Your audiobook is waiting…

Like Family

Growing Up in Other People's Houses, a Memoir
Narrated by: Wendy Tremont King
Length: 9 hrs and 21 mins
4 out of 5 stars (50 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

This powerful and haunting memoir details the years Paula McLain and her two sisters spent as foster children after being abandoned by both parents in California in the early 1970s.

As wards of the State, the sisters spent the next 14 years moving from foster home to foster home. The dislocations, confusions, and odd pleasures of an unrooted life form the basis of one of the most compelling memoirs in recent years - a book in the tradition of Jo Ann Beard's The Boys of My Youth and Mary Karr's The Liars' Club.

McLain's beautiful writing and limber voice capture the intense loneliness, sadness, and determination of a young girl both on her own and responsible, with her siblings, for staying together as a family.

©2003 Paula McLain (P)2018 Tantor

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A must read

Excellent view of life as a foster child. Recommend reading for all that work with children in foster care.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A famous writer describes her life growing up in foster care

I enjoy Paula McLain’s books and storytelling style. She brings the same engaging style to the telling of her own life. I definitely recommend it.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Foster Care Personalized

A complete story of a childhood lived in foster care. My stars are for courage and honesty.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

Very easy listening and brought back some memories for me--good ones of good times in childhood--which was surprising since the story overall was far from idyllic. The excellent narration kept the story upbeat despite some very sad circumstances.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Disappointing

I loved Paula-McLain ‘s novels and was hoping to learn more about how and why she wrote them. i found this memoir bleak, depressing and poorly written. I am thankful it is behind me.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Crude

As a foster parent for the last 25 years I was interested in reading this story. I’m not sure if this is based on a true story or not, but I have read other true stories about children in foster care and they do suffer some incredibly sad things that are very well written and not in such an extremely crude form. Experiences can be shared without foul language being crude. Different then the time this book was written foster parents are now trained and screened very carefully. There is always a family that slips through the cracks of though. I tried to get through this book up but I had to finally close it and return it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful