hawk series so it's back in the days before she was suspended from the FBI and Jane is working a missing persons case alongside her partner Gary. They know they're dealing with a serial killer but he keeps his victims alive for a long time before killing them so they're desperately trying to find him before he can murder the latest young woman he has abducted.

I think one of my biggest issues with the story was the amount of time we spend inside the killer's head, his thoughts were creepy and disturbing and I REALLY didn't want to hear so many of them. I also found that the story didn't have the amount of tension I'd expect from Dean Koontz because as a reader we know who the killer is from the beginning since much of the story is from his point of view. It's hard to build the suspense when you know who the bad guy is so yes we're watching Jane try to figure it out but she's always one step behind us which is a little frustrating.

To be honest I don't think this story really added anything worth knowing to the Jane Hawk series, it doesn't touch on anything that is happening in the full length books so it's only aboutone random case Jane worked before she was suspended. Since I didn't find it very enjoyable and I don't think it really had any impact on the rest of the series I'd have a hard time recommending it to people but as always these things are down to personal taste and you may end up loving it so it wouldn't hurt to at least listen to a free sample before making up your mind.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for NT007
  • NT007
  • 01-13-20

Terrible reading.

Feels as if the reading is done by Alexa or a SatNav voice. Very robotic

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Wiseoneblue
  • Wiseoneblue
  • 05-02-20

A good short story

The Jane H series frustrates me like everyone else. Too slow paced and dragged across too many books. However it always gets a 3 rating from me. This gets a 4 because it’s only 2 hours long, so doesn’t have time for the long drawn out waste of the novels. So this is worth a read for sure.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ANGIE
  • ANGIE
  • 06-06-19

not my cup of tea

this short storey is not really my cup of tea i really enjoy Dean Koonz and have read many of his books but this just left me cold. i think it might have been the narration but i lost interest after about 10 mins.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 05-30-18

short

should be informed how short it is before purchase. the actual content was ok but this is not a novel

3 people found this helpful