Regular price: $29.65

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A Popsugar most anticipated book of fall

A Ploughshares most anticipated book of fall

One of Publishers Weekly's most anticipated titles of fall 2017

Five women. One question. What is a woman for?

In this ferociously imaginative novel, abortion is once again illegal in America, in vitro fertilization is banned, and the Personhood Amendment grants rights of life, liberty, and property to every embryo. In a small Oregon fishing town, five very different women navigate these new barriers alongside age-old questions surrounding motherhood, identity, and freedom.

Ro, a single high-school teacher, is trying to have a baby on her own while also writing a biography of Eivør, a little-known 19th-century female polar explorer. Susan is a frustrated mother of two, trapped in a crumbling marriage. Mattie is the adopted daughter of doting parents and one of Ro's best students, who finds herself pregnant with nowhere to turn. And Gin is the gifted, forest-dwelling herbalist, or "mender", who brings all their fates together when she's arrested and put on trial in a frenzied modern-day witch hunt.

Red Clocks is at once a riveting drama whose mysteries unfold with magnetic energy and a shattering novel of ideas. In the vein of Margaret Atwood and Eileen Myles, Leni Zumas fearlessly explores the contours of female experience, evoking The Handmaid's Tale for a new millennium. This is a story of resilience, transformation, and hope in tumultuous - even frightening - times.

©2018 Leni Zumas (P)2018 Hachette Audio

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

One of the best books I’ve listened to in a while

I really loved the style and themes, which are complex, thought-provoking, real. Dreamy quality to the writing, beautiful imagery.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

I desperately wanted to like this book

During extremely brief periods of this novela , I had reaffirming feelings of how I would die before a females choice to reproduce would be infringed upon. It is an opinion I had going into the book, that was strengthened. I also will ask my wife what would make her happy because apparently the female existence is excruciating at its best. Other than that, I feel really sorry for this author. I have no doubt in her original draft ,she felma and Louised a storyline she built up. Then when it was edited out, she paid that character no mind toward the end. She basically compares the female experience to living in a concentration camp from conception until the sweet release of death. Technically I made the female experience sound better than she did in my prior sentence. I have a feeling when she writes grocery lists , she assigns a feeling to each item. I hope that makes her existence as a survivor of this world better, otherwise it's an odd line of thought to opt into. at any point people can make a stand and sacrifice themselves for womankinds greater good. Or they can be selfish and destroy everything for nothing but themselves. Because they're bored and disenfranchised. ya.....That's worth thinking about and writing about. This book could be taking place in Ohio right now band is playing out in prisons all over the United States under the Trump Administration. this book should be labeled under current events.

4 of 14 people found this review helpful