Regular price: $26.64

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Alison Weir, historian and author of the Sunday Times best sellers Katherine of Aragon: The True Queen and Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession, draws a finely detailed and enthralling portrait of Jane Seymour, Henry VIII's third queen. Essential listening for fans of Philippa Gregory and Elizabeth Chadwick. 

The woman haunted by the fate of her predecessor. Eleven days after the death of Anne Boleyn, Jane is dressing for her wedding to the King. She has witnessed at firsthand how courtly play can quickly turn to danger and knows she must bear a son...or face ruin. This new Queen must therefore step out from the shadows cast by Katherine and Anne - in doing so, can she expose a gentler side to the brutal King? 

Acclaimed, best-selling historian Alison Weir draws on new research for her captivating novel, which paints a compelling portrait of Jane and casts fresh light on both traditional and modern perceptions of her. Jane was driven by the strength of her faith and a belief that she might do some good in a wicked world. History tells us how she died. This spellbinding novel explores the life she lived. 

©2018 Alison Weir (P)2018 Headline Publishing Group Limited

Critic Reviews

Praise for the Six Tudor Queens series: "Alison Weir's wonderfully detailed novel offers a spellbinding solution to the mystery of Anne's true nature.... Enthralling." (Sarah Gristwood)
"A triumph of fine detail and research and offers a complex depiction of an endlessly fascinating woman." (Elizabeth Fremantle)

"Weir is excellent on the little details that bring a world to life." (The Guardian)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Ama
  • 06-01-18

The silent queen speaks!!

It’s easy to think we know all these is to know about the 3rd queen Jane Seymour, that she was the pale quiet antidote to the firey passionate intoxicating Anne Boleyn, but in this lovely story we see the character emerge from that characterisation.

We see a principled, kind and loyal person, one who didn’t just exist as a foil for more dramatic people.

I came to adore the character and the end... oh my dear by the end I felt genuine sorrow.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Julia E. Hallmann
  • 06-21-18

Brilliant and moving.

You feel close to Jane, will her to succeed. The end is very emotional. Beautiful.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Caroline Barnes
  • 06-20-18

An enjoyable listen.

Really enjoyed listening to this book. Well written the narrator was easy to listen too. Was relieved that there had been a change of narrator (the narrator of the book about Anne Boleyn by the same author grated on me for some reason )
Definitely recommend.


  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Cybercat
  • 06-07-18

Tedious

I very much enjoyed the first two books and was looking forward to this one. Well researched as always but Jane Seymour as a character was only mildly interesting. The book dragged in places and I became bored on and off. Arabella Weir’s imagination seemed to run wild at times. To do it justice I did finish the book but it did become a bit of a slog.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 06-05-18

another gripping story

Another triumph . The story of Jane Seymour is tragic but told brilliantly. Can't wait for the next book

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • hmt62
  • 06-04-18

Interesting perspective - strange narration

This novel was a different and interesting perspective on Jane Seymour who often is portrayed as a rather spineless character. Given what is known about her brothers, it’s very plausible that she had ambition and opinions of her own!
The narrative was spoiled for me by inconsistent sound levels for different characters in the story. Every time Anne Boleyn spoke, her voice was louder than the main narrative. On the whole, I prefer narrators not to attempt too many different voice tones. They are seldom wonderful. These are books, not radio dramas!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Erin P.
  • 05-15-18

Rich and emotional

I absolutely loved this book. The story tells the story of a rather unknown Queen. Although Jane did give Henry his much desired Prince, her early death usually means we do not hear much about her. Alison Weir gives a rich and detailed account of what life in Tudor court could have been and really makes you feel connected to Jane. You also see a softer side of Henry between his foul and contradictory moods.
I disagree with the previous reviews about the narration, I quite liked Rose Akroyd and felt she really shone as Jane. She has a sweet and simple voice, which I think reflected very well with the tone of this book.
I really look forward to the next book as I have always been fascinated with Anne of Cleves and I know Alison Weir will do her justice.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Ruth N.
  • 05-14-18

Narration spoils this one

This was an eagerly awaited book for me. Loved the first two. I really like the way Alison Weir brings to life the historical characters we know. I like the way we get to think of these women in a way we might not have considered before. Unfortunately this narrator stopped me being able to listen. I tried to battle on but was so distracted by the 'sing song' tone I had to give up at chapter 9 as I was not really hearing the story. I hope they change again for Anne of Cleeves.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 05-13-18

Spoilt by narrator

A pleasant enough story-nothing new.Not good narration,terrible character voices which spoilt it...almost funny at times.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kathryn Knight
  • 05-06-18

brilliant

Very good book. loved every minute. Very sad ending for Jane as we know. Good performance from narrator.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Eleni
  • 06-20-18

Like listening to the previous two rolled into one

A bit boring if you've listened to the first two volumes about Katherine of Aragon and Anne Boleyn.
Very repetitive.
In all the books but especially this one, the characters are a bit two dimensional. This isn't helped by the narration which is especially poor for the male characters.
One could skip this book in the series and not miss anything.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Debbie
  • 06-15-18

Six Tudor Queens: Jane Seymour. ..

Very good. An interesting take on Jane, there was a rel logic to her character. Narration was also very good.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Laura
  • 05-26-18

Loved the insights

A very engaging story that brings Jane Seymour, her personality, and the vibrant politics of her time to life.