Regular price: $20.72

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Debut novelist Michele Grant pens a juicy tale in Heard It All Before. Best friends Jewellen and Renee think they know Dallas men like the backs of their hands. But that’s before Jewellen unexpectedly falls for a guy from the wrong side of the tracks, and Renee gets lured away from her own man by a hard-bodied hottie.

©2010 Michele Grant (P)2010 Recorded Books, LLC

Critic Reviews

"Grant depicts their dilemmas with a pitch-perfect voice, delivering funny yet believable stories embellished with a gusto that readers who enjoy Carl Weber and Mary Monroe will relish." (Publishers Weekly)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.1 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    4

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Danee
  • Los Angeles, CA, United States
  • 09-11-10

Non-poetic urban storytelling

Bought the book based on the ratings and description (a lesson!) and was sorely disappointed by the excessive descriptives (do I REALLY need to know the details of what you're wearing and thinking EVERYTIME!?!) and overused idiomatic language (to substantiate the "downness", I suppose) that seemed to be a cover for telling a good story. I found myself rolling my eyes at the characters because I didn't like them and couldn't fit them into any reality. An urban tale spun by the ever so good looking, great job, hood to riches, quick witted (not really), got-it-all-together characters left me wanting. There was absolutely NO depth or sincerity. I'd advise the author to look at the writings of Diane McKinney-Whetstone or JD Mason to see how soulful love stories are spun. Black love is a beautiful thing and deserves a good telling.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall

Great Listen

Despite some other reviews, I thought this was pretty good. It kept my attention and some parts were even comical. I enjoyed it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Latarsha
  • dallas, TX, United States
  • 03-07-11

Awful

I must agree with the first listner, this book was a waste of time and credit.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • thomika
  • indianapolis, IN, United States
  • 12-18-12

Really Cute!!!!

If you could sum up Heard It All Before in three words, what would they be?

cute, entertaining, just really good

What did you like best about this story?

I liked how we got both male and female perspectives to show how they both think about a situation and can look at it very differently

What about the narrators’s performance did you like?

It really did the story justice, i liked all the back and forth

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

yes

Any additional comments?

This is a very fun listen

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Ndmann
  • clarksville, TN, United States
  • 04-24-12

interesting read

Where does Heard It All Before rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

This book does rank fairly high in my library. The implementing of four narrators to assume the role of each character does allow a better comprehension of their mind set, especially the male mindset since it is reflecting their POV.

What other book might you compare Heard It All Before to and why?

A bit more spice and it could hold its own to a Zane manuscript. (just a little)